1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks dark2099 for the PS3. You'll get 1,000 PPD with it!! :toast:

    And forget about the eeePC. Will take forever for a WU to finish.
     
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    mmaakk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks Buck, but over here in Canada we aren't that lucky!

    Try to find a "Best bang for the buck" at newegg.ca

    Cheers
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    Damn, wish I had gone for the single slot one instead of the dual slot, the single slot cooler is better than the dual slot.

    The PCB used is the same though, they both use the 8800GT PCB.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    My dual slot cooler works perfectly fine. Rarely do my temps get above 53 (usually hovers around 50 while folding). Fan is at 50%.

    And for whomever mentioned the PS3 folding, here's what I do: Go to configuration, set f@h to start instead of "life with playstation" when you click the "Life with playstation" button. Then go into the configurations for that, and set it to start after inactivity of 20 minutes (or whatever you prefer). I set mine to turn off after 6 hours, simply because I'm not too comfortable with the heat this thing pushes out (at least it pushes it OUT instead of RRoD lol). That way, whenever I walk into my room, I swipe my finger across the power button and go do something else. It automatically starts folding and automatically shuts down for me =)

    And if you have a PSP, you can control the startup/shutdown from the psp anywhere :)
     
    dark2099 and mmaakk say thanks.
  6. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    OK - 6:00 AM - I'm shutting down my rigs for today!:cry::mad::ohwell::(

    4 WUs DONE DURING ALL NIGHT - TALKING ABOUT ALL RIGS. :banghead:

    I'M NOT SPENDING ELECTRICITY FOR NOTHING.:banghead:
     
  7. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    this purely because of the wait for sending and receiving WU?
     
  8. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,399 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be

    Thanks for the info on PS3 but a friend had helped me find it. But maybe if the OP can be updated for the new layout of a PS3 so that people can find the F@H info easier.
     
  9. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    I'm 200% against WASTE.

    If my Rigs are on is because they supose to be doing something. Last 4 days or so I'm not getting the results expected.

    I do my best to keep my Rigs running. There is nothing I can do about "Waiting for WUs".
     
  10. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Great...I'm getting the Nvlddmkm display crash now (Running server 2008, ran as as a workstation with 64-bit Vista drivers for my stuff). I wrote eVGA to see if they have an idea of whats going on? Anyone encountered this while folding?
     
  11. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I think its the 8800 GS, not the GT. I think the 9800 GT uses the G92 chip, but from the revised 8800 GTS.

    God NVidia and their naming schemes. If I'm not mistaken, they are about to do another name round because of the GTX200 series. Something like GTX170 or something like that. Not to sure, but read it somewhere in the news section a while back.

    Duel Slot cooling is better from what I have seen, so I agree with Azrael.

    Anyway, nice deal, but I'm saving for Black Friday/Cyber Monday sales. Expect these thing to drop like rocks from the Apocolypse.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    The dual-slot keeps the core cool, but the single slot cooler is certainly better. When I had my 8800GS with the single slot cooler, with the fan at 75% it kept the core under 50C under load. With the dual slot cooler, it is usually over 60C, and that is with stock TIM on the single slot, and artic silver 5 on the dual slot. Not to mention the single slot cools the power circuits, while the dual slot leaves them to bake in their own heat.

    The 8800GS and 9600GSO are the same card, identical. It is even possible to flash a 9600GSO BIOS onto an 8800GS(for SLi purposes). They both use the same PCB as the 8800GT, in fact my 9600GSO has "8800GT" stamped on the PCB.

    [​IMG]

    Well it isn't 8800GT, but "88GT", but you get the idea.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    People having trouble getting work units:

    Make sure you have set your client to recieve work units larger than 10MB.

    This is the option if you use the System Tray Client:
    [​IMG]

    If you use the console client, you need to go through the configuration again and change it when it asks you.

    If you don't have it set to recieve WU's larger than 10MB, the work available to you will be very limitted, especially with GPU folding, as most of the GPU WU's are now larger than 10MB.
     
    mmaakk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks for remembering. All my rigs are working this way since I started folding. Bigger WU, bigger points.

    :toast:
     
  15. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    How large is a "large memory demand"?
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,921 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,021
    Not very large by todays standards, anyone with 1GB or more shouldn't notice a difference.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Stanford servers were down today

    If you'r like me, you were disgusted with GPU2 folding today. I came home tonite to find 6 GPU's idling and waiting to send work. A quick check with Stanford led me to the blog below:

    Stanford CS net down briefly, back up now

    The Stanford CS building was off line briefly today starting at about 1:30pm pacific time, lasting for about 3 hours. This meant that all of our machines on the 171.64.65.xx subnet were off line. It looks like everything is back on line and Stanford IT is looking into causes. This will likely lead to a bit of an excess load for a while until things settle down.


    I know that F@H requested and received new servers, but they are in the process of adjusting the software on all the servers as well. We should be better off in the long run, but the last few days have been difficult to say the least. Hang in there guys, it will get better.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Newtekie, I thought the same until I compared the PCB's of both cards. The dual slot is noticeably shorter and has a simpler design to the PCB. I agree that the single slot is a more potent card. I get more PPD on the single clock per clock than the double. Fans on both cards are always running 90% to stay within temps. Below pics has single slot on bottom.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Why do you have the switch with the blue wire on the card?
     
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Getting ready to Voltmod the single slot. Some guy on OCN is getting 6K ppd each out of a two seperate 8800 GS's voltmodded. To say the least, it peaked my curiousity.;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Well, I'm folding agian. For some reason I went ahead and bumped my Ram up .1v to 1.9v. On the safe side to, I lowered the shaders on my 8800GTX from 1620 to 1512. This may have been a culprit as well.

    And thanks for the workload tip as well newtekie. I didn't know about that.

    Also...I have to smile when I read the part about:

    "To much Server overload" in my opinion means: More people are requesting, so more people are folding. I hope thats an error for the better if thats the case.

    EDIT:

    DAMINT: Still having the error come back. This is pissing me off alot. There are so many solution, and seem to not work. I don;t get it.

    DAMN YOU Nvlddmkm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  22. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    So far... all OK

    This morning my rigs were ALL OK. No IDLE video cards!!! :laugh::):roll:

    I'm very happy. :p
     
  23. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    I have a question. I have a P4 3ghz @ 4ghz at the moment (read specs <<<<) that Im folding on until I buy my new rig and or start folding on my 3850. Is it normal to see over 50% CPU usage when folding on a single core proc like my P4?
     
  24. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Hi Guys. I'm back from a 2 week holiday in Germany so I can get my machines running again. Sonehow a couple of viruses made their way onto my main rig while I was gone :confused: (kids) :laugh: and my Linux machine decided that it didn't know the encryption key for my wireless network anymore so it was down... Anywho, I have things back and running now. My GPU client is smoking right now. Over 8200ppd at 783 core and 1566 shaders. Must be on one of the faster WU's right now.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,211 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,516

    50% = one core. its using your entire CPU (minus hyperthreading) to fold.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page