1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ubisoft's Far Cry 2 System Requirements Published

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    those are decent specs. i really hope farcry 2 is more than just a run and gun. it sounds to me that it is going ot be a lot like crysis (even tho they have different developers.)
     
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Nothing my system cant handle with aplomb
     
  3. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Man if you guys think that 11gig or whatever it is is alot of HD space, Age of Conan is 32 gig!!!!!!!

    And ya I bet those specs wont run anything. 600x400 super low maybey, LOL
     
  4. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    no joke, install Half Life 2 and both episodes its 12gb also
     
  5. Selene

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Grid is 10gigs, AOC is 30+gigs, WOW is 8.6gigs.
    I can see it being 12+gigs.
    Looks good, but yea min and rec system is very very misleading in most cases.
     
  6. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Id say my lappy will struggle to run it regardless of the moderate specs maybe 800x600 hmmm :/
     
  7. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    If you want to know how it will run, you have to compare with other system requirements from Ubisoft Montreal games, and the latest GOOD title is "Assasins Creed" if I am not mistaking.

    If we compare the FC2 requirements with the AC requirements, there isn't much difference.

    The AMD 5200+ is only 10% faster then the 4400+ they recommended for AC. They must have created some good texture streaming because they still say that 512MB is enough.

    I was able to play AC on 2048x1536 without shadows. So I am guessing that 1600x1200 without shadows should be perfectly possible. It's a fact that FPS-gaming requires higher framerates then thirdperson-gaming so wurst case scenario I have to play on 1280x1024 wich is not to bad. I finished Crysis on that resolution.
     
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,894 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Sheesh how often are the specs right lol... And it depends on the player what playable is. What they call playable is it runs..
     
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I have a feeling I won't be able to max this game. If not I need to upgrade immediately.
     
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    The moment of truth is fast approaching. When FC2 is released it will determine once and for all if Crysis was as unoptimized as many have claimed. :toast:
     
  11. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    I think we all all no the answer to that one crysis was totally brutal on hardware.
     
  12. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Hmm, I could agree with that. In their strict meaning you are right aftel all. But historically low specs granted you more than just playable settings and recommended specs assured you almost the best experience. Nowadays you can barely play with minimum specs (basically it just means it will load) and recommended is what you need to even consider playing the game as something similar to what was expected to be. Also in the past you could play with below minimum specs and the difference between low, recommended and high-end was a lot smaller. Today it's like day and night. Dunno, maybe my expectations are higher now.
     
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Far Cry 2
    Recommended
    • CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo Family
      AMD64 X2 5200+, AMD Phenom or better
    • Video card: NVIDIA 8600 GTS or better
      ATIX1900 or better
      512 Mb of graphic memory
    • Memory: 2 GB
    • Sound: 5.1 sound card recommended
    • Media reader: DVD-ROM
    • Supported Video cards
      NVIDIA 6800, NVIDIA 7000 series, 8000 series, 9000 series, 200 series. 8800M and 8700M supported for laptops.
      ATI X1650-1950 series , HD2000 series , HD3000 series , HD4000 series.


    Crysis
    Recommended Requirements
    CPU: Core 2 Duo/Athlon X2 or better
    RAM: 1.5GB
    Video Card: NVIDIA 7800 Series, ATI Radeon 1800 Series or better
    VRAM: 512MB of Graphics Memory
    Storage: 12GB
    Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c Compatible
    ODD: DVD-ROM
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP or Vista
    DirectX: DX9.0c or DX10

    So far so good...
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2008
  14. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Can you guys please stop comparing requirements from different developping teams. It's the stupiest thing you can do. If you want to compare, compare with Ubisoft Montreal games...
     
  15. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    absolute tish tosh, minimum means you can play the game if it means you dont mind playing a blocky low res visually cut down version, and not just load it??, reccomended, is whats needed to enjoy it at a good visual level (i would consider medium settings on most games to be a good example ), i dont see where the problem is, the only thing that i can see as misleading as ive said before is the game companies not listing a high spec reccomendation, on top of the other 2 as people are obviousley confused about what these mean, i know for a fact i can play crysisi on a comp lower spec than what crysis lists as low spec and at 20fps, but tbh it wouldnt be worth it as it would look like shit with everything turned down to low and res at 800x600, but the keyword is it would be playable framerate and hardware wise, either way both specs have to play it at a "playable" framerate, not just load it. are you telling me you cant run crysis on the minimum specs? cause i know there are a lot of ppl who do and ppl who run it on lower specs, just because "we can"
     
  16. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    minimum requirements are always like playing the game a 640x480 with ps1 visuals

    but oblivions minimal was by far the worst I have ever seen, it was like, it was horrible

    so I just negate the minimum requirements now and substitute reccomended as minimal(if you want to truly play the game)
     
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Making a rudimentary comparisons can offer some insight on what to expect. BTW, it's developing not developping... It's never a good idea to call anyone stupid when you failed to proof read your own post for spelling mistakes.

     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2008
  18. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    specs are never right let me offer proof from my own experince

    Star Trek Elite Force
    Tried to run it on a PII 266, Rage TNT 16mb, Windows 98se and 128mb of ram, it ran slow

    Tried to run COD on a P3 800, Geforce 2 MX200, Windows XP SP1, 512mb of ram, it ran slow

    Tried to run Crysis on Sempron 3400, Geforce 8600GT DDR2, XP SP2, 1gb DDR400, it ran real slow
     
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Specs are never right based on what? If the specs included, resolution and frame rates and you didn't get that I would agree. But the recommended specs on this and many other games are not that specific. So the expectation is clearly on you not what's recommended by the game. In your case you believe the game ran slow. However failed to see that the game actually ran. The recommended specs didn't include frame rates.
     
  20. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    You also have to take into account that the minimum specs are more than likely aquired using optimized computers, defraged, no hardware conflicts, which is a good amount of the time not the case for normal pc's
     
  21. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    TBH I don't know why do you have to argue with MY OPINION. You made clear (before this last post, here you just repeated the same with different words) that FOR YOU, recommended requirements shown on actual games offer a satisfactory gameplay at satisfactory settings. You also made clear that you consider low settings on low requirements hardwre in recent games something "playable" or may I say, worth playing. I DO NOT (aplicble to both concepts) and I know many if not most of the active people in these forums think the same. What are you trying to demostrate? Whether a setting is acceptable or not is not something objective, is subjective to each player. There is no absolute setting, frame rate, etc. that can be named as acceptable and such there is no absolute hardware requirement that could fit in such low and recommended definitions. 640x480 @ 20 fps could be acceptable for some, but not for me, that's for sure and by a great margin. For me gaming anything below 1024x768 @ 30 fps directly doesn't exist. And same happens with low settings. In the past low settings was something worth trying, today all games look like crap on low, it's not acceptable, FOR ME, remember I'm giving my opinion. Medium settings are devaluated too in comparison to what medium meant in the past.

    And just to finish I want to say that I do have old hardware, so I know which settings are playable on what hardware and what not. But again since it's my opinion, I choose that anything below 30 fps average is unnaceptable, anything below 1024x768 is unnaceptable and low settings as a whole are unnaceptable. Period.
     
  22. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    lol on this "old hardware" have you even played crysis because a lot of people with respectable systems are quite content with playing at 1024x768 and 30fps, cause thats all that crysis offers, but in our minds thats wholly acceptable, and what system are you on about cause the one in your specs shows us a x2 4800+, 2gb ram, a raptor and a 8800gt (please correct me if this is incorrect :D) yeah thats really old hardware :laugh:

    i find it hard that you dont even understand my posts, regarding system requirments, to me its quite simple. let me break it down for you:

    minimum = you can run without any eye candy and at a low res, with high enough framerate to PLAY the game (which is the point is it not ????)

    reccomended = you can play the game with acceptable eye candy and at decent res, also with high enough framerate to PLAY the game.

    this unfortunately is not a forum based entirely on YOUR opinion, this is a public forum, and unfortunately things dont always go your way, what you call "acceptable" is entirely different to what other people think, and luckily for us we base things in fact here not opinion
     
  23. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    idk, my old pc meet the recomended exactally and it ran it with uper tier quality(not fully maxed) at around 15-25 fps outdoors and 30-60fps indoors
     
  24. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    1024x768 low settings, standard gaming rez when those came out, except crysis which is 1280x1024. Now having said that, my hardware at the time was not in the recomended list but was higher than the min list. So it would reason it would fall inbetween those two cat's and 10x7 @ low shouldn't have been an issue with any of them but it was.

    Elite Force and COD averaged about 20FPS for me, which is the Quake3 engine, and we all know 60+ is really need for smooth frame rates with that engine. Crysis got about 25FPS which also isnt playable to me. And a note about FPS, moniters don't interlace like the TV does, not all motion is captured and blurred. Motin blur goes a long way to help out the low framrate effect because it gives the feel of motion that the TV does, but Quake Engine doesnt have even basic blur.
     
  25. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I guarantee not a single person here with vista x64 and a modern video card can get hexin II (non-o|gl)to run smoothly (go look at the water...oh god the water...) on there computer. (even though you slaughter the minimum requirements) :laugh:

    (Its actually true, the game was not optimized for a video card and tweaks out in modern operating systems...)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page