1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Up-grade advice needed P4 ( skt 478 )

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Gam'ster, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hello all ,
    I need some advice on what to replace my current mobo with ( because right now i feel like this :banghead: ):laugh: , My current one is a fujitsu D1625 with an intel 865 chip set, i hope i can keep my current P4, RAM and i realy need a new G/card (agp), Im also torn with ati and nvidia ive had not so good experiences with either, im thinking that my probs with G/cards stem from the mobo as its fairly old ( 3-4 years old ),
    Ive looking at an HIS/ATI 1650 pro, but im un-sure if my current mobo will be able to handle it as it didnt like the x1300 much bout 6 months ago,
    So im wondering if i could please get some advice on what to do about the mobo and G/card ?, Either up-grade both or just the card if the D1625 is deemed worthy :laugh:

    Anyway cheers and Many thanks
  2. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    id say the safe choice with vga is nvidia as they always seem to sort problems out and have drivers made quicker and for the price of that 1650 pro you could possible get a 79xx card, what cpu and fsb are you using by the way?
  3. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thx for the quick reply, Ok CPU-Z tells me its a P4 3.0 SKT 478 mPGA, rated FSB is 800mhz.
    If any further info is needed let me know, id just like to find out if its worth me getting a new mobo and G/card, or just G/card with my current set up.

    Cheers
  4. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Abit IC7
    Asus P4P800-e
    MSI 865PE Neo2 Platinum

    All decent socket 478 motherboards. You can't buy them new though, you would have to find them used somewhere, most likely ebay.
  5. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hey thanks ill take a look at them and an nvida geforce 7xxx, see what i can get :) ,

    Cheers and Many thanks
  6. Khriez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why not just save up and buy a new system? If you can't currently afford the Core 2 Duo's, just buy a MOBO that is Core 2 Duo Ready. :) And topping it off with a PCI-Express slot.


    EDIT.... Nevermind the above advice, I re-read your post and you said you would like to keep the current CPU and RAM.
  7. TUngsten

    TUngsten New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I'm putting a new system together and might part with my MSI 865pe mobo, send me a line
  8. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Find a Motherboard with PCI-E, it will do you good.
    Make sure you buy a GPU from the ATI's X1k series as they ARE future proof; i.e. physics. Nvidia won't make you happy!

    This would be a good setup that is future proof (for the GPU)
    -Asus P4GD1 Motherboard (Hard to find)
    -Radeon X1650XT, is better than 7600GT, a powerful midrange card. Able to do physics unlike Nvidia's GPUs which lack this function, therefore making it worth purchasing.

    Don't buy high range AGP cards unless you're life ends in like a week! It is better to buy a PCI-E Motherboard as well as a PCI-E GPU.
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    umm well he only has agp and its a s478 which has VERY limited choices in fact are there any PCI-E boards? plus they dont sell the X1650XT in AGP form and the 7600GT beats the crap outta the X1650PRO average of 15-20fps in most games

    and agp is not dead note how the x1950PRO agp is still sold out months after it was put out
  10. SpoonMuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    318 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    agp is dead, the agp cards you see now are the last gen of "high range" cards you will see for agp, get over it, agp was murdered b4 its time, because they wanted to force a move to pci-e for no real reasion.
  11. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    The X1950 is available for AGP. Therefore it is not dead yet.... get over it.

    http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/products/products_overview.php?gpid=168&grp=2
  12. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Well ive been looking at the options and for the price of a Asus P4P800-e on ebay for a few quid more ( 20-30 ) i could get a pci-e ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe AiLife Series Gaming Edition :) , and pci-e cards are cheaper than agp ive been using komplett, overclockers and google for price comparisons, i mean i could push my doe up to £350-£400 if anyones got a good basic idea on a pci-e system for that much let me know, i just want to look at all the options available before i save/spend ££££ssss on something that isnt realy that good lol.

    Thanks for the replys gents it all helps.
    Cheers :rockout:
  13. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    It would be slightly cheaper to keep you old hardware, but obviously it would be best to upgrade to newer hardware if your willing to pay for it.
  14. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ok, been looking and decided to start from scratch :) , possibly AMD Nvidia with Asus mobo, based system, with prices as they are atm not much more for new gear.
    This is what i was thinking of starting with, £99 or $178, i think it is a good price for what it is,
    http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?modelmenu=1&model=744&l1=3&l2=15&l3=226

    Let me know what u think.

    Cheers :rockout:
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,155 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    that asus board will rock... good choice but you will be moving to the Darkside:)
  16. SpoonMuffin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    318 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    fixed, :)

    the dark side(empire if you will) is the one with more "power" but worse buisness tactics ;)
  17. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    That is EXPENSIVE! O_O, but no, I don't think Nvidia is the way to go tbh, if you plan on purchasing their 7 Series GPUs; no DX10 Capability. At least ATI/AMD's x1k series have a DX10 Capability; Physics.

    One thing is for sure, Core 2 Duo Kicks most of AMD's processors right now. I'd say go Intel + ATI, buy the P5W DH Deluxe Motherboard.... Its the god. Or you could buy a much cheaper performance equivalent the DFI Infinity 975X/G. It will kill the P5W DH Deluxe once you update the bios. A rought example:

    -Core 2 Duo e6600
    -DFI Infinity 975X/G (x8 Native Crossfire, 8x SLI Without performance reduction) / P5W DH Deluxe (16x Crossfire)
    -2GB DDR667/800 from Some known and good manufacturer
    -Powercolor X1950PRO Extreme or R600 (If you can wait)
    -SATA HDD with Perpendicular recording
    -SATA Drives if you have the money.
    -A good PSU more than 600W, I'd say the Coolermaster iGreen 600W (Cos I have it :rockout:)
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2007
  18. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I wish i could afford that :) , but with the Asus a8n i only need a processor and a pci-e card, for the rest i can recycle my current system like sound card, ram, dvd-rw and the case untill i can afford better, dx10 im not to worried about for the min but i can see your point :rockout: ,

    Thanks for your post it all helpin
    Cheers
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Its only a 939 Board... T_T
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    939 boards are very good still

    try this board its very well made and numerous members of tech power up have it. It can run with the big boys and has the same overclocking features as Epox and Asus and DFI . http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813153030. I know I have this board as Does I AM Mustang Man from this forum. This board has been know to go over 300fsb on air. This is also a very good inexpensive yet quality motherboard when its in stock. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813138264 here are the chips I would put in it dual core http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103588&ATT=19-103-588&CMP=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r known to overclock 3.ghz and

    http://www.pricegrabber.com/p__AMD_Athlon_64_4000_Processor,__8098504 and single core 3.ghz
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2007
  21. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Cool cheers ill take a look, see if i can get them here in the UK

    Cheers :rockout:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page