1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Trouble With My Pc!!!

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Danielz04, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi. Im having a serious problem with my computer. i came home and it was switched on (somebody turned it on in my house to use) and there was no image on my monitor which was turned on. my first reaction was turning it off (holding the power button) and then turning it back on. and i got the same problem. it has been working fine since the last 3 months that i got it. havent used it much because i havent been at home much.
    Its specs are:
    Gigabyte X58-UD3R motherboard
    i7 920 processor
    6gb gskill ram
    1 tb wd sata HDD
    gigabyte gtx 2600C graphics 1gb

    and thats about it. i built it myself, it took me a whole day because im not that good at computers but i know some stuff. i read other posts saying that it may be the motherboard or something thats blown but i just wana know if theres a way out of this without spending cash on a new one. >_< not really at a good position to spend money on another computer part.


    So the main issue is:
    my comp turns on. all fans are working fan on graphics card is working leds on motherboard light up(the green red and yellow ones in a line). all cables are plugged in as it was working yesterday, but there is just no image being produced on my monitor! which is a 21" benQ g2220HD. also when the speakers are plugged in, i dont hear the windows startup sound. the mouse and keyboard are lit up and seem to work.

    any help would be greatly appreciated or suggestions! or even answers! thanks alot!!
     
  2. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Hmm any chance you could run onboard gfx to try and problem solve. And I am guessing you are running onboard sound to your speakers?
    Also try unplugging anything you don't need like usb pen drivers and what not.
     
    Danielz04 says thanks.
  3. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how do u run onboard gfx? yeah ive taken everything thats unnecessary. at one point i only had the psu and graphics card plugged and i turned it on with no image still.
     
  4. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    where you put you gfx set it on first pci-e , also try restarting your bios using chmos jmper
     
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,212 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,797
    There is no onboard video on that MB. Try clearing the CMOS via the jumper on the motherboard, look at the manual for specific instructions, should be near the pcie slot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    You can't - there are no onboard graphics on x58 boards. Do you get any post beeps when you start to power it on? Also i'd reset your cmos to see if that helps.
     
  7. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Arh yes sorry, I haven't slept yet and I didn't look at your hardware specs.
    Also maybe resitting your gfx card if clearing cmos doesn't work.
     
  8. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry im not very good with these advanced stuff.. how do i set 'it' on first pci-e?
     
  9. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry guys what exactly is CMOS? and how do u reset it if the computer doesnt turn on?
     
  10. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    whats the jumper? =S sorry..
     
  11. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    this will be easier

    Unplug pc from outlet
    then remove the circle battery from motherboard and hit the power button

    The fans might start but not run since the plug is disconected

    Aftert that put the battery back in then plug it in
     
  12. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    You have no clear cmos button on your motherboard but there should be two pins that your short out that clears it. It is said that it is near your south bridge but it will be in your manual so I would have a quick look inside. Basically turn off your pc, unplug the power from the power supply and just short them two pins out with something metal and give it a minuet. then connect your power and try and boot back up. But really, I would just go straight to your manual and it should tell you.

    Or do what Assassin48 said :)
     
  13. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    any idea where the battery is located though? i dont see the battery if i just glance through the system. would it be on the other side of the mother board?
    and also do i leave everything plugged in on the motherboard? :S

    i dont know if i have the manual btw! >_<...

    i really appreciate the help everyones giving me.. but im really sorry i dont know all these things i feel bad..
     
  14. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    I think you are going to have to take your gfx card out. Check this link..
    http://www.firingsquad.com/media/article_image.asp/2423/05
    See where the orange "slot" is? Well to the right of it is the cmos battery.
    Make sure your power is off and the plug is out of the wall. Then around that little battery at the bottom of the circle is a kind of a small pressing tab. Press that and the battery should pop out slightly, then pull the battery out and wait 15 seconds and then place the battery back in. Remember which way it was facing before though. Then connect everything back up (including your gfx card) and power on.
     
  15. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OMG i see it. wow thanks for those instructions. but now im facing the taking the battery out problem. =S how is that done? im not sure its a pressing button as ive pressed it and it didnt pop out. but there is a little metal tab sticking out. would u suggest i pull it with a screw driver or something?
     
  16. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Yea that little tab you should be able to push on in downwards and feel it move, when it moves try and get your finger behind the battery and pop it out.

    EDIT: And no you can definitely take it out.
     
  17. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it shouldnt be one of those non removable ones right? i just did a bit of research and im still not able to get it out. i dont wana be forceful but gentle isnt getting it out =S!
     
  18. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i justtoook it out do i press the power button?
     
  19. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i pressed it nothign happened. what exactly do i do after i put everything back? lol should it return to normal?
     
  20. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Place the battery back into the motherboard the correct way. Then place your gfx card back in and power your system up.
    So everything is plugged back in and is back to normal.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2009
  21. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the comp just turnd on and off and on and off, one cycle occuring every 2 seconds. what happened?
     
  22. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Hmm, power down and unplug the power and recheck that everything is in its correct place and propperly seated. Then try and boot up again.
     
  23. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey i fixed it up and powered it up! but there isnt any signal like last time on the monitor. the mouse went off and back on for a second just then but once.. and i here buzzing. but it has stopped now. all i hear is the usual tower humming.. with no image
     
  24. Danielz04 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just turned it off.. oh man.. this is killing me lol.
     
  25. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Ok try checking the cables that are going to your monitor to the out ports on your gfx card. If still no use, try and change the cable eg: use a VGA cable instead of a DVI cable.
    Apart from that I don't really know what else to advise.
    Maybe someone else on the forum could help you.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page