1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What card to buy for X2 3800+ rig

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by AlienIsGOD, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    So i finally got around to getting my old X2 3800+ up and running. Now that it is working I want better gfx than a Geforce 6150LE. I plan to buy a PSU but atm its a generic 350w. I'm looking to spend not too much cash ( yea i know budget cards :p ) and am wondering what Nvidia has to offer performance wise compared to a HD 6450. I would also like something that doesnt need a aux power connector as the craptacular PSU prolly couldn't handle it.

    Advice and comments appreciated :D

    I think i will prolly get the PSU first, but still need advice on a card suitable for a system of this age.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    224 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Belgium
    maybe a green edition geforce 9800GT, I doubt anything higher won't be limited by CPU.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    im sure theres a Fermi based card better than that. i was thinking of maybe a GT 430.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    224 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Belgium
    oh, you meant a recent card, sorry, but it would fit your extra system's age :D
     
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,891 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I wouldn't buy anything higher than a GT 440 for the machine. I own a couple 939 machines and they are not that fast, except for my Opteron 170 @ 3GHz to a lesser extent. You should really consider 2GB of RAM as well.

    EDIT: REALLY IMPORTANT! Any NVIDIA card with built-in HDMI audio will conflict with the onboard sound on nForce4 based chipsets! This includes GTX 200/400 cards. I don't know about AMD cards and this chipset, but they may work fine.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I'd go with a modern gpu that doesn't require additional power tbh.

    Which OS are you going to use, and what motherboard chipset is it? Do you have memory?
     
  8. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    the specs are in my system specs. Im typing from the X2 as we speak in my bedroom.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    owned both X2 4000+ and X2 5200+ (oc'd to 3.2Ghz). The 8600GT range will do well, upped to 9600GT and it becomes CPU limited in some games.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    7750?

    I own a X2 3800+ and at the moment it is on lend with a friend for the last 6months and its running a 3850 in it and she seems very pleased with it so far.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  11. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    i just looked at the HDD and XP is on a 9GB partition followed by a 120 partition and the rest unallocted space :eek: just finished making a bootable XP usb as the DVD drive is stuck and i dont have any other atm. At least i still have the pc's drivers on another usb :D

    I may go newegg.ca for a 6650/70 thats about as high as i want to spend cash on the GFX.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Going with a modern card i'd look at upgrading the OS as well. :toast: Id install windows 7 x86 version. I usually run Win 7 x64 on everything, but not to long a go I upgraded an older system on par with your x2 3800 with 2gb ram from XP pro to Win7 x86 and it felt a lot faster. :toast: Now any old systems with 4gb and below I always suggest Windows 7 x86 over x64.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Unfortunately the 939 skt CPUs are just not capable of running the latest games.
    I tried running Skyrim and regardless of settings it had low FPS.

    I ran an HD 4850 for a long time with it though and it was doing well even in DiRT 3 at 1440 x 900.
    So something around that range without breaking the budget will be fine.
     
  14. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    It doesnt have Win 7 drivers available, only XP and Vista. I did reformat tho and now am going to wait til i have money and get some DDR ram (unless anyone wants to donate some craptacular DDR 1GB sticks).

    Im looking at http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...eForce GT 440 (Fermi)&Order=PRICE&Pagesize=20 (GT 430) and http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...eForce GT 430 (Fermi)&Order=PRICE&Pagesize=20 (GT 440) for Nvidia cards and http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...eId=1&name=AMD&Order=PRICE&Pagesize=20&Page=1 for AMD cards.

    How about the ECS 440 w/DDR 5?

    Regarding Vista, would those drivers work in Win 7?
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    not overly looking to play games on this rig, maybe some Steam/Valve games. This PC is going to be mostly for music/movies and after upgraded WGC (i've been away too long, damn hot Canadian summers).
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,078 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    http://support.acer.com/product/default.aspx?modelId=308

    Vista and 7 Driver model are not considerably different. Also You can always go to the chips maker websites for drivers if you get the model numbers from the board itself.

    Examples:

    Chipset- Nvidia

    Audio- Realtek

    lan

    SATA- Nvidia

    USB
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I've had Win 7 x86 running on an nForce4 ASUS A8N SLi Deluxe motherboard with an 8600GT and it ran quite well as in no performance issues.
    Couldn't run XP 32 bit SP3 due to some motherboard incompatibility.
    I didn't install any drivers and win 7 device manager didn't ask for any besides the GPU drivers.

    EDIT:-
    The system was also running an Athlon 3000+ stock speed with 2X1GB ADATA RAM.
    Since you are going to be running a X2 3800+ 939, you should not need the AMD DCO if running Win 7 as it was made obsolete with Vista as you probably already know.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  18. Cruise51

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    89 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    HD 7750 is the best new card you could run on that power supply.
     
  19. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    ^ this. And that card beats a 430 hands down... and only needs 55w of power for the card.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  20. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Radeon HD 7750 is the answer.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,078 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    SP3 broke alot of systems for XP. It was a ploy to force users to upgrade to Vista...
     
  22. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    socket 940/AM2 actually.

    Also XP SP 3 runs just fine on this system. I dont really want a 7750 as the cpu will be a bottleneck and as I mentioned above I dont intend to game on this much, if at all. Not really interested in spending $100+ on a gfx card for a 6+ year old system.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    From my experience from 939 x2 rigs, the last card I ran was a 4770 and it was bottlenecked, card before that was a 8800gt. It played some games alright but not on max anything. If you are looking just for 2d and desktop graphics and want to go nvidia with your power supply, I would say a GT 610/620, due to your power limits. But I prefer the HD 6670 for your situation.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  24. Black Mesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    135 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Canada
    Then just buy whatever is cheapest LOL. There are lots of 30 to $40 cards that will fit the bill choose one.
     
  25. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    i cant find any CPU support for this board, as in specific cpus that can be used. wondering if a 1st gen Phenom would work in it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page