1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire TriXX Beta Up.....

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 20mmrain, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Iraq
    Well that's very helpful. The way I see it, no one asked for support, they are helping wizz refine the software by reporting issues, free beta testing! ;) :rockout:
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    No, this thread isn't for refinement of the software either. If you want to report an issue with it, go to Sapphire.
     
  3. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well thank you wizz for answering my questions bud. I hope I am not over stepping my bounds or the bounds you are held too with Sapphire by asking some of these questions.

    But at least thank you for answering them and also nice job on the program and Congrats on it's return! You and Sapphire will make a million overclockers and gamer hobbiest's Happy! :toast:
     
  4. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I didn't notice. Also I didn't know that TriXX was created by the almighty W1zzard (until a few minutes ago).

    My opinion is always better safe than sorry. I may have overreacted to a suspicious URL, and in that respect I erred, but I don't feel bad for showing my concern. If I didn't have work at 6AM this morning I would have done the testing myself. I'm fairly certain that anyone who has seen my posts is aware that I'm articulate and exacting.

    I was unwilling to take even the slightest risk that it was a virus.

    Negative. I prefer a more hands on approach. I quite regularly use MBAM in conjunction with HijackThis. If all else fails I use Combofix and switch to targeted removal techniques. I prefer proactive user behavior in preventing viruses to proactive anti-virus software like AVG.

    Imagine my confusion having never heard of TriXX and doing a google search only to find this: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Sapphire/TRIXX/

    It was very difficult for me to reconcile that TRIXX was somehow new in 2005 and in 2010 having never released an official build (so far as google was telling me).
     
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    this tool seems to give voltage support for non-reference [vapor-x v.2 5870] with the
    uP6213 Buck[voltage] controller:toast::toast: Hoping to see the release soon
     

    Attached Files:

  6. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Sweet Jesus I can increase the voltage on my Sapphire HD 5830 GPU now! (This was previously impossible because the Sapphire HD 5830 is not a reference card.) Thanks W1zzard, you handsome devil!

    UPDATE:
    In only a few minutes of overclocking I've already beaten my best score in 3Dmark06 and in the Crysis: Warhead Frost Bench. It appears to be rock solid stable as well.

    Since its getting a bit colder here my GPU only ever hit 45C so I'm going to push it further and see where I end up.

    My only complaint, and it's such a little itty-bitty teeny tiny complaint, is that the voltage doesn't automatically go to 0.95V when the clocks switch to 157/300.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  7. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    :D Awesome, I'm downloading now.

    Assuming it will not work with crossfire i will test out each card to see how far they will go.

    *edit*
    i think i misunderstood something it works fine with crossfire for me, both core and voltage changes apply to both cards :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  8. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah it works fine for me too.... I am not sure were that idea came that it doesn't work fine..... from others but It always worked fine for me in Xfire too.

    Thanks for reporting bcak..... BTW... Just wanted to let yah know since you got your cards the same time I did. MSI AB Beta 3 for Voltage control came out for the 6870 now too.... Check out the thread in the ATI area. Just a heads up that way you can test out both bud!
    :toast:
     
    bear jesus and CobraXP say thanks.
  9. CobraXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    So turning off power features allowed you to run xfire without an major issues? I BSod on crossfire when ever I tried to change anything on TriXX. Did you uninstall CCC? Thanks .
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  10. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    After a couple changes trying to change any setting with trixx caused a freeze, reinstalled CCC and trixx but no joy but i forgot to try turning off ULPS but i went to trying each card alone.

    I managed 1035mhz core, 1140mhz memory on one and 1010mhz core, 1110 memory on the other.

    :D thanks will download now
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    No prob bud!!!
     
  12. CobraXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey I got it to work. In the ATI folder I went to folder 0000, 0001, 0002, 0003, 0004 and 0005 and set all the "EnableULPS" to 0. I still have CCC installed, TriXX and AB 2.0 but everything disabled including sync on AB. Sync is enabled in TriXX.

    AB 2.1 B3 installed seems to bring down my benchmark scores in 3DMark06. If you have any probs hit me back up and I will help you the best I can.
     
  13. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    For whatever reason the TriXX official page is showing Beta V3.0 yet the download link I posted is for Beta V1.0.

    I got antsy (imagining that there were features I was missing) and finagled the awful Sapphiretech website until I could download the V3.0 Beta version of TriXX. I then did a hash check on the supposed "V3.0" and the original "V1.0" setup files and found out that the hash:
    9e9567a5b47ae980af7fb5ae11cb1b6c *setup.exe
    was the same for both files. What is Sapphire trying to pull?

    Seeing as how I've been an unapologetic Sapphire customer for several years I thought I'd take up my issue with Sapphire personally. Firstly restricting TriXX to "new friends only" is crude at best and loathsome at worst. Furthermore their website is crude at best and loathsome at worst. Furthermore why weren't they going full throttle on this amazing TriXX program before (e.g. paying W1zzard more :))?
     
    DRDNA says thanks.
  14. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,780 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    lol how did you fan-dangle the download? I registered one of my sapphire cards and still wouldn't let me download...:shadedshu
     
  15. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,205 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Well I couldn't even upgrade to Gold membership using my serial (as the serial wasn't picked up after several attemps to drop it in the fill in box). So no tool download from the Sapphire site. I downloaded it from the site Streetfighter refered to. McAfee did not find any virus atm.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Well to be honest the download URL isn't well protected (meaning it's not dynamic or encrypted). They use an ASP script (which runs server side) to read a cookie and generate an XML CDATA field. If the cookie is valid the CDATA field contains a javascript function which launches a javascript GreyBox with a link to their download script (combined with the appropriate argument). If the cookie is invalid the CDATA field contains a javascipt function which launches an error (also in a GreyBox). The function in the CDATA field is activated whenever you click "TriXX OC Utility V3.0 beta".

    That's my breakdown of how their system works without revealing how to bypass it. Unfortunately I'm not sure if the grand master (W1zzard) would approve of me posting a direct link to the file and I'm not about to intentionally upset his benefactors.

    Also if you want to do it the legit way you need to register an HD 6850 or HD 6870...

    The download I posted is definitely clean. It has the same md5 hash as the file straight from Sapphire. It would appear my initial concern was unwarranted. (Something about files on Chinese websites still scares me...)
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2010
    JimmyJump and DRDNA say thanks.
  17. smakked

    smakked New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Works well on my HIS 5850 icooler V and allows voltage increase :D
     
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  18. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,205 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I made that statement to support your opinion, for just in case people would still not believe you. :) And btw, according to McAfee's siteadvisor plugin the site is Korean and not Chinese.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Martini1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    When I try running TriXX using crossfire it comes up with "TriXX has stopped working"
    However works when Crossfire is disabled, it's through this I came to my conclusion that it doesn't work with Crossfire.

    Also, unless I'm mistaken, two users above me stated issues with Crossfire, out of the 4 of us, there's only one of us who claims Crossfire is working with TriXX.
     
  20. CobraXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    It works on Crossfire. Just don't mess with the sync checkbox.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Martini1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If I try loading up TriXX in Xfire it just crashes on me.....
    Haven't a clue what I'm doing wrong.
     
  22. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    It seams like both trixx and afterburner worked for me to start with but after that both cause a full on freeze/crash, not even a bsod but i noticed sometimes the voltage follows through to the next boot so right now that's all i have been able to do as far as over volting in crossfire goes
     
  23. CobraXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Originally Posted by un-nefer View Post
    Post a screenshot of GPU-Z for each gpu to show if ULPS is active on your rig/cards.

    If it is active, you need to disable it in the registry:

    1. open start/orb menu and enter "regedit" in the search box and press enter
    2. if prompted, click "yes" to open the registry editor
    3. when the registry editor opens, select/highlight "Computer" at the top of the left column and then when it is selected/highlighted, click "Edit" in the top menu and then click "Find" - or just press "Ctrl + f"
    4. When the "Find" window opens, make sure all three "look at" options are selected, and in the "Find what:" box, enter:
    enableulps
    5. click the "Find Next" button to search the registry
    6. If it is found, change the value from 1 to 0 to disable ULPS, then click "Find Next" again to continue searching the registry
    7. Repeat the last step until no more matches are found in the registry, then close the registry editor and reboot your PC
    8. Done - open GPU-Z and notice that ULPS will no longer be active


    Basically ULPS, ultra low power state, can cause the second card to idle down into ULPS (ie. pretty much turn off) and that then causes problems when in crossfire configuration when windows tries to use that second card - which then ends with a BSOD/crash.

    Disabling ULPS will ensure both cards are enabled and running as they should when in crossfire configuration.
     
    JimmyJump says thanks.
  24. CobraXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    See post above.... this will solve the problem just make sure the software is not on start up till you get everything running good.
     
  25. smakked

    smakked New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Well fried my card today messing with Trixx and Overclocking LOL.
    Took it back and they gave me a Gigabyte card instead same clocks but stock voltage on this sucker.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page