1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I might need it, I'll look into it now Brandon.
     
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Got the loop together last night and bleeding the air bubbles out now. Decided to go with a fillport instead of a reservoir and it took "forever and a day" to bleed. I will load the OS and have it crunching tonight. Gonna go Linux on this one as well.
     
    stinger608 and Aquinus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,660 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,597
    Wait for the review on the A10 APU's.... they are almost here and the prices aren't bad. They may also lower prices on the previous generation to clear inventories ;)

     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok let me know, I can get it out to you quickly
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Glad to hear it! :toast:
    Jstn7477 is reporting very good results from Linux x64, so that should serve you well. What clocks are you aiming for?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    The Mobo's a EVGA P55 Micro with 6+2 phase, so I should be able to get 3.8-4.0Ghz out of it.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I think I'll pass. I've had a loop ready for my 2600K for a while already, just need some misc stuff. Then I can put my Megashadow on the i7-950 and get the hyper 212 and put it on my AMD rig when I have it running.
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok sounds good :)
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Brandon, your board/CPU arrived at work today and I'm going to try and get it up and running today. I liked the clever packaging you used (turning a Gigabyte mATX motherboard box inside out). :p

    I'm probably going to throw the 940BE in my AM2NF3-VSTA because the HTT only goes up to ~230 and I don't mind beating up that board because the nForce3 only has real GART drivers for XP x86 and that OS is worthless for getting maximum CPU performance out of a 64-bit quad core. I'll move the Phenom 8550 Tri-core to the ASUS board and give it a decent but not crazy OC, as it does 2.5GHz at stock voltage without any problems.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea man, Every motherboard I ship, I take the box and fold it inside out (works every time) and fill it full of packing peanuts.

    Get it tested and we can leave some heatware.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,349 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's almost ready. Unfortunately I couldn't find the nuts I needed for my Thermaltake Frio so it's back to stock for a little while. I should be good to go. Just have to load the Ubuntu installer on a flash drive. :pimp:

    Who can guess which side of the case is the front? :p

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Norton, Chevalr1c, theonedub and 2 others say thanks.
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,859 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    <----- that side is front.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Good news!
    The guy I bought the EVGA X58 SLI from has said he'll help me RMA it. I'm sure it'll take a while, but then at least I'll have a functional board.

    Also, I "assembled" the AMD X4 965BE, and I'm setting up BOINC on it now:
    [​IMG]
    Now I just need to find chipset drivers so I don't have to tether through my phone :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,451 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    Does ram speed matter much for crunching? I have 8GB of 1333 that im planning to use for my kids build and just want to be sure that speed is or isn't important.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Nah, RAM is basically irrelevant as long as you have enough. I even have single-channel RAM in my 2700k (need to fix that at some point).


    I'm thinking I may have to throw my Xigmatek Gaia on the X4 BE, it's running at 68C ATM on a stock cooler (I already had to cut off part of the mounting bracket, the CPU would hit 70C and throttle to 800MHz because the cooler wouldn't fit right).

    EDIT: Two cable ties and an 80mm fan from a Dell later and the X4 is now running at ~53C load instead of 68C+
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I had my hopes up for getting Brandon's board and my X3 8550 going problem free (the 940BE is in my AM2NF3 and running fine), but it looks like another PNY 2GB stick of mine took a shit. Don't have any money to replace it either so I'm stuck with a single 2GB stick in that machine. Word of advice, don't impulse buy crappy RAM at BestBuy because you want it immediately. The 2GB PNY DDR2 are atrocious and this is the 3rd one I've blown up. Luckily, I worked some exchange magic on the first 2 but I don't want to touch that RAM ever again. Hope the last stick hangs on for a while until I can find some more.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,215 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    DDR2 or 3?
     
  19. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It's DDR2-800.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,215 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I have some 1GB sticks that I could send you next week :toast:
     
    Jstn7477 and Solaris17 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Anything would help. If you've got some old sticks Ion, I will gladly accept them. PM me with the details and maybe I can make it up to you later on when I finish paying Brandon (which is my current priority) and stuff. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Guy's, I tried to get Boinc going in Linux and I'm stuck. Who is experienced with Ubuntu??
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Tolerably so. What's your issue? :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    I just setup BOINC in Ubuntu a couple days ago. I am a complete Linux first timer but I was able to get it working. Were you able to install the client using the terminal or are you getting an error?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page