1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista network conflict.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by russianboy, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Everyone knows how great Vista is @ discovering devices and networks, but now I have a problem.

    On startup, it finds two networks, one is my working "Network" network, and the other is some sort of "Unidentified network".

    This is causing a conflict, and I cannot connect to the internet, I can however connect to my IP address, and I do have a signal.

    I have tried to go to the network and sharing center, but when I delete that "Unidentified network", both networks disappear. If I do a system restore, internet will work, but as soon as I shutdown/restart, and boot up again, Vista will rediscover that "Unidentified network".

    Safe mode w/ networking allows me to go to the internet, as it does not discover that pesky "Unidentified network".

    Can anyone assist me in manually deleating this network, and prevent it from coming back?

    Thanks
  2. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    As you all know, internet is rather important to me, any help would be greatly appreciated.
  3. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    try PMing joinmeindeath417, or ill send him this thread later, we do alot of networking calls together and he always runs into this problem.
  4. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    thanks
  5. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    bump
  6. Andrew Flintoff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Bump here also, getting exactly the same problem. Did you find a solution? What router you using russianboy?
  7. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    A no name one I think, I solved it by changing the IP adress of that "Unidentified Network" from XXX.XXX.1.2 (It should have been 1.3 BTW) to a random number like XXX.XXX.1.7. or whatever.
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,408 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I am having issues seeing my G/F's Xp based system on our network, but I think it is her firewall blocking me. I can access her PC files (I back up her stuff on my PC) if I go through my router's menu and click access User's Files, but I have to set her Firewall to allow all otherwise it won't go through. I'm on a wired connection to the router, she's on a wireless connection to the router. I had no issues with networking between PC's when this one had XP on it, but Vista doesn't like to find her PC unless I go through the router. It's weird, I haven't tried too much because I have the method I'm currently using to access her stuff, it's just kind of annoying.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page