1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

what CPU do you have vote! part 2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AthlonX2, Jul 29, 2010.

?

What CPU do you have?

  1. Intel Core 2 Duo

    18.5%
  2. Intel Core 2 Quad

    15.8%
  3. Intel Core i3

    2.8%
  4. Intel Core i5

    15.4%
  5. Intel Core i7

    27.1%
  6. Intel "Gulftown"

    2.3%
  7. AMD Phenom II X6

    10.5%
  8. AMD Phenom II X4

    16.9%
  9. AMD Phenom II X3

    2.4%
  10. AMD Phenom II X2

    3.5%
  11. AMD Phenom X4

    3.5%
  12. AMD Phenom X3

    0.9%
  13. AMD Athlon II X4

    2.5%
  14. AMD Athlon II X3

    2.1%
  15. AMD Athlon II X2

    6.5%
  16. AMD Sempron

    1.8%
  17. AMD Sempron X2

    0.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    yup that ^ or an bulldozer will be the next upgrade for me
     
  2. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I've owned, in chronological order -

    Pentium D 805
    X2 6000 Windsor
    X3 8750 BE
    Q6600 GO
    X6 1090T

    and now I'm on my favourite by a freakin country mile, an i5 - 2500K :) I love it but I need a decent graphics card, an SSD, 4G more of RAM and a nice 24" monitor to really finish my build the way I want it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  3. Blue-Tiger

    Blue-Tiger New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Houten, the Netherlands
    Bulldozer will be my next aswell in about 2 years :)
     
  4. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    yes well I'll need to be putting some money away for a wee while before I can upgrade again Bulldozer will require an new mobo and ram neither of which is cheap here in NZ bastard retailers think just because we are at the arse end of the world that they can gouge our wallets for new tech the BASTARDS :nutkick: and etailers are just as bad aswell they get an e:nutkick:
     
  5. Blue-Tiger

    Blue-Tiger New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Houten, the Netherlands
    In that case I'd suggest anger management ;)

    /joking :laugh:
     
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    im still battering my q6600 to death not killed it yet despite 3.6 taking 1.58 volts:eek: to stay stable, im actually thinkin of holding out 2 years myself lol to see how bulldozers go plus i could prob do a better gfx card next just really like the 5870(at 1050 `1300 its got some grunt)

    expecting dx11 crysis 2 to ring the death bell:shadedshu
     
    More than 25k PPD
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    i7 930
    i7 2600 (soon to be 2600k due to stupid store mess up)
    and
    Core 2 Quad Q6600
     
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    LOL :toast: yeah I could proly do with some anger management :p but it really is just shocking for new tech here even old tech doesn't drop in price as fast other places in the world I've seen
     
  9. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,434 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    since I voted I have upgraded my Q6600 to a AMD 1100T x6:rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Undead46

    Undead46 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    257 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA, Texas
    Looks like a lot of poor people who can't afford an i7 and get Phenom II knock-offs instead.
    >=P

    And don't feed me your crap about how good Phenom II's are: Lowest i7 versus best Phenom II

    But no harsh feelings, I just can't wait until Bulldozer is released and see how much of a let down it'll be.

    ;)
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  11. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Intel Pentium 233
    AMD K62 450
    AMD slot A 700
    AMD Athlon xp 1600+
    AMD Athlon xp 2100+
    AMD Athlon xp 2500+
    AMD Athlon 64 3400+
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+
    Intel Q9450
    Intel Pentium e6300(Wolfdale)
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE
    Intel Xeon w3570
    Intel i7 2600k

    :)
     
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,181 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,667
    thats 8 threads vs 4 dont turn this thread into a flame war:pimp:
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  13. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    To be fair, when a lot of us bought the Phenom II platforms, they were the best bang for the buck.
    Some of us have other interests besides computing, we need to spread our $$$ around.

    With that being said, current i3/i5 processors make the Phenom line a lot less attractive.
    The AMD platform still has some pluses, like backwards compatibility, no need for nforce for multi-card setups. (Which introduces huge latency, especially if you run a raid card with SSDs.) So you can still put a decent reg together for pretty cheap, providing you are upgrading and already own parts of the platform.

    The drawback is weaker CPUs. Doesn't mean much when it comes to gaming, but if you actually work with your computer for a living, the i7 is easily worth the extra $$$.
     
  14. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    baaah wtf m8.. every time i upgrade my cpu it seems like im still years behind everyone else?!
     
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    LOL join the club:toast: am running an PII x4 940 the only way I'll be getting rid of that will be new mobo, ram, cpu for amd bulldozer;) but thats a fare way off for me as I'm gettin along just fine with what I have for now:(
     
  16. temacn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ahh, just saw this post and I'm having Core i5 750, works at 2.66GHz frequency, so far so good!
     
  17. groothof22

    groothof22 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Leeuwarden,The Netherlands
    intel quad-core q9400 2.66ghz i leep behind to but is still good ;)
     
  18. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    It does when you factor in multi card scaling and games which rely on a faster CPU for optimal framerates like GTA IV, WiC etc. That said, if you are running a Phenom II with a dated graphic card the biggest and most beneficial thing would be to upgrade the graphics card first.
     
  19. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Well, most users only have a single GPU, so that's not really a big deal.
    Plus the people who are going to go for broke on a massive multi-gpu solution will usually pair it with an i7 anyway.

    But for the everyday user, the AM2/2+, and AM3 platform get the job done and they 'feel' just as fast. Only in poorly coded, cpu-bound games do you really see a noticible improvement with a newer Intel rig.

    Keep in mind, Intel didn't really have anything in the price range of the Deneb series for a long time.
    If they had pumped out i5 and i3 earlier, a lot of people here would be happily using an i7-750 or an i3.

    Heck, if I was gonna upgrade today I would go for a nice sandy bridge. But I'm holding off to see what Bulldozer is like first.
     
  20. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK

    Sure, but the fact remains that they still maintain higher framerates, even with single cards at high resolutions. With new cards coming out, the gap is actually becoming alot more evident as they simply cannot keep up. Hell, I went from a 1090T@4Ghz to an i5 2500k at stock and I can tell you now, the i5 2500k "feels" tons faster :pimp:
     
  21. gusther New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    uruguay
    voted athlon x 2 245
     
  22. nikolasjones9 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you for information about this cap means central processing unit. cap is a general hardware disk.voted. c2d to x6.
    _____________
    Nikolas.Payroll Hyderabad
     
  23. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Not in the list: P4 skt478 Northwood 2.26gigs FSB533
     
  24. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,765 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    Pentium M 1.7 Ghz. :rockout:
     
  25. freebie

    freebie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Walsall
    Core 2 Quad Q6600 Overclocked and running stable at 3.2ghz, can't decide whether to upgrade to Sandy Bridge though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page