1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[SOLVED] Can Device IDs in ATI/AMD drivers be modified?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Jstn7477, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    RESOLVED with modded Xtreme-G 10.10 drivers. Thanks guys!

    Hello all,

    I just received my new laptop yesterday. It is a Toshiba Satellite A665D-S6091 that has software-switchable AMD graphics:
    AMD Phenom II X4 P940 @ 1.7GHz
    AMD M880G Chipset w/ HD 4250 IGP (active on battery)
    AMD Mobility Radeon HD 5650 1GB DDR3 (active on AC power)
    4GB DDR3, 640GB HDD.

    I pretty much love it. However, I am very disappointed that there have been no video driver updates since April 2010. Also, the drivers installed also have weird color settings that make the screen and external display very bright and washed out. :banghead:

    So anyway, my question is: can I (or someone) mod some newer Mobility Radeon drivers to install on this thing? Toshiba seems to use proprietary Device IDs which renders the standard installers unable to update my drivers. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Device IDs:
    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650: PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68C1&SUBSYS_FD311179&REV_00
    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series: PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9712&SUBSYS_FD311179&REV_00

    The direct link to download the official (outdated) drivers:
    http://cdgenp01.csd.toshiba.com/content/support/downloads/tc40119100c.exe
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Just go to www.amd.com and go to Support and Drivers. Select Notebook Graphics, Mobility Radeon Series, graphics adapter, and windows version. You'll have no problems getting drivers for both of those adapters.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Have you tried grabbing the Mobile 10.12 drivers off TPU? There should be no reason why they wouldn't work.
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I got the Xtreme-G 10.10's installed (with a BSOD as the 4200 serves as the display O/P for both cards) but all is working so far. I'll try the 10.12's later. Thanks guys!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Did you uninstall the previous drivers and clean with Driver Sweeper or reg cleaning app before installing the driver? I just can't believe it will not take from amd.com...my HP laptop had no issues getting the 10.12's x64 for Vista to install.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Just tried the 10.12s kenkicker and they ended up working! ATI's driver scanner must be borked unless the modded 10.10s did something that made them compatible again. Appropriate thanks given. :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    The modded drivers must have removed Toshiba's strangle hold. Awesome to hear it's working for you:rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Manguitom New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  11. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    I've found with Toshiba and ATI/AMD drivers it's best to uninstall the driver, download and install both Driver Sweeper and Auslogics Registry Cleaner. Reboot system into safe mode and clean AMD registry entries with Driver Sweeper, reboot back into safe mode, and advance clean with Auslogics Reg Cleaner. It's alot of work but this should allow update AMD drivers to install on your Toshiba.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I use asder00's mobility drivers from the Guru3D forums and they work great (when AMD doesn't screw up PowerXpress or something else like the backlight being stuck on minimum after closing the lid). Example: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=362726
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Manguitom New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the support!, referring to Jstn7477, I can say I'd rather have backlight stuck at minimum than no screen powered at all (that's what's been happening lately with my laptop), I'll first try asder00's drivers, If no shot I'll try kenkickr way. Edit for whatever result
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page