1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ubisoft's Far Cry 2 System Requirements Published

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    go play Star Trek Borg on a modern computer it won't even start

    or COD:UO on a modern computer, the game hitchs and runs badly.

    run 3dmark99 on a modern machine, i have and my score isnt much better than 10k explain that.

    Hexen II i must try
  2. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    It will tweak out as soon as you try to look at water. It runs...a little worse than crysis on my computer (Hexin @ 800x600, Crysis at 1680x1050 High, 0AA)
  3. savor_of_filth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    S.E.A
    There is no way 8600gts could handle farcry 2 effects,
    1024x768 super low with no AA & AF
  4. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    the screenshots i have seen did not impress me nor did the graphics. Looks like Stalker in sunlight to be totally honest.
  5. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Yep and i might be able to run it at 800x600 with bugga all detail.
  6. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    think logicly, this is a massive game world, so if they expect it be playable textures ect can't be terribly high unless they use alot of z-optimizations in drivers and in the game
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I agree here, although I am even more strict. I won't play a game at all if I can't run it maxed out completely w/ 0XAA/16AF 1920x1200 @ at least 40fps average (I'll accept 30fps for Crysis, as it seems to run smoother at lower rates). If I have to, I'll go down to 1440x900 4xAA/16xAF that my second rig offers, but all eye candy must still be on. I'll sacrifice some AA, but I won't ever sacrifice eye candy.

    To me, recommended means I should be able to max it out at the most common resolutions available at the time of release.

    As such, I still haven't played Crysis for more than 5 minutes. I'll try it again with a couple of OCed 4850's when I get them.
  8. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    my requirements because since i got my 6800GT in 2005 are similar, I have to have at least 4xAA and 8xAF @ 12x10 high or i simply don't enjoy a game, one reason me and Crysis never got along, there are jaggies if you look, and the textures blur far to close.

    that and my name isn't Dave so it wouldn't take as much affinty to me as it would a dave
  9. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I have the same requirements but 1680x1050 instead of your 1920x1200.
  10. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    hehe we all have our requirements im still CRT so 12x10 is mine, is why getting the uber card setups never did me much good
  11. Nitrogliserin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    my 3 years old 512mb x1800 is still enough :toast:
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Don't be an arse.

    As I've already said, minimum specifications are NOT your opinion, they are not Dark Matters or anybody elses opinion, they are what the developers feel is the minimum. Before anyone has a go, what I mean is the cold-hard specifications written on the back of the box are what the developers think are the minimum/recommended etc.

    But every person has a different opinion as to what they will accept as minimum, and these can differ wildly from what the developers put. As Wile E has pointed out, he expects a pretty high-standard for his minimum, which is fair enough, there are a lot of games that can play at that standard, but there are some he can't.

    Me? All I want is 1680x1050 and high settings that is smooth.
    DarkMatter says thanks.
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    My minimum for playing a game is it turning on. To be honest and imo I really don't care what the game looks like as long as it is a good game to play which is my basis for being a gamer. I do happen to get the latest hardware because for once I have the chance for once to have the best of the best since I didn't have that chance when I was younger but now that I have a job I can buy what I want.
  14. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Look Dude.

    Minimum Specs = Game runs like utter crap not worth playing.

    Recommended Specs = Game runs acceptably but only just, nothing to get excited about.


    I always tend to have a fairly up to date system but will not touch resource hogging games like Crysis and possibly Far Cry 2 as I would much rather play older games maxed out to the hilt than modern ones with compromised settings.

    In a FPS game (and lets face it, in most other games) a solid 60 FPS is what is really required both for the enjoyment of a high quality gaming experience and in the name of preserving your eyeballs. I think games developers should start being a bit more honest with their 'specifications' aiming for thier listed recommned specs to reflect mostly 60FPS at medium settings and reasonable resolution. If they are worried about frightening away a large section of their potential custom then perhaps they should just lower the performance bar of their games so that a wider span of the worlds home PC rigs can handle their software.
  15. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Thanks Darknova.

    @mullered07

    You are acting like a moron. Not saying that you are, but you are more dedicated to "win" this "battle" than understanding what the rest are trying to tell you. A battle that really doesn't exist as it's only one sided, yours. What you don't realise is that you are arguing with OPINIONS, not facts, and teling us that our opinions are wrong. Neither you or the developers can say what the minimum or acceptable gameplay is. We are saying (at least I am) that for us, the settings that the recommendations in the box can guaratee nowadays are not acceptable. YOU MADE CLEAR, PLESE DON'T WRITE IT AGAIN, THAT FOR YOU THOSE ARE ACCEPTEBLE, IT'S NOT FOR US.

    All that you are saying besides that, is that because you accept those settings those are the absolute requirements for a game. They aren't, regardless of it is you or the developers themselves who say they are. I'll put a simple example: next ID games, Doom4 and Rage. According to Carmack, requirements for both games will be very similar, but because of the different nature of the game at Rage they will aim at 60 fps, while they will aim at 30 fps for Doom4. See, same requirements different settings. They are deciding what "playable" or "enjoyable" is long before they launch the game, but that means nothing, as is the people who are going to play them who will decide in the end, based on their opinions. That's what has happened with Crysis after all. I did enjoy Crysis a lot and I think that the requirements were acceptable for what it offers. You will have a hard time finding any member that has defended that game more than me, ask others if you don't believe me. But you DO need a lot better PC than what the requirements suggest to play that game. And even though not as pronounced, that's what happens with almost all other high profile games.

    Just to satisfy your curiosity I have the following computers (I will list those of my brother, dad and uncle too, as I have access to them and I do play on them a lot, specially for testing games):

    1- The one on the specs. It's going to be replaced by a Q6600, P45, 4GB DDR2 really soon. Already have the components, I have to only gather strenght to put it all together.

    2- AMD 64 3700+, 2 GB ddr400, 7900 GTX on cheap asrock dual. Going to be replaced by the current PC except the graphics card.

    3- P4 2.5 Ghz, 2 GB DDR 400, 6800 GT on a SI655 mobo. Going to replace it too with the spare pieces of the above.

    4- Athlon Thunderbird 1000 Mhz, 1GB DDR 266, Ati 9600 Pro. I have it on my town.

    5- Asus laptop. 1.6 Ghz Core2, 2 GB DDR2 667, HD 2400.

    Now other's PCs:

    6- Brother's PC. Athlon X2 4200+, 2GB DDR 400, X1900XT.

    7- Dad's PC. Pentium D 950, 8600 GT, 2GB DDR2 667.

    8- Uncle 1's PC. Dual Xeon 2.8 Ghz, 2 GB RAMBUS, X850 XT.

    9- Uncle 2's PC. Penium D 930, 2 GB DDR2 667, 8400 GS.

    As you can see, I have a wide range of PCs to test on. I can test on many others ranging from a 486, to a PIII, that are also active and within 3 Km from my home used by my grandma and aunts.
  16. Ekklesis

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    X1650 was 7600GT rival and 7600GT was better than 6800 and for the second question we can say that on the market it can be found both x1900 and 8600GTS cause 7900GT has disappeared...
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    wow , seems good , i think far cry2 engine better than crisis engine , i here they working too hard on it , also i seen one of tomshardware team go to e3 game show and see far cray2 run on big screen or maybe not too much big , but it's run in best quality and performance on 2*8800 ultra
  18. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    As long as it looks pretty and can actually run on something other than the latest and greatest hardware ill be happy *fingers crossed*.
  19. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Then why did they not say ATi HD2600 vs Nvidia 8600GTS? they are the same generation and meant to compete in performance.
  20. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Because the HD2600 cards suck. The ATI 8600GTS is about equal to the X1900GT, that's why they mention the X1900GT and not the HD2600.

    And it's 100% normal that they say Geforce 6800GT or ATI 1650Pro, because overall they have the same performance...

    The X1650 was faster then the 7600GT in the beginning, but after the Nvidia forceware 77.30 release Nvidia was faster again.
    Nvidia released the 7900GS because the X1650 was winning against the 7600GT in most benchmarks ( in the beginning at least ).
  21. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    They did not mention a X1900GT for minimum (that was recommended) they mentioned a X1650.

    They do have the same performance but it is strange because the 6800's were released with the x800 series of cards not the x1x00 series, one was released as a high end card and one was released as a midrange. Thats not 100% normal.
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    X800 is SHADER MODEL 2.5! FarCry2 probably is shader model 3 so the X800 cant even support it!
  23. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    When did any core 2 duo chip equal a 5200x2? Makes c2d chips look better than they are.
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Most lower end Core2 E6x00's and E4x00's at stock are on par with similar clocked AMD chips.
  25. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Im just making the point its not 100% normal to compare a midrange (x1650) card to a highend (6800) card thats a generation older.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page