1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is the best OS and Software gaming setup

Discussion in 'Games' started by BloodTotal, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,466 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Maximum physical memory (RAM)...
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition: 128 GiB
    Windows Vista x64 Home Basic: 8 GiB
    Windows Vista x64 Home Premium: 16 GiB
    Windows Vista x64 Business: 128 GiB
    Windows Vista x64 Enterprise: 128 GiB
    Windows Vista x64 Ultimate: 128 GiB
    Jaffakeik says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,585 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i only seen motherboard with 64gb RAm onboard.and they are servermotherboards.simple user dont need them for home use.and i think theres no point of buying Vista now better wait for windows 7 in next year.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  3. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Good luck finding drivers for anything for XP 64.
  4. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I just came from Xp x64 and it rocks! I had no problems finding drivers for anything (save for the webcam in my monitor). I think performance was slightly better with that OS than with Vista x64 most of the time, although I do think Vista does a better job with multi GPUs (crossfire is what I tested). I'm using Server2008 (mostly Vista SP1) that I got free just because I wanted to move to DX10. Had DX10 been on XP x64, I never would've left.
  5. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,585 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    why should i try to find drivers for that.i dont even use it.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    your 32bit key will work with x64 bit windows ;)


    just gotta get the disk
    stefanels says thanks.
  7. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    I didn't know that... thanks a lot :)
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    your welcome
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Just borrow a 64bit disc, and use your 32bit key. Works like a charm. that's how I have x64 Vista on this machine. I'm using the 32bit OEM key from my dead laptop.

    EDIT: Solaris beat me to it. Guess I should've paid attention to the fact that there was another page, huh? lol.
  10. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,585 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    doesnt OEM is bound to hardware where is first installed and cant be installed on different hardware after that?
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    I have had 0 issue's with drivers with XP X64 unlike Vista.
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Technically. But just like XP, when it doesn't activate, they give you a number to call to get an activation number. You usually get it with no problems, but it's not a guaranty.
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Q6600 or E8400/E8500
    4gb 800 ddr2
    260 gtx/260GTX+/4870 512/4870 1GB
    Vista x64
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Im using home premium x64 with my oem home premium x86 key,activated. :)
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Readily available OS: Vista Ultimate x64-

    But only until MS releases Windows 7 in 64 bit. Ohhh Windows 7 is so beautiful. Even if it is 32bit 4GB ram would work really REALLY well with it.
  16. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    For me.

    (Vista 32bit + SP1 + 4Gb) * (Nod 32 + Perfect disk 8) = Very Satisfied!
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That would be a pretty grand setup. Very very nice.
  18. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    +1 for this great software setup (wish I had 4gb of RAM...)

    But change Vista 32 for Vista 64 if you want lots of stability. Or even Windows 7 if you like trying betas.
  19. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Is windows x64 bit that good? I'm playing guitar hero III, COD5, Fallout 3, GRID and (soon) Left 4 dead..

    Will 32bit apps have no problem running on x64? Last question, with my system specs, is it worth the hassle to reinstall windows?

    Thanks alot (i'll be away for a few days, so may reply late)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page