1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's GTX460 Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by puma99dk|, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. erek New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    those case fans are inactive and just dangling there because the GF104 runs cool enough not to merit using them anymore compared to the 9800 GX2 i had in there previously
     
  2. burtram

    burtram

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    589 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    My latest stable OC with this awesome card:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Tops out at 74c using afterburners' kombustor, and after playing a few hours of battlefield with everything set to it's highest (1600x900 2xAA 8xAF)

    :toast:
     
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Very nice clock! I haven't really pushed this 1GB card yet. Seems like most of the 768MB cards hit higher core and shader clocks than the 1GB cards, but I'm hoping this Gigabyte has beefed up its power circuitry enough to make that untrue for this card.
     
    burtram says thanks.
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Hey guys can i join you guys :D i got my GTX 460 today and i love it!:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    u r added to the list kurosagi :p
     
  6. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Heres my old Street fighter 4 score on my 5750 with high and 8x AA with v-sync:
    [​IMG]
    Then with my GTX460 maxed with v-sync:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Count me in at last :D


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    The Cyclone is a amazing cooler!
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    u r added Tech2.

    i just modded my Gainward GTX460 1GB GS with some mosfets i had from my old Arctic-Cooling Accelero TwinTurbo Pro i mounted on my old Asus EAH5770 CuCore 1GB.

    Card with the mosfets:
    [​IMG]


    mosfets:
    [​IMG]


    On the GLH (Goes Like Hell Edition) of the GTX460 there is some mosfets cooling here:
    [​IMG]


    mosfets mounted:
    [​IMG]


    and as a bonus i flashed my card with the GLH bios and another bonus is i took a voltage unlocked version of the GLH bios :rockout:

    [​IMG]


    so maybe i can hit around 900mhz on the core now or more on the stock cooler :rolleyes:


    u can download some unlocked bios' for the GTX460 cards here: http://www.overclock.net/nvidia/781924-gtx460-1-087v-voltage-cap-unlock-13.html#post10455973

    there is Zotac bios' , EVGA bios' , Gigabyte, Asus DirectCU460 but look for urself and i am not responsible for any dieing cards out there if u do it wrong :nutkick:


    *EDIT*

    i tested and i hit 900/2000/1800mhz @ 1.125v and max load temp was 78°C in Heaven Benchmark v2.1 ^^

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2010
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Right... I has the card :D however... I'm totally new to this kind of overclocking on a graphic's card... fo starter's what's the realistic limit's I should be looking for my card? on stock volt's and over volted? I just don't want to fry it within my first month of use :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2010
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    Tech2 before i modded my card i used only 1.000v and got 800/2000/1600mhz out of it and i was pretty happy with that, and now i moved on to +0.125v and got another 100mhz on the core and 200mhz on the shaders ^^
     
  12. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    ohh... so I guess I should think myself lucky to be able to run 830/1000/1660 on stock volts? :D
     
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    yap, but remember every card is difference so they don't always Overclock the same, ino that Gainward and Palit uses a smaller PCB on their GTX460 serie cards than Nvidia's own so maybe that's tells a little too that it's not as normal as many of the other cards, but still a nice card ^^
     
  14. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Not as normal... explain? are you saying other MSI 460's overclock better at stock volt's?

    I should also mention I haven't tried pushing it much yet, just enough to have quick blast on a game with the settings.
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    that means even if u got 2 cards from MSI it's not 110% guarantee that they will overclock the same.
     
  16. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Ohhh I get what your saying alright, but it doesn't answer my original question... what are the realistic volt's & clock's I should be looking for?

    as I said I just don't want to fry it anytime soon :\ but I do want to be able to achive a one of score in 3Dmark 06... and Vantage when I get round to it and then put my clocks/volts at a reasonable level.
     
  17. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I skimmed this thread again and didn't see this problem mentioned. I have been noticing times where performance dips very low. Or some games performance seems much lower then it should be. So I ran afterburner v2.0 on the second monitor so I could see clock speeds and such well gaming.

    Everytime I saw a performance issue in a game at those times the clock speed was being bumped down to 405.
    In games that I was seeing what I thought was crappier performance then I should be getting the same thing was happening, though in this case the card was never bumping up to 3d speed but was staying at 405 the whole time.

    I have tried the driver that came on the cd with the card and the latest official from nvidia. I have also done a clean install of Win7. This problem seems more prevalent with games through Steam. Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  18. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    oh sry about that, i will say around 1.000~1.200v doesn't hurt as long as ur card is being properly cooled down there shouldn't be any problem.


    Flak what games, and what does GPU-Z read ur card to?
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  19. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I thought I hit the max when I got it to 950/1000/1900 using 1.062v ... Seem's I still got some fair headroom to play with :D
     
  20. Calle2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    A very full case, MSI Afterburner 2.0.0 and NVIDIA 260.52 "insider" drivers. ;)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  21. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
  22. Calle2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I can't hit a high clock with the original 1.012 Volt so I cranked it up to the maximum default Volt of 1.087 to hit a 850/1700/4000 stable clock. Slightly disappointed with the clocks but not with the temps!
     
  23. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'm not 100% sure on this... but maybe a driver update would be helpful?
     
  24. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,447 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    Tech2 the WHQL driver is 258.96, the 260.52 Calle is using was leaked yesterday to the internet, it includes GTS450 driver and PhysX 9.10.0514 :cool:
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  25. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I can honestly say I seen the 260... but still for some reason insisted to myself that it is older than the 259... and 258's :laugh:

    Thank's for the pointer though ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page