1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    You've got to try to oc the g92. Mine is at 1,200v@stock, and do 2000 shaders. Really weird g92, 192 bit memory, 384 mb ddr3, pretty high vcore...

    For the damn 494, i'm stuck to 7200+4300 ppd. No matter the clock.

    To TexBill, my gtx 460 at 900/1800 is doing 15500 ppd on 9xx wu's. How does your gtx 480 is doing 16500 ppd? Am I missing something?
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 6, 2010
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    What do you mean?
    More than 25k PPD
  3. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    The GTX460 only has a 192 bit memory interface and 336 stream processors.
    The GTX460 1GB has a 256 bit memory interface and 336 stream processors.
    The GTX480 Has a 384 bit memory interface and 480 stream processors
    Am I right on this logic Buck?
    More than 25k PPD
  4. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    I mean that with 336 cores i do only a thousand or two ppd less than you with 480 cores. I think i'm missing something as an increase of 42.8% in the core number can't increase of only 14% in ppd production. Add the fact that you've got a decent oc on the card (so do I!:toast:)...
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    GPU3 does not scale according to shader count(i.e. GTS450).
    TeXBill says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    So what actually makes the difference between the 2 cards in PPD, besides what I put in my previous post?
    More than 25k PPD
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    It was my guess that PPD on the GPU3 client scaled logarithmically with shader count, but its only a guess. Looking forward to what Buck says.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Getting ready to switch all my rigs over to Win7, so I've got to make 6 dummy plugs. Radio Shack only had 2 packs of resistors:shadedshu, so I will do the 2nd rig next week when the rest of my Fermi cards arrive.

    [​IMG]
    DaMulta and TeXBill say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Buck I'm gonna need to make a dummy plug as well.

    Anyone know where I could just steal a couple resistors from? Other than RaidoShack? :roll:
  10. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    If you just need three PM me your address and Ill throw some in an envelope for you :D
    mlee49 and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Way to step up theonedub!
    :respect::rockout:
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
    I think the short answer is: "we don't know." GPU3 is still new and Fermi is new. Who knows, maybe Nvidia will release a new driver that will turn the GF100's loose. Before the 400 series, it was about the # of shaders and to some extent, their clocks. With the 400 series, it seems to be more about the clocks.
  13. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Thanks for the offer, I've got access from my school though. :)

    I'm wondering what I can just tear apart here at home and use... humm.... maybe an old stereo or something.
    theonedub says thanks.
  14. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Any cheap battery or shaver charger should have a couple you can use if you don't want the charger.
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Ok, got her up and running. Used FahtrackerV2 and that software is slick! I'm using a server fan to keep the cards @ 45c. That fan is scary to stand in front of:laugh:. The entire rig is only pulling 550w. It used to take over 1300w and 2 rigs to generate this kind of ppd. I'm looking forward to setting up the next rig in a week. If fermi's get cheap enough, I may set up a 3rd rig like this! Now I just have to buy some more GTX460's.;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Got to agree Buck, Tracker makes it sooo much easier when setting up a new rig.

    Hopefully new members can install Folding@home with little trouble and make the jump to helping so easy.
  17. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Looking good Buck.:D Is that a server board with an AMD 9850 installed?
  18. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Nah, that's a venerable MSI K9A2 Platinum. I've got 3 of them right now(had 5 at one time). Great board, but it's limited by the SB700 series chipset.

    [​IMG]
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah they are the folders dream ;)

    Got a couple myself, but unfortunately they will have to retire soon, to make way for x58 boards :D
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Check with me before you get rid of them. They are a great GPU workhorse and I feel Fermi has a promising future.

    BTW, I've got 60%+ CPU usage from the 4x GPU3 clients, so I'm not gonna bother running SMP2.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    That seems high for the 4 x Fermi..... I have only 2 running on my i7 rig but they only use about 8% of the CPU.

    Anyway you PM (will have shortly)
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    looks nice Buck, question though

    do you use that 4 pin molex? the one above the pci-e slots, im guessing its to feed extra power?

    btw, the board supports new x6's hint hint hint hint :D:D:D

    remember if its an older phenom /athlon the usage cannot be compared to an i7 :p
  23. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Thanks for the light:toast:. I would conclude from those numbers, that over 850 mhz, shader count does not have a huge impact:wtf:. That's the whole point behind gtx 460 folding : high clocked not so high number of shaders. GF104 = insane ppd for the $.:rockout:

    If you have already one rig of them, and if i understand correctly, will upgrade two other, all with gtx 460, that's gonna be something like 150000 ppd excluding smp...:respect::respect::respect:
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah completely right, bit of a brain fart there :slap:....just didnt think it would be that high.

    Never really checked what the impact was on the CPU with all the GPU's running :eek:
  25. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    If anyone upgrades their 460's or know someone selling. I'm looking to buy. I'm a fellow team folder and cruncher 24/7. I need to get some better folding and be able to game better since my 250's are crapping out on me.

    Anyone hears or see's anything. Hit me up. Thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page