1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Start folding the easy way? is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by Thefumigator, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    A chap there at Hard OCP has coded a kind of front end for multiple clients...

    Its very interesting, but as some said in the forums, don't want to screw my actual config

    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1550668

    Check it out, maybe is worth it. for now I don't have plenty of clients so it doesn't make too much sense for me.
    erocker, oily_17, [Ion] and 1 other person say thanks.
  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Looks interesting, I have a couple of new GPU's coming in a few days, will try it out when setting them up.

    Thanks for the info.
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've seen this over at EVGA and OCN....I plan on trying it out when I re-setup my folding clients w/ the GTS450
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,378 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,302
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Very interesting. I did not sort through all the post, but does it run SMP2?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah looks like it runs all the clients, just skim read the thread but there is a post about -bigadv somewhere in there as well.

    EDIT: Seems to be a setting to enable -bigadv and also the # of cores you use in SMP
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2010
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Yes. Even WinSMP -bigadv
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Now that you are talking about -adv, is it really important? I mean, will this improve my PPD somewhat? I looked that in the SMP thread, buck said "you should".
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    sweet
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Only with a 3.6ghz+ i7 or other octo-thread setup that folds 24/7. Stanford won't even send bigadv WUs to systems with less than 8 threads
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    hmm gonna try this when i get the 465 back from RMA, should be nice
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Certainly looks very convenient, at least if it works :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    +1 for that :D
  13. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Can confirm that this works very well, at least for setting up GPU, haven't set the CPU up yet.

    Very easy to install and was up and running in a few minutes with a new GPU setup.
    [Ion] and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  14. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Great!
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Awesome!


    I forgot to use this when setting up my clients, so I can't offer an opinion :ohwell:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    lol just the opposite for me...CPU set up with out a hitch...GPU didn't have a clue what to do with my rig in the sig..maybe cuz I am running two 48702 in crossfire:confused:

    Its all good tho...I run the GPU just fine from the the one I manually configged.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page