1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    What theme are you running fatal? That looks amazing! :respect:
     
    Fatal says thanks.
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Thanks CP, Its Crystal Gloss by Redmile can be goggled and found on deviant art. It’s a pain in the butt to install though if you are talking about the Windows 7 Theme. The other stuff is Rainmeter which you can mix and match various things. I had to reformat a few times this last time I installed every thing since you have to replace some files in the windows folder. I think I have a better way to do it that will make sure you dont muck up Windows 7. I will have to send the info how when I get home. :toast:
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll look into it bro, thanks a lot. :toast:
     
  4. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    This is with HT on volts changed:
    CPU Vcore: 1.30
    QPI/VTT: 1.30
    These temps are starting to freak me out :laugh: I am use to AMD not sure if they are good. Will switch the memory to 1N and see if it can run again I know should stress more to be sure its stable. What should I set it Intel Burn to be sure its stable?
    [​IMG]
     
  5. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    temps are perfectly fine. You should run linpack for 12 hours or so...
     
    Fatal says thanks.
  6. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Anyone got any comments about hunting for a 970? They are running 500-600 on eBay for new and with taxes I thought I'd take advantage of the situation.

    I got my 920 off eBay and it has turned out to be a really good chip. Did anything ever material out of batch numbers or is it still a wash?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,645
    I bought an i7 970 about a month ago (second one coming soon for crunching) and it is an awesome chip. It is a bit expensive, but if you can find one for around $600 or less then that is a good deal compared with the retail price.
    It overclocks extremely well and stays nice and cool:)
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    What kind of voltage did you need for 4Ghz and what is your uncore and vvt needed for it?
     
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,645
    It is crunching at 4.0GHz with 1.26 VCore 24/7 and the max temps are about 48c (watercooling). Not sure about uncore or vvt as I am at work right now and can't remember. Will let you know when I get home.
    I have had it up to 4.762GHz with 1.581 VCore, but that was before I started to really learn how to oc this chip:
    4ghz Club

    Here is another at 4.63 with 1.482 VCore:
    NEW - 3DMark 11 Compilation
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I have a question would adding a fan to the Northbridge lower core temps at all. I know on my Phenom 940 it helped. Not sure with Intel I am a noob still learning.
     
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,924 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,435
    It may help if you NB is radiating such heat that it's warming up the area, thereby warming up the CPU. Mine never was.
     
    Fatal says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Its not hot at all really idles at 56c I put a fan on it now idle is at 41c. I guess it helps cool the northbridge thats it. I was just wondering if it caused the core temps to go down. My cores are the same so guess I got my answer lol. I am running the CPU at 4.2 got that stable without HT. I am now working on getting it stable with HT on has been a pain in my ass:banghead:
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  13. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Is it worth overclocking the Northbridge might raise it but I am not sure what would be good for the clock I have.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  15. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,645
    I am having a real hard time reading your CPU-Z. That blue is cool but making it difficult to see in the screenshot:(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Yeah can be hard to read sorry here is another screen shot.

    [​IMG]
     
    SonDa5 and HammerON say thanks.
  17. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Looks like that 23 multiplier is working well. :toast:


    How does the 23 multiplier do above 200 bclk?
     
  18. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Yeah 23 multiplier works great I have not tried 23x200 I seem to need a crap load of volts for bclk 200 to keep it stable. Although it could be cause I have my memory running at 1t. I will try to loosen my memory timings and change it to 2t. The Corsair sticks I have when I set XMP change the QPI/VTT to 1.40v. I will do some testing when I get home. I am not sure I can pull off 4.6 on air will try though.
     
  19. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Spent some time over clocking my I7-930 with hyperthreading,
    ppm and Turbo mode on.

    My goal was to get a stable 4GHZ with a 22x multiplier on all four cores and 23x multiplier on 1 core. Took awhile of tweaking to get this stable.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1681687


    CPU-Z doesn't pick up the 1st core 23x multiplier but the MaxxMem2 benchmark does pick it up. Here it is.


    [​IMG]



    A little later with some improved RAM overclocking.


    [​IMG]


    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1681822
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page