1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think twice about removing IHS on an X2 6000+

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wile E, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Well if you know how to do it, I've heard that taking them off intel chips is easy. Maybe even easier.
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, just overheat a TEC on them. :roll:
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    LOL just make sure your black has a metal top hehehehe
     
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    [​IMG]

    I'll take one half and you take the other OK?
     
  5. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    doh!

    as stated force aint ever needed. when i did the thread on removing the IHS on my opty 185 all that i needed was to cut with a razer around the perimiter wax/glue seal. it popped right off :(
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hahahahaha! Sure thing.
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It really didn't take much force at all. It just felt like some of the glue was still stuck on one side.
     
  8. bassmasta Guest

    >.> wow, should have posted something before. I also found out the hard way that all amd dual cores are soldered.
     
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Not true, Opteron ihs's arent soldered.

    Wile E, Were temps such a problem you had to remove the ihs!? Seriously you need to lock your case and give someone else the key. Step away from the hardware.
     
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    My X2 3600 wasnt soldered.
     
  11. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Never say always in the computer world, I swear companies just go to prove you wrong at times.
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,991 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    I beat Zek to the funny cat pic:
    [​IMG]

    oh, and STOP KILLING HARDWARE!! :mad:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU
  13. bassmasta Guest

    yeah, from now on i'm going to be more vague. I at least know that MOST amd dual cores at 4200 and up are soldered.
     
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,520 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,300
    I have been thinking about uncapping my X2. And getting water. it is just barely above stock, and I don;t believe I really need the extra voltage anyway.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    The 90nm cpu's are soldered the 65nm cpu's not i think.
     
  16. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Ah, what a beast. Sad to see her go. Atleast now you know what not to do lol
     
  17. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Cool guys never learn. Windsors are soldered. Some brisbanes are not.
     
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    lol i have a windsor.. gotta remember that. also the 6000 isn't a true windsor. its a binned toledo core. windsor arch. only lets it go to like 2.9
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    To put an end to the debate, not all Windsors are soldered. I popped the IHS off of my 1st Gen X2 3800+ Windsor today. :roll: Pics to follow.

    No, I just wanted to try to run 1.6v on air. :laugh:

    Ok, naked X2 3800+ pics. Threw the 6000+ in the pictures for laughs as well. 3800+ on the bottom (obviously). I noticed something that I found strange tho, notice there's an extra row of resistors (if that's what they are) on the 6000+. Both chips are oriented in the same direction, btw. Removal was worth 5-7C under load.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  20. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,452 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    sweet, now take the cache off of the 6000 and solder it into the 3800 where the spots for it are.
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. I wish.
     
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    U should try it:rockout:
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah right. I have a 50% failure rate on removing a cpu's cap, for Christ's sake. I can't image what would happen if I pulled out the soldering iron on a naked 3800+. :roll:
     
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Do you have a solder sucker?
    [​IMG]

    Very handy
     
  25. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,991 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    You never learn do you :p
    Ripped the core of a 6000+ in half, then go ahead and try it again :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page