1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Cooling Project Log

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Asylum, May 22, 2009.

  1. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ok...Thought i would jump into some water cooling and try my hand at it!!
    This will be my first time water cooling so im a total noob at it!!
    Here are the parts ill be working with!!
    APOGEE™ GT Extreme Performance Universal CPU water-block
    MCR220 Quiet Power Series DUAL120mm Heat Exchanger
    MCP655™ 12 Volts Industrial Pump with speed controller
    Custom built acrylic reservoir
    7/16" clear tubing
    [​IMG]
  2. etrigan420

    etrigan420

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    125 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Outstanding :toast:

    One of these days I'm gonna jump in and try it...

    It will be excellent to hear things from a first timers perspective.
    Asylum says thanks.
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,420 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Once you start water cooling..........
    Air cooling sucks:)
    Asylum says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yea going to be qite a ride im sure!!:laugh:
    Just got my case stripped...Post pic in a sec.
  5. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Heres the case ill be useing!!
    This case doesnt have great cable management but ill do my best!!
    Its nice and roomie though so thats a plus!!
    [​IMG]
  6. Duxx Guest

    I'm a noob also, and quite interested in some H2o cooling, will be following :) Good luck!
  7. etrigan420

    etrigan420

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    125 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Nice and roomy...AND a kickass modular PS. I've got a frikkin rats nest.

    Mind telling us where you purchased the WC parts from and how much you paid?
    Asylum says thanks.
  8. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I picked them up here on the for sale forums!!
    Payed $130 shipped for all of it!!
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Got the rad mounted!!
    Would not fit on the inside so i took the fans off and mounted
    them to the inside and the rad on the back!!
    Had to go buy some longer screws to make it work!!
    Ill just have to decide where im going to route the lines!!
    Heres a couple of pics!!
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  10. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I'll be watching this, since I was a n00b too not long ago.
    If you have questions, feel free to ask.

    And yes, once you went h20, air cooling is just not the same...
    Asylum says thanks.
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Turn the rad upside down if you can,it will mean easier/shorter pipe routing to the inside of the case.

    Oh and H2o FTW.
    Asylum says thanks.
  12. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Would it be better to have the fittings at the bottom?
    I thought you would have better flow threw the rad if they were on top!!
    Like i say im a noob at this so all imput is helpful!!
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Less chance of trapping air the way you've got it. Swiftech does make a 220 with a built-in resevoir for flipping it the other way. Did you consider a radbox for mounting it?
    Asylum says thanks.
  14. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    No i dont even know what a radbox is!! lol
  15. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    I agree totally. I don't OC half as much as some of the guys on TPU but for some reason, H20 draws me in!:D
    Asylum says thanks.
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Hahaa... no problem - took me a while to figure it out till I saw one in a build log. It's basically a plastic cage that pushes the radiator away from the back of the case for better airflow without having to remove case metal.

    Jabtech has them... along with some good pictures to show how they help mounting:

    http://www.jab-tech.com/Swiftech-RadBox-MCB-120-Revision-2-Black-pr-3337.html

    Scroll down on the page... you can even have your barbs facing the case :)
    Asylum says thanks.
  17. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thats pretty sweet...I might look into that later when i get this first setup under my belt!!
  18. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Personally,i found having the rads upside down made no differance.You can always leave it unscrewed while you bleed the air from it,then screw it on.

    Like sasqui said,you can use a rad box and have the barbs facing the back of the case.If you have the rad the way it is,it will mean long pipe runs down to the pci slots,were i guess they are gonna go through.

    I would also consider replacing the plastic barbs with metal ones too,just personal preferance though i guess.
    Asylum says thanks.
  19. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Im at work right now but i have the water block installed on the mother board
    and everything layed out ready to go!!
    Ill jump on it as soon as i get home and set this thing up!!
    Ill post some pics when i get the mother board in!!
  20. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Keep us updated :toast: Made a project log myself when I built my first loop, its really fun to do and document the stuff. I wish you luck that you don't encounter any leaks:rockout:
    Asylum says thanks.
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Ditto! If you haven't already done a leak test, EastcoastHandle put together a really good summary: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52032
    There's a section on shorting pins on the PSU to run the pump without having any jiuce to the motherboard (Don't forget to remove other power connectors like the 4 pin CPU and PCIe if you do this).
    Asylum says thanks.
  22. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Its best if you run the pump on a seperate PSU. That way you eliminate the chance of forgetting to remove a plugged in wire.
    Asylum says thanks.
  23. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I have a couple power supplies laying around!!
    So i can hook one of those up if i need to!!
    In case i have a leak or something and have to drain it!!
  24. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    so you did jump in on the action! :laugh:

    good job mate:D

    btw for securing your pipe i have never liked those nylon hose clips!(if your using them)

    use some jubilee clips aka worm drive but dont do them up too tight as you are using blastic nylon barbs

    good luck my brudda!
    Last edited: May 22, 2009
    Asylum says thanks.
  25. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks man...Ill be home in about 30 minutes and get this thing rolling!!:rockout:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page