1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Water Cooling Project Log

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Asylum, May 22, 2009.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Thats a high ambiant.Mines usually no more than 20ish.
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, exactly why your having a hard time keeping those temps low. No offense but something you should have considered from the start. Granted the loop looks great man! :D
     
  3. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    47c, you live in the desert or what? :eek:

    And overclocked chips need big heat transfer. I have a triple and a single rad, granted two cards than run hot also. It goes just as high as 65° above 1.45v, thats why a seperate loop is due soon.
    A dual rad, especially as thin as yours can have a hard time dealing with those temps.
     
  4. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,015 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    that reservoir is as big as your ambient temp. i'll be honest i'm not a fan of your case I really don't like Apevia cases. this will be a great learning experience your loop is much better than mine was I had a external fish tank pump, old grout bucket for a reservoir, modified auto radiator I got from a mcse class mate and some no name tubing from the local hardware store but this was when liquid cooling market was born. I have always setup my loops in Reservoir -> Pump -> CPU -> Radiator -> Reservoir. forget Push and Pull, Push and Pull favors High Speed Fans and since High Speed Fans favor Thick Radiators with large Fin Density stick with Low Speed Fans in Pull until you can purchase a new Radiator. lol at smoke break when you have a smoke make sure you play some punch-out.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,800 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Asylum - ambient means the air temp in the room. 47c is about 117f! And that's one HELL of an overclock!!!

    I have a triple rad and see idle temps around 38c and load temps up to 52c with my E6600 CPU only at 3.2 right now (still messing with dividers and shit). Air temp is about 24c (75f).

    What are you using for temp monitor?

    Bumblebee has good points, good airflow through the rad is as important as it is with an air cooler.
     
  6. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Sorry guys thought he meant idle temps!!
    The temps in my house stay around 70f
     
  7. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Dude put the rad inside more awesome/ better
     
  8. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Wont fit inside!!
    Plus that would just make temps hotter!!
     
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    3 suggestions -

    try water wetter - it will drop temps by a bit - by reducing the surface tension of the water (i.e. making it absorb heat better)

    Put your fans in pull mode, instead of push (mount the fans outside of the case to the rad.) Pull mode works better with <75CFM fans.

    3 - check the mounting of the waterblock, and check the flatness of your chip. You may need to lap that sucker.

    Last question - what are you using to load the chip?
     
  10. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Prime95
     
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah your chip should be barely making it past 50C, at max.

    Try to reverse the fans for a second so that they are blowing IN to the case through the rad.. If that makes a difference then you have an airflow problem, which is easy to fix.

    I used to have those same exact components with the E8500 at 4.1Ghz 1.42V It should be performing alot better - we can fix it.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
    Asylum says thanks.
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I'm using a 120.2 with my fans in pull mode,i have also put two fan frames twixt fan and radiator,seems to make a differance.
     
    Asylum says thanks.
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah the shrouds make a big difference, always a good idea if you got the space.
     
    Asylum says thanks.
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You reckon it would make any differance if i put two more frames/fans on in push/pull mode?
     
  15. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ill try that out and see what happens!!
     
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    It would. Martin's Liquid lab shows just the one 25MM-30MM shroud can improve t-delta by 10-15% - I don't know how much a second shroud would improve it by - never tried it since it would make cleaning dust out of the rad a PITA.
     
  17. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    It would make cleaning a pita,as it is now,i just take the side off and hoover the rad.Push pull is apparently better though,i might try it.
     
  18. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I tried the push pull method with 2 more fans on the outside and it only made 1c difference!!
    Starting to think this rad or block is crap.
    One or the other!!
    Started out at 43c this morning when i first turned it on!!
    Didnt take it long to go to 47c at idle!!
    Ive checked the block 3 different times and the contact seems fine!!
    Any ideas?
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,955 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Is this with your processor at stock?
     
  20. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    No its overclocked...E8600 @ 4.25ghz 1.38 volts 47c @ idle and 65c @ load!!
    I got that with my air cooler!!
     
  21. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    is the block flat?
     
  22. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    i would go through the list
    1 make sure its on securely
    2 make sure its flat like phanbuey said you may need to lap it
     
    Asylum says thanks.
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Most intel ihs are not flat,you can either try lapping the cpu,or use the fat ring that came with the apogee gt to bow th block.I just lapped my E6750 as the base on the gt is pretty flat.
     
    Asylum says thanks.
  24. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I changed flow direction and moved some fans around!!
    Changed to pure water and got about 3c difference!!
    The block looks to be flat but ill get a blade from work and check it and the CPU tomarrow!!
    Looks like to me the rads not doing a good job!!
     
  25. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    You can tell if its the rad by touching the rad during load. Rads that are overloaded will be hot to the touch... that MCR 220 is one of the better rads around, and I almost guarantee that it is not the rad.

    That same rad cooled my OC'd Q6600 at 1.52V to below 55C.

    If you're BOOTING at 43C, then you have a contact issue. You should be booting at mid-20C.

    Buy water wetter and add it to the loop. - it cools even better than pure water.
     
    Asylum says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page