1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Chimp Challenge 2012, May 15th-25th

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, May 2, 2012.

  1. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Thank you for finally posting something CP.:cool::toast:
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,933 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Coming in slightly late, but I switched over my 5870 and GTX260 to ChimPowerUp.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Giving it a go aswell :toast: The only time I ever folded before this was about 6 years ago, folding with boinc on my Turion TL-50 lol(if that is folding at all).

    I'd gladly turn my FX-8120, the two GTX8800's(if those are of any worth at all) a E6800 to folding, and if you guys think it'll add something meaningfull, my laptop aswell(when its not in use).

    What resources would you guys suggest I use from my rig when I still want to play diablo III aswell? :p Furthermore, I guess I'll need a passkey.

    Edit: The download link for V2 doesnt seem to be working for me.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,933 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm not sure if you can do that with your AMD FX cpu, never cared to find out. All that hardware is decent and worth adding. As for resource use when gaming, I just pause everything and restart it when I'm done.

    Well I managed to screw up the boinc install on my machine with the GTX260 in it when switching over to ChimPowerUp (it was running the GPU2 client, switched over to the v7 client), and the boinc site seems to be down, so I switched the CPU over to SMP for ChimPowerUp for now. It's an E2140 at 3GHz.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Birdman86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I'm trying to join the Chimp Challenge like last year with exactly the same rig (2600K @ 4.2 GHz and GTX 470 @ 701 MHz) and OC.

    I installed the V7 client and got:
    - p7642 for GPU, PPD 12417
    - p8014 for SMP, PPD between 17k and 27k

    I've got a couple questions:
    - Is this the best I can get or are there some useful options? I don't have any additional parameters now, but last year I was folding bigadvs.
    - How can you notice that the passkey is incorrect? I put the same one as last year, so it should be OK.
    - Afterburner shows only 89% GPU usage, is this normal?

    Unfortunately, I won't be home for next days so I have to leave the rig to fold alone and hope it is all OK.
     
    theoneandonlymrk and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  6. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    do the code is only for bigadv then ?
    SMP only doesn't need the code ?
     
  7. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Cool... this year I'm putting more PPD with the gpu alone than last year with 2 pcs:
    ION N330 / E5200 + 4850

    Is it normal for the gpu to behave like that ?[​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  8. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Have not been folding for TPU since I defected to LOSIAS... but I reckon I can climb back on board for this one.

    GTX580 standing by. Just need to change that team number and username yeah??
     
  9. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hmm something seems off at the laptop, the 5650 is generating ~3,2K PPD, while the i5 460M is only generating an estimated 58PPD. Am I doing something wrong? Running the CPU as SMT device, and its sitting at 100% utilisation all the time.
     
  10. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Well... on my PC GPU core alone uses 50-60% from my Pentium G620..... I choose to disable smp and use only uniprocessor for now.... as I think SMP can interfere with gpu or even get very low ppd....
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
  11. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, it solved itself apparently, now its doing 2,3k PPD again. So no probrem!
     
  12. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yes, just change the username to ChimPowerUp and the team to 50711.

    :toast:
     
    Cuzza says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Do I need to do the "bigadv" thing on my 2600K? Also How do you set that up?
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    I believe I'm on it. It says Name: ChimPowerUp and Team: 50711 on the visualization screen.
     
    thebluebumblebee and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    put the passkey in, but unless you have 16 cores, don't bother with bigadv
     
  16. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,217
    I will add my home system tonight 5870 at 1052core currently, and 1100T at 3.7Ghz.

    I might add a few other systems onto this, some have been slowly taken off as we need more processing horsepower.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    PM sent.
     
  18. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    when the scores will be on air ?

    I'm getting around 8.3k PPD with a g620 (single core) + 6870.
    I still need the code for SMP. Later I'll test if it's better to put the 2 cores from the g620 on at expense of the 6870 score or leave 1 core for the 6870
     
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,164 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,713
    With SMP3 and the AMD GPU client, the AMD cruncher has doubled its estimated PPD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. bob80 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi guys, I'm from Italy and I want to give you my support... I'm folding with 2500K and 8800GTX.

    Can anyone give me the passkey ?
     
  21. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    Question. Both my GPU and CPU WUs are at 99.99% w/ a 1 second to finish estimation, but they've both been there for over an hour. What's happening?

    edit: CPU switched over finally but here's what the GPU situation is...


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,375 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Bit late too, switching over my box now.
     
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    PM sent! :toast:

    Thank you Pete. We appreciate the help:rockout::respect:
     
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    What does that mean? :confused:
     
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Everything looks fine. Less than 100% for the P764x's is normal.
    ALL SMP needs the passkey.
    Your best result will be leaving a core/thread for the 6870

    Run at SMP-5 to give your ATI/AMD GPU a core to work with.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page