1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 7970 thread.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by the54thvoid, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,309 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I recently bought a Powercolor LCS 7970 after waiting too long for Kepler. I was looking to get the EVGA GTX 680 HydroCopper but it was about £80 more expensive and more importantly, not in stock.

    So I have my 7970 installed in my loop now and I have to say I love it. It's been mentioned before but I 'feel' the image quality is slightly sharper than what i had before on my GTX 580. I know Kepler is the better gaming architecture but at my resolution the 7970 is (with the coming price drop) bang on the value.

    I decided to do a wee test on Heaven 3.0. Settings are all maxed, 16xAF, 8xAA, Extreme Tesselation and 2560x1440 resolution.

    I ran it on 7970 stock (925) and overclocked (1175) stock voltage. I disabled AMD optimised tesselation.

    Two screenies below show the scores for proof but the results were great.

    Stock (925): FPS 31.4
    OC (1175): FPS 37.7

    That's a 27% solid & stable overclock with a 20% performance increase. At my resolution, that makes it a game changer in terms of the GTX 680 in many titles.

    My max temps were 42 and 45 respectively for stock and OC with fans at about 600rpm on my radiators (equiv of 5 120's). Link to pic of rig below.
    http://img.techpowerup.org/120414/PCopen2.jpg

    Stock
    [​IMG]

    OC
    [​IMG]



    I had the choice of going AMD or NV but the price and availability of the NV part made the 7970 as easy choice. I know they have crossfire issues but I think GK104 isn't quite the 7970 smasher many people claim it is.

    I should also point out my favourites bar contains TPU, Hexus, Anand and as some will have noticed, the dreaded S|A. I keep my info close and my misinfo even closer :laugh:
     
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    You don't have to defend the 7970. It is a good card. GK104 wasn't intended to smash the 7970, it was the quickest answer possible from NV to claim the fastest card title (doesn't matter if by 5% or 7.5%). Congrats on the purchase.
     
    Dark Revenger and EarthDog say thanks.
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,145 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Seems like a nice increase for a moderate OC. I likes them numbers.. My 5850 is still kicking and screaming though. I'm waiting for the next line. ;)
     
    w3b and digibucc say thanks.
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    This from an Nvidia user. Nice to see I'm not the only one who has preferences but still can appreciate good harware. :toast:

    I'm DL'ing H3.0 to see how my pair of 6970 fairs against your 7970 54th. :D
     
    EarthDog and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,569 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    Does PCS offer software for theirs? I got the HIS software and it took my 7950 way past those clocks. I also hears that the iTurbo software works on other makes as well. It offers up to 1.2VGPU and more memory voltage to get something like this out of software.

    [​IMG]

    May be worth trying something other than afterburner, then again I may have gotten a magic card.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,074
    I get about the same 1.2ghz at abouut 1.2v. Thing is, I have to set my voltage to 1.25v to get 1.2v. My card has some bad vdroop.
     
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,397 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    If i were to get either a 680 or 7970 id have to pick the 7970 as it folds better and is a nice card , i love that the 680 is better in some games as im eagerly awaitin 8xxx's and the 7970 is a very promising card id love to have one except ive spent so much on waterblocks i feel i must use em a while:) its a well rounded card though and they will deffinately iron out xfire on them if i were you id try and grab a cheap 7950/70 in a year and a half or so as ive extended the longevity a fair bit myself doingthat for another 130 quids all in
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,464 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    ya otherwise u can crossfire with 5850/5870
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    On my pair of 6970s @ 2560x1600 ...
    [​IMG]
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,569 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Looks that way, Peet. At least in this benchmark.
     
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,397 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    deffinately both of mine ,then some:)
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,074
    I get an almost identical score using the same settings @ 2560x1440 with my 7970 at 1125/1575. Erm.. I can't seem to find where I saved the results.. I'll have to do it again.
     
  14. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,867 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    The 680 is the better card, it has higher technology and higher performance, that's why the 7970 is having a price cut, its just not an intelligent pricing point. Its not a bad card, no one is saying that, its just not the best anymore. It doesnt need any defence
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,464 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    All In All Im happy you are happy with the card u selected, it will definitely last for sometime, Look at users of the 4800 and 5800 series, Some Crossfired. You are one of the few who can actually afford the card or even the 680
     
  16. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    I was a little put off at first trying the 7970 after coming from a 680, but then got to OCing it and so far stable at 1200/1600@1.2v, Its only 1920x1080
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,301 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That is how I was looking at it. I already had 1 6870, and a second was going to give me a lot more performance for that much less cost. Otherwise I would have went with nVidia this time around, I tend to jump back and forth between AMD and nVidia for GPUs, and in the past I've jumped between Intel and AMD for CPUs. I do prefer Intel and AMD for CPU and GPU respectively, but I've had some good nVidia products... and even if I did upgrade my video card, I'm impatient so I wouldn't have ended up getting a 680 anyways. Within an hour of getting my tax return I had my SB-E rig ordered.

    But all in all, two 6870s is perfectly adequate. It's just shy of a single 7970 in terms of performance and that is enough for me. I figured I would invest that extra money into other parts, like all other quality parts. I can say that I haven't been disappointed in any way shape or form in my rig.

    I guess what I'm really trying to say is there is nothing like a rig that you build for yourself when you have a budget to get exactly what you want, regardless of your preference. I'm glad to hear that you're digging the 7970. :toast:
     
  18. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    524 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Wouldnt mind a 7970 meself. :)
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    damn, I wish my 30" was working right. I'd really like to see how my 5870 crossfire compares to those newer cards. You guys mind running a 1920*1200 res bench?



    [​IMG]

    My 30" isn't hooked up right now, and it'd be too much trouble to get it out and hook it up just to run this bench at 2560*1600 when the monitor isn't working right and I'd have to take it down once I ran the bench.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. smoothshooter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    quebec(canada)
    I have my sapphire 7970 since 2 week and it's a peasure to work and play with it.I'm an nvidia fanboy since the 8800 series,but now that is the seconde generation i buy ati,but i buy it for me ,for my preference.I'm happy you like you're card and i'm happy someone else love is gtx680,because if we love all the same harware it come to be bad,reasl bad.
     
  21. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I'll post my single 680 @ stock, 5760x1080 in a few minutes, just to compare. I'd love to see anyone with an eyefinity setup post the scores too.

    Any special settings I need to run it as for a "true" benchmark?

    For the resolution, it ran damn good all things considered, for nearly all of the benchmark it was around 25-30 FPS.

    You did good getting that 7970, its a killer card.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  22. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,309 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Done :toast:

    Are you using CCC AMD Optimised Tesselation? It says 8xAA on my screenie, yours doesn't? It might make a diff to the result. I benched without for a better comparison against a 680.

    CPU is at 4.2GHz, not the 3200 Unigine displays be default.

    [​IMG]
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    When I tried running H3 in 2560x1440 (using it's setting) it ended up using the set screen resolution (2560x1600). Do you have to set the screen resolution outside of the utility for it to work right?
     
  24. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    thanks. Yeah, my 5870 crossfire is still right there at top end level.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,309 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I just used the Settings given in Heaven 3.0. :confused:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page