1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The 7970 thread.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by the54thvoid, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It worked if I chose 1920x1080.
    FPS : 32.4 (down ~5)
    Min : 11.6 (down ~1)
    Max : 88.0 (up ~2.5)

    Better overall at 2560x1600 lol
     
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I love my 7970. Disc drivers worked perfect, and 12.3 have had 0 issues. I overclocked to 1150/1625 1.93 volts the other day, 100% stable. Thanks to my Arctic heatsink it never gets past 60 celsius.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Heh, check out the voltage:

    [​IMG]

    I wonder what GPU-Z says for the rest of you?
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    gpu-z says about the same for me. i idle about at 28 celsius full load at about 58 celsius, im running the arctic though at 1150/1625
     
  5. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    hopefully never that:) i have those kind volts turn up on my mobos NB and cpu sometimes Alleged by rog's own Ai suite:wtf:

    sorry im daft i was looking at the 12V one, then again ive never seen 12v listed for gfx voltages
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Did you check in GPU-Z? :confused:
     
  7. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,309 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I've just tinkered a while and have it at 1225 Core (no memory increase). Used Afterburner and have volts at 1.212. Played BF3 single & multi player for 4 hours, in single player I used all absolute max settings. Top temp was 54 degrees, after 4 hours. My fans are controlled by my cpu temp so there wasn't any aggressive cooling going on, about 7-800rpm.

    FPS went as low as 45 ish but mostly hitting 50's-60's but going quite a bit higher too. Quite happy with that. VRAM in multi was >2GB.

    Here's my sensors in GPU-Z. (compared directly to yours, I'm right hand side.)

    [​IMG]
     
  8. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm still rocking my good ole GTX 480, Still is a beast and does whatever I want. The 7970 is a great card. There will always be something new coming out that is faster and better. No reason to defend the 7970, It holds its own.
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Sweet baby beaver spleens !
    This bench is all over the place on repeat runs at the same settings.
    I'm getting ±5 FPS on everything on any given run. :shadedshu
    I'm going back to benching with Minesweeper.
     
  10. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    my 7950 does me justice at 1120/1575 @ 1217v 100% fan and 71c on air max

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    1217 Volts hurhurhur
     
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,147 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    04578
    should do 2 runs of Heaven, in order to get a proper score minimum FPS always increases on the 2nd back to back run,
    example run 1 on the left run 2 on the right notice score doesn't change much but if you saw that as a graph comparing GPUs that low minimum would be kind of out of place ;)

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    the54thvoid says thanks.
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,309 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Is that something to do with a caching then?
     
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,147 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    04578
    possibly eitherway ive noticed it with every AMD GPU ive owned and tested with Heaven Bench

    5850, 5850 xfire, 6970, 6970 xfire, 6950, 6950 xfire, and now 7970 all did the same the score remains unchanged but minimum FPS always improved on the 2nd run.
     
  15. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    i managed to stop the eroneous error messages by turning pop ups off in probeII ,part of AI suite :) prob still errors but its stopped messing hwmonitor64 up too as i got wacky figures in that ,i leave it on overnight etc to monitor temps and latest slight tweek;):D:banghead:

    worked on a crosshair v but from forums it looks to work on other asus mobos too that
     
  16. zargana

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    49 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Guys uninstall all the previous drivers, using atiman. Then install the 12.04 beta drivers. You will see the heaven bench min fps is going higher. Old drivers have some problem and you can see that on heaven bench at "in cellar" scene.

    I removed anything using atiman, installed 12.04. I never had that min fps problem which was around 11.

    And here is the results with my 7950, forgot to mention, is 1 pass bench.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
  17. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Was bored and decided to so how much farther i can go with clocks, so installed Trixx and put it to 1225/1701, again its only 1080, card is a beast, cpu at 4.5ghz

    [​IMG]
     
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,309 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yup. Loving my card.

    Ran 3DMark11 with 1250 core 1.212v. No memory OC.

    Will try higher.....

    Processor at a lowly 4.2GHz.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: retry at 1275 (soooo close to 1300!!!)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2012
  19. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    658
    That app wont work with my HIS 7870... Keeps saying to disable ULPS, but it is/I did it again!

    Thats a shame as that software allows for much higher memory clocks and gives .05 more volts for the CPU.
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,266 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    658
    Thats why people should be using the HWBot version. ;)
     
  21. Paul_M

    Paul_M New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Barcelona, España
    Great Topic guys, i never had an amd GF before, 100% nvidia, and now im on the red side, totally happy.

    I will post some pics in your pc_ATM topic later, but did a quick run in unigine to see if all is "normal", i have NO experience in amd, so for now i have lo learn lots of things. for now, happy.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I still don't understand why every 7970 owner just doesn't run at 1125/1575 in CCC with 20% slider over. Temp never really increased for me. I am currently at 1150/1650/1.87 volts and never gets above 58 celsius with my arctic heatsink
     
  23. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    175 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    elite score! :eek:
     
  24. zargana

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    49 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Because there is no game to run it at those settings. Maybe in the future they will do it. :toast:
     
  25. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I disagree, the Witcher 2 still struggles to run max fps for me on a super 1150/1650 OC.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page