1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

theres static when I have my Tritton headset plugged in

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by -1nf1n1ty-, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    well you are correct and not so correct whilst a card may have an amazing signal to noise ratio ( or lack of distortion) if it pumps out a shit frequency range then it will sound rubish also so its a mixture of both
     
  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well, the thing is any half-decent sound card will pump out the full frequency range of the human ear, but not every sound card its good at minimising sound distoration.
    A far as I know, even the oboard "Realtek HD Audio" does fine in frequency range.
     
  3. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    could I get recommended a sound card? I was using a x-fi xtreme music so you know what im coming from ...R.I.P.


    1 is xonar i know looking at it atm
     
  4. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    aye thats true but many times ive actualy look at the spec sheets and found that they do not, am not saying your wrong mate, you can actualy carry on a convotation about audio which i dont get often :toast:
     
  5. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    +1 on that xonar my friend
     
  6. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
  7. Tartaros

    Tartaros

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Get the xonar, as many said.


    About the fail, it could be something about irqs. I once had that problem of hearing everything the computer does (hdd access, moving the mouse, everything...) with an onboard sound in an old p4 I had and was something about the irqs. I don't know how to fix it because was a friend who did it, but could be something like that.
     
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  8. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  9. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
  10. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  11. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    feels so expensive, dunno how long it would take me to get that :ohwell: Ill see what I can do, but college is a bitch on money
     
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The Xonar DS is also a viable option.
     
  13. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    thats the one I do not see
     
  14. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Make sure to mute "pc beep" in the mixer. I had the same issue.
     
  15. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I never saw it in the mixer, where would it be under?
     
  16. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    that one is as expensive as the others
     
  17. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  18. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
  19. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    well its been a while and Im opening this thread back up

    So I gave up the xf-i extreme music card and picked up a x-fi elite guess what? Still having static issues, so I've come to the conclusion that it IS the headset, I used the headset on my brothers pc and it worked but I still heard some static/clipping whatever it is and I borrowed a friends fatality headset and I changed everything to 2.1 sound crystalization on and everything up.....no static/clipping. What does this sound like to you guys? I'm thinking either motherboard or headset.
     
  20. Kenjiee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is the Motherboard. Very litte Information is out there. But you can find a few Threads about it.
    ASRock P55 Extreme has Sound probs. white noise in Audio output (static)
    Just turn your Soudspeakers up with no audio running...
    And Mic In port (front gives you very poor audio input)
    Mic in (back sometimes does noting....)
     
  21. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    363
    If another headset works on the same motherboard then it is definitely the headset.
     
  22. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Yeah a while back I tried my old broken Razer Barracudas and they sounded fine. I'm pretty sure it was the headset so instead of sending them back to get repaired I was way too late and the warranty expired but I'm not sure if I registered them so I could use the warranty yet hopefully not
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page