1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,021 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,530
    The GTS 450 is only 128 bit, which actually makes me want to know the answer to my question all the more. Memory bandwidth did not seem to make that much difference with the cards before the 400 series. I'm just wondering if it does now, or at least with the big WU's.
     
  2. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Thanks bro... i also had a 460 showing up as (0) under my user name and checked the client and found i was folding anonymously on that gpu:banghead: But, it's worked out now and my production should be up!:rockout:
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    450s are nice folding cards imo

    and now that the 512mb is out its even cheaper lol :D
     
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    111frodon is putting some nice points on the board today. Congrats on the -bigadv.

    :toast:
     
    Feänor says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    My 8800GTS's have just arrived. Soon as this WU is done, i'm gunna switch over to them from my 9600GT :)
     
    KieX and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  6. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Just bought a nice open box k9a2 platinum... 115$, and newegg.ca had a phenom 940 black for 99$!!! Seems like i'm gonna need some gpus... Only 4 cards now, and 7 pci-e slot to fill (x58 sli+k9a2)... Someone willing to give a hand?
     
  7. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    They are coming out with a 512mb version of the gts450?
     
    DaMulta says thanks.
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well atleast in denmark they are lol

    Gainward
    and Zotac both has 512MB versions here that is 25-40% cheaper than the 1gb
     
  9. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Ok thats cool I would like to see some folding results on those cards..
     
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Dammit, I haven't been on my PC much so I didn't notice till last night. I had my 5870 shut down for a few days. My sig is updated with what my folders/crunchers will be like when everything is up. So far I still have the 295/8800/5870 folding. Once I am able to get the PC's up and running it'll be what is in my sig which should result in more PPD and enough for my "crazy folders" badge. :)
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  11. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    :( Having some issues with my new dedicated folder... Gunna be out of the points for a day or two. Always hated nVidia chipsets.
     
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if all goes well ill get one of them next month along with 2x275s

    btw, any change of you showing that dimastech bench?

    im gonna get it the 1st, but would love to see yours :D
     
    TeXBill says thanks.
  13. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Sure I will take pics when I get home.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    nice :D
     
    TeXBill says thanks.
  15. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Here are a few pics of the Dimas tech bench. Got 3 video cards installed in it now on a Gigabyte UD3R board i7 960 @ 4.2GHZ 12GB of GSkill tridents 2000mhz. The 480 is watercooled, the Asus GTS450, Zotac GTX460 all folding 24/7. Also here is a crappy pic of the speeds the 480 is running now. Got it stable @ 850/1700/1850 on 1.025Volts. Temps never get above 45C on the 480. The Zotac is the hottest running card out of the three and it gets up to between 54c to 61c depending on the WU it's running.
    With all three cards running folding@home and the cpu doing SMP no -bigadv this rig puts out 45,000 PPD depending on the WU's it gets. I shut off the -bigadv because it would not get a WU. Going to turn it back on during the holidays.


    Edit: got 2 samsung 1TB drives in Raid-0 and 1 samsung 1.5TB for backup.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that is very nice, im gonna get one when i get money the 1st, just wanted to see it from a real person rather than a review

    ill be doing water on mine aswell, should be fun :D
     
    TeXBill says thanks.
  17. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Well, bad news guys. Seems this EVGA 750i FTW doesn't want to recognise my HDD... I've searched and i have two choices:

    - Get an Asus, Gigabyte or DFI board with 2 or more PCI-E slots and intel chipset
    or
    - Figure this one out

    Anyone who thinks they can help, this is pretty much the story:

     
  18. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    what are you trying to flash... you mean updating the bios? Check the usb format and see what format the board requires

    Is your bios seeing the hdd?
     
  19. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I like mine because its easy to work on. I got an Enermax Revolution 1000 watt PSU in it and it will run anything I decide to put in it. The water setup is easy to do since its all outside of the case. I have a 4/120mm fan dual pass rad setup cooling the heatkiller block and a koollance waterblock on the 480. with a swiftech variable speed pump. Great setup and will play any game out there today @ good FPS NP.
     
  20. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Nope, cant see it no matter what SATA port i put it in. And yea, apparently i should flash it, but im not sure ho with these older boards and no Floppy.
     
  21. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    you can use your usb stick like a "floppy" make sure your stick is Fat32... does your board have an onboard flash utility? If not then you will have to get all the program(s) to flash it... check with evga and see how they flash bios... I'm gonna google this and try to find out too.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  22. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    MoonPig says thanks.
  23. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    My Fermi Farm is growing by leaps and bounds and money LOL
     
  24. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Gosh Tex. How many is that for you now? Just seen you picked up another one. I see all lol.
     
    TeXBill says thanks.
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well friends,

    today as i round out my 5mil stone i regret to inform you of some not so great news,

    after 2 months of struggling with a plethora of personal and financial difficulties i am forced to sell off all but my main computer.

    i am very sad to do this because PCs are something i love a great bit but i suppose its time to move on.

    this doesnt mean you wont see me around here offering up my help but after i sell everything off i wont be around too much for a while.

    im glad that i contributed what i could and someday i will be back again, you can count on it.

    much respect to everyone :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page