1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,443 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    921
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Well since getting my laptop with an E450 which plays things like COD MW and L4D2 reasonably well, the A8-3850 should suffice for most current games at 720p which will be fine on my 37" TV, really not coming close to using the horsepower of my 2500k at 4.6ghz whatsoever, don't even encode these days as I have my PC hooked up to my xbox for streaming and a direct connection to the TV via hdmi for anything the xbox won't play :rolleyes:
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,866 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    Can any of you help me?

    I got my old copy of red alert out and tried to play it, and all that happens is a little message comes up telling me windows can only run x86 or x64 software

    is there a way to fix this?
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Have you tried setting a compatibility mode?
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,866 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, I set it to windows 95 (the system requirement) and it didn't change a thing

    I don't see why it shouldn't run

    as far as I'm aware I meet all the requirements
    75Mhz proccesor
    8MB of Ram
    1MB Video Card
    Direct X 3
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Hmmm... might just be too old. You'll probably find someone who has got it working via Google.
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So who in the right mind would buy a 500Gb hard drive for £257.99 and not a penny less...

    Ebuyer Error
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Maybe a collector as Samsung dont make hard drives anymore.
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Wrong, a faggot.
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,443 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    921
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Tried running it in a VM?
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,101 (5.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Logitech MX Performance mouse, 1 year, how much would you pay for one of those? I am thinking that I should be paying £20-40 for it, but not too sure exactly how much.

    Points of reference: £70 if I buy new form Logitech, and G700 is £57 from Amazon.
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Fourstaff says thanks.
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,101 (5.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Excellent, I can lowball him further :3
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    836
    Location:
    London, UK
    thats the TPU way :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,101 (5.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    He told me "you can just use it, and when I need it I shall collect it back" after my "improved" offer.

    #winning
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    bad move - hes put you in a position where you owe him one.
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,101 (5.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    No, I cook him dinner every night (since he is a lazy bastard). He owes me one :)
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    personally, Id only cook for a girl but whatever floats your boat
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,101 (5.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Well, if I am cooking might as well cook for my flatmates to get points. I get to flame them when they annoy me :)
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    836
    Location:
    London, UK
    cooking for girls only, people may get the wrong idea..
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,198 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,180
    Don't cook period, even for girls.... it's not that i can't but they get so much moar good stuff with me they can do the cooking :D
    InnocentCriminal says thanks.
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    that is the usual attitude, but sometimes one must climb mountains to get laid :pimp::pimp:
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,866 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    UK
    could it run on linux?
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Currently debating if its worth getting an SSD for my laptop. probably will be a 128Gb one.
  24. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    £110 then?

    Go 60GB for like £60/£70.
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,077 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    yeah.... since the laptop only supports Sata II, I was looking at getting a OCZ Agility 3 or Petrol.

    120Gb Agility 3 costs less then £100.

    bit pointless getting a M4 for this as i cant use it at its full potential

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page