1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Core i7 Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dark2099, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Core i7 LGA1366 Overclocking and Feedback
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2010
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Some screen shots of the CPU at load and idle, will be putting SuperPi and 3DMark 06 and Vantage scores up in a few then on to the fun. For now I am using the stock cooler, going to see what temps are like if I use MX-2 instead of the TIM on the HS too. VID for the chip can be seein on the RealTemp screen, 1.0875.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    jesus christ stock cooler blows somethin feirce
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Yup, but as it stands, unless you custom make a mount for a different cooler, I think its about all there is to work with for now. Hopefully MX-2 will drop those enough to at least get me 3-3.2GHz stable with out it burning up.
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Those temps are crazy high at only 1.048v :eek: What's the benefit of having bleeding edge hardware, if you can't push it?
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    lol after market is the way to go even stock when i get the rest of my rig first thing im doing is either getting a WC adapter or getting a WC adapter and stealing one of fits TEC plates
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I wonder if Intel lied about the operating speed of the i7 CPUs. If you look at the screen shot where I am checking temps with prime, the 920 is reading a 21x multi instead of the 20x it should be so the CPU is operating at 2.8GHz instead of 2.66GHz like it is advertised to do.
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    hmmmm maybe its a mobo over ride? i think the 920 was supposed to have a 21 multi maybe fit can show us a SS and i will when i get my rig
  9. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    subscribed...

    this is going to be extremely interesting!
    An insite to the new tech! Goodluck with Overclocking these babies...:rockout:
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This will be interesting to watch, especially with the apparent thermal issues right now. I'm going to sit back for about 6 months before I jump on board.
  11. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Hopefully fitseries will be finished setting up his TEC soon and he can do more than I. When I have access to a digi cam I will put up screen shots of my BIOS.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This goes for any platform. Hell, I'm even using after market cooling on my 8 yr old daughter's rig. :laugh:
  13. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    so am I.... but only cause I out of money!!!:banghead:
  14. ap4lifetn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    21x multiplier is with turbo mode on, stock multi is 20x

    it can be 22x multiplier if only 1 core is active.
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    thnx the bios s what im intrsted in
  16. ap4lifetn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    you think realtemp VID is correct? It says mine is .9750
  17. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    This is going to be like learning to overclock all over again, just a quick peek I did on my first boot was enough to freak me a little bit.
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    maybe throttling?
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  20. ap4lifetn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yea i haven't checked my VID under load yet, guess i can check once i get home...

    yea the bios is confusing as first, you see all the voltages? The only ones you need to push to overclock is ram/vcore/qpi, the rest can be left on auto.
  21. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Well at idle it says mine is something under 1.0v, and at full load says 1.0875v. Coretemp won't show the VID, and the Voltage reading in CPU-z are fairly different from what Realtemp reads, and when using the ASUS TurboV overclocking program, it reads the core voltage as 1.225v. So CPU-z and ASUS TurboV have the closest #, so going with something around those for now.
  22. ap4lifetn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Don't use TurboV, it freezes my overclock everytime i try it. at idle, cpu-z reads the exact same voltage for me also, 1.048. on load, it reads 1.2.

    well enough playing around, crank that BLCK up to 200mhz

    heres mine
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=76246
  23. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Benches as promised. Not using the Turbo V program, just comparing #s in it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  24. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Look again Paulie, that's 1.32V under load, and the stock cooler isn't much better than the Core2Quad stock coolers. Seems about right to me.

    That's the Turbo mode
    dark2099 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page