1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    Since Asus released a bios update that has PhenomII support for the M3A32-MVP I might just stick with it so we can know how they do with the old SB600 and no AOC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'm waiting for the X3s. Looking to get a 710 (2.6Ghz), or a 720 if I can afford it. I'm looking to change board as well though, probably grab the Foxconn AD7A 790GX board. Not liking the Biostar too much, too picky.
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a small understanding of what ACC is and I don't think enthusiasts like us would ever utilize it. I think what it does is clock up your CPU when you use Fusion or AOD.

    Go DFI 790GX, I am loving mine! Stable and a good OC'er.
     
  4. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    Thats exactly what it is shadow, ACC basically does the overclock for you. It handles all the settings.
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    Just noticed the name of your system Shadowfold..Love it!:roll:
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I think im going to have a PII rig by february. When do the AM3 boards come out?
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm guessing March-April when AM3 CPU's start showing up. Maybe February, not sure.
     
  8. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    hmm could have sworn those come out later in the year.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Why would they release CPU's with no real mobo support, that's silly :p
     
  10. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    In lieu of buying a new monitor I think I am gonna wait on Phenom II until they get cheap. Plus my bday is in May so I will definitely get one then. Hopefully they will be 200-250$ because I don't think I can muster up anymore than that.
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i'll join P2 BE and a Asus crosshair II formula (this makes me the only none AMD chipset mobo here)
     
  13. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    current pII dont support AM3? i guess ill have to wait til march...
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    940/920 don't do DDR3
     
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,285 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,177
    940

    I wil sell my 9850 to my parents possibly, they want a new system and a barebones Asus system that supports a my phenom, 4Gb RAM, and has the HD3200 chipset and associated crap can be had for $400 at the egg. With ACC I might be able to push this chip up to a much better OC on the board included.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Correct. However, the 945BE offers both AM2+ and AM3 support. :). Certainly makes it a better value for those who hold out.
     
  17. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    And when do those come out?
     
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Retail comes out in April. I've got a special chip. :)
     
  19. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    When you say special I imagine a guy on a short bus delivering it :laugh:
     
  20. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    You could add me to the list
    As soon as i see one i am buying it
    940 BE
    Foxconn A79A-S
    8gb ram
     
  21. Akira_pito

    Akira_pito

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hey Guys, what the different between 790GX & 790 FX Chip set ?

    Which One is the best ?
     
  22. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  23. Akira_pito

    Akira_pito

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Well i think Foxconn A79A-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard is better then Foxconn A7DA-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

    Don't U think so ?

    I prefer AOD Extreme unlike the other one. It OC config is great ;)
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well for one I wouldn't get Foxconn. I would go with DFI or ASUS if you're gonna be overclocking. 790GX is just a 790FX with onboard video and is a little weaker but I would rather have a good 790GX because they are cheaper.
     
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page