1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The HD 5970 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Black Panther, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    :eek: I just realised mine do as well :confused:

    So either we're both right, or we both made the same mistake.....

    I doubt it's a mistake though since my card has functioned impreccably since the bios flash.. :ohwell:

    [​IMG]

    I'll pm fullinfusion to give us his screenies... :)
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,775 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,230
    All four of mine have the same number:

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    crap...
  4. jbkappirossi

    jbkappirossi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    is it bad that gpu 1 2 dont have the same version numbers?

    because the you repley't earlier is the same as the one in the tech power data base.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Well, I dunno. I'm a noob at flashing, it's the first time I did it and since my card functioned well after the flashing (it corrected the 2D instability I had before) I was convinced I had done it right.

    Now I ran furmark and monitored two instances of gpu-z and here's what I found..... :(

    Hope there's nothing terribly wrong here...

    [​IMG]
  6. jbkappirossi

    jbkappirossi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    me to yikessss, so there is really no headroom to overvolt, shittt!!!!!:(

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,775 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,230
  8. jbkappirossi

    jbkappirossi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    netherlands
    yes thats what i was thinking two, but it seem that only the core temps are getting better.
    Because the VRM's still whit Accelero are to high. http://www.overclock.net/ati-cooling/754712-accelero-xtreme-5970-review.html

    So i was thinking to reduce the VRM bottleneck, is to replace the refference cooler for the Accelero and combine it whit this VRM cooler, but i'm not sure it wil fit propperly, or even to make it fit. http://www.thermalright.com/products/index.php?act=data&cat_id=29&id=105
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Well, considering I'm not overclocking, in my case at least I expected everything to function fine out of the box, without needing to void warranty by installing a 3rd party cooler... :ohwell: Then on the other hand I only realised this by running a benchmark and gpu-z. Card always performed flawlessly, even with the old bios which used to give trouble when I wasn't gaming :wtf:

    I wonder if any other 5970 owners could perhaps post a screenshot of gpu-z temps while running furmark so we could compare?
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,935 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,507
    I would PM some people. This is an old thread and some of the guys may not come by here much anymore.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Sorry Im just getting back to you now BP, but work takes me from home most of the week :eek:

    My numbers are also the same. BUuuuuuuuuT WAIT!
    Something is goofy here!
    One time I check the bios number is the same but the next time it's not.

    I wouldnt worrie about it. It seems like GPUZ is buggy atm with these new bios es.
    Id open gpu-z up and select the bottom drop down for gpu#2 and the numbers would be the same..
    Next time Id select the top box then thats when the number changed.

    Im running a PissX card and even dissabled it and sitll the same thing.

    I'm sure Wizard will fix it soon enough if he reads this post.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  12. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Ummm well form me it shows 012.020.000.019.000000 for gpu 1 and 012.020.014.000000 for gpu 2.....

    But that isn't worrying me, since everything seems fine and I'm no longer getting lockups/artifacting/driver shutdowns @ 157/300.

    What's worrying me now is that darn vddc temperature, screenshots of which me and jbkappirossi posted above...

    When you have the time would you mind taking a screenshot of furmark running alongside 2 instances of gpu-z one showing gpu1 and the other gpu2? Pleeasee? :)
    (Make sure they're not both showing the same gpu and that you select from the drop down menu)
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Take the screenshot during the furmark with gpu loads near 100% and the clocks maxed out (your memory shows at 300Mhz in the screenshot)
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Here you go BP. I wouldn't worrie about the mem temps :D
    I been seeing those temps sense I've owned this gpu.

    This run is at stock setting with fan at 50%

    I run 1000MHz - 1300MHz with no worries even @ 120c :laugh:

    [​IMG]
    Black Panther says thanks.
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    800-1100MHz :cool:


    [​IMG]
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    So I guess I shouldn't worry, your vddc temperature in the first screenie shows 103 degrees...
    Though I honestly hope it's a flaw with gpu-z, I don't think any part of any pcb would be enjoying such temperatures :ohwell:
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,853 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,929
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    VRMs should be fine to 125c.

    If they get too hot, they WILL cause throttle.

    As the VRMs get hotter, thier ability to provide stable clean power is diminished, however, the overcurrent protection mechanisms within the card should prevent and possible damage.


    The heatsinks themselves are quite restrictive, and as such, cooling capacity can be greatly reduced over time with dust buildup. I am not sure if your warranty covers cooler replacement, but I'd basically suggest giving it a good blast of air or something, as this may improve things a bit.

    Keep an eye on clocks, and watch for artifacting...if clocks are stable, and there is no artifacting, there is no cause for concern, but if either is present, I;d suggest you RAM that card ASAP.

    I haven't been talking about the 5-series and temp issues for months for no reason. It wasn't just complaining...it also serves basis to serve as a precedent for such situations.
    fullinfusion and Black Panther say thanks.
  18. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,775 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,230
    Or go to water :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Fullinfusion's on water and he's getting vddc temps over 100 degrees centigrade too.. :ohwell:
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Yes Fullinfusion is on water but not on my 5970 ;)
    I have never cooled any of my gpu's using water.
    I wouldn't wanna screw with warranty :p
    just water cooling this 1090T :rockout:

    Can you say 2c :pimp:
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Thanks Cad for making this issue clear to all of us. :respect:

    I clock the crap outta this gpu and still no problems with artifacts.

    I think you pointed it out to me a long time ago that 100c was no problem for concern.

    Thanks again bro :toast:
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,775 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,230
    Well, I was going to try and post up some VDDC temps under water for you, but I noticed that I am only running two cores under FurMark MultiGPU. Is there a trick to get them all (4) to run?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Not that i know of..... just run 5min of the stress and lets see what your water can keep the Vregs cool at. :pimp:
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,775 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,230
    Want to make sure I am posting the right card.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    [​IMG]

    VDDC @ 130c.is this normal or should i look into this?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page