1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2010
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    afaik 460s are beastie boys :wtf:

    something between 15-10000 depending on WU maybe 8k on hard ones
  3. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    My GTX460 gets a nice constant 10,398 PPD.
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,379 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have 2 of the TOP versions and they will do 11,500ppd on P6806 @ 850/1900/1840 at 1.012v.

    I have only found one AMD x6(1090T) in the database. On P2685 @ 4.0Ghz it produced 25K ppd running -bigadv with no GPU's.
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Got a guy who's talking to his buddie about my m2000 tomorrow! He wants a cheap laptop under $150 and mine is a great deal for him.

    Im currently the high bidder on the 920 d0 with the receipt and retail box on ebay at $192. I have a max bid of 200.01 on it and hopefully i win it! If not i have another guy who pm'd me saying he has a 920 d0 that does 4.0 at 1.25v for $200 shipped. So most likely i will be going the 1366 route and i'll have the funds for a mobo and ram also :D

    I've never been any happier with my pc and purchaes at the time! A core i7 this spring was like dreaming of winning the lottery. Now it's happening!
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  6. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    woot! My first 100,000 folding
  7. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Congrats man! I can't wait to be doing that in about 3 days with the i7 rig!
  8. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    how do I fold on two GTX 470s? I connected both, but my computer only detects one of them..
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    try reinstalling your drivers

    just use fah gpu tracker v2, sooooooo easy lol
  10. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    ^this!
  11. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I use fah gpu tracker. I plugged in the second card but it doesn't show up in either the device manager nor does it get detected by GPU tracker. I'll try reinstalling drivers. The second card doesn't have a monitor connected though. does that make a difference?
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Do you mean an onboard GPU ? Because I do not know a computer that will run - a GPU.:wtf:

    No, I have a computer with 2 470's and only one monitor, and it does roughly 55,000 ppd, and I ddin't have to do a thing. On a side note does the GPU show up in GPU-Z, or MSI afterburner ?
  13. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    No, it doesn't show up anywhere. The card works individually, but doesn't show up if two cards are plugged in
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,379 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,303
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I meant no GPU clients folding which may slow down the CPU client.

    Most all of use dummy plugs. Do you have a secondary input on the monitor?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    i do, but no cables.

    EDIT:
    Reinstalled the drivers but it still won't detect the second card.
  16. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Many AMD motherboards need a bios update to recognize two nvidia cards.
  17. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    yeah. so it seems. Lemme see if there's an update for my mobo
  18. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well guys i have a i7 920 D0 on the way! Woooot! I feel like the happiest kid alive right now! Just need a mobo and ram for it now though! Will have to wait till after xmas though to do anything :(
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    Whats the min RAM for a bigadv rig? 1gb/core?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Im not forsure on that but i know you can get away with bigadv on 6gb for a 1366 rig. Not so sure about a 1156 rig.
  21. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I think its 0.5 gb/core, but 1gb/core would be better
  22. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    Alright, I thought it had changed but I wasn't sure.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    plus since ram speed doesn't really matter, you don't need to go for CL7 RAM. You can get CS9 RAM fairly cheap. If your chip architecture supports triple channel, 6gb would be ideal, else 4gb .
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    theonedub, how do you like your evga p55 board? Im thinking about getting this board for my 920 but just wanted to know if anyone has any bad things to say about evga's boards. I remember someone saying that they had troubles with the 758 boards from evga with SLI or something. I don't want to spend 200 bucks on a board and have issues with SLI.

    I prefer the look of evga's boards over any other manufacturer. I know looks don't necesseraly matter but for me they do. Being 16 owning my own i7 rig hitting up lan's with my rig and a nice side panel a good looking board is definitely a plus!

    If i get that evga board im going to change over all the led's to red and get rid of the blue cathadoes.
  25. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    No personal experience with EVGA motherboards, but if they make them anything like they make their graphic cards, I would blindly vouch for them. Solid pieces of technology. I own a EVGA GTX 470 and it overclocks far more than the ASUS GTX 470 I own. Also, getting my EVGA GTX 480 tomorrow.
    Josh154 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page