1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    same thing as it does for an AMD system, it works with intel. You just can't enable GPU or AMD overdrive features, but everything else yes :D


    Gives me about another 1 or 2k in 3dmark 06

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    amd fusion on intel rig... ive heard of it before. (all fusion does, it deactivating trivial software, for maximum power)

    EDIT: thanks for the flowers, i really needed that step up :D
    the q9550 does really good output!
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yep, but it works great.
     
  4. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    does it really bring that much?:)
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    It actually does help, got me to crack 16k with an e5200 & 8800GTS. Otherwise I would have barely did 15.1k.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    sounds like its worth a shot;)
     
  7. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I have the boinc client installed on all my machines (win 7 pro 64bit). It is set to 100% usage on all clients. I have it in advanced mode. Ever so often I've been noticing the past couple of days that the timers aren't counting down. System isn't frozen, cpu usage is 0% and boinc isn't in a not responding state. I have to close boinc and restart it for the timers to continue. Am I missing something, is this normal, is it a problem with my overclocks (which btw on all PCS are stable 30 IBT passes, 24hrs+ on OCCT and prime).
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    in your case it helped you but in mine it didn't do anything for me but i like to keep alot of things disabled on startup so that could be why i only got about 200points
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    You sure your PC's are alls table, any overclocked?
     
  10. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,392 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,231
    Is this box checked in preferences? I like to look for easy solutions first :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    while computer is in us is checked on all the machines.

    All the pcs are overclocked, the q6600 and q9550 have been overclocked for a very long time now with no problems. Like I said, all the pcs, including the i7 920, pass 30 runs of IBT, and 24hrs+ of OCCT and prime without errors. They all game without problems as well. This just started happening (at least I started noticing this) on Friday. It's happened on all three of these rigs at least 5 times since I first noticed it on Friday.
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    one dumb question:
    is your system time set correctly? WCG whines sometimes, if it isnt;)
     
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    if that is not the problem I would also try default settings just to be sure.
     
  14. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I wonder what happened at the house on Friday. Velvet Wafer may be onto something. All three pcs had the wrong time (though they all had the same time). Set them to the correct time, we'll see what happens.
     
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    happens to lot of us, that should have been the issue.
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    u use win7. win7 updates the time from a certain server, you can choose, normally it updates from the main microsoft server. i had the wrong time today (4am), until i updated from another server, where the correct time showed, midnight;)

    might be a problem with the time servers...
     
  17. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I have edited the latest amdfusion to run on intel if any wants the file I can upload it quick.
     
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Is there like a new version or something? How is it better? Just curious.
     
  19. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    Not sure, was bored. lol
     
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    upload it to file front and shoot me a download link :toast: If you can :)
     
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    load temps during full load with BIONC.

    [​IMG] I love this cooler.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    wow CP that runs cooler then my X2 on the S1283 :eek:

    btw Velvet i got the 5kBE back to 3ghz stable again. :)
     
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you ran it stock before,i suppose?:)
     
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if you remember i couldn't get it back to 3ghz because of temps so i ran it at ~2.7ghz@1.22v to keep it cool. But now that my main rig isn't running i used the Xiggy that was on it
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i used a cheap waterblock, an aquarian pump,a thermaltake rad and a clear plastic screwbucket (with cap).
    runs my 939 x2 to up to 2.9, without voltage increase (1.44):D

    glad you have at least one x2 sorted out,eh? :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page