1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's the best Ram on the Market?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fraya713, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Ok, I'm running a E6600 Duo @ 2.4 ghz, I'm using Windows XP 32 bit. I am playing around with overclocking and I realized how much ram affects how much you can overclock. My question is, what is the best ram for this scenario?

    thanks a lot guys :D
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,642 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,589
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What is your goal with your processor? There's plenty of OC memory...some recommend trancend aXeRam...some recommend Corsair Dominators...

    You should fill out your system specs in UserCP, check the box to allow showing system specs...definately helps to know what MB you have...what settings in BIOS you can change and such. The more info you provide the better answer you can get, and faster too.

    :toast:
    fraya713 says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I say Adata's, GeIL's and Esoteria's only due to budget/prices, good performance for your money. But for higher end, probly tracers.
    fraya713 says thanks.
  4. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    cool thanks guys, ill fill that stuff out now
  5. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ok, all filled out :)
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The best of the best - Transcend AxeRam DDR2-1200. (Their 800/1000mhz kits also overclock extremely well if you're on a budget)
    fraya713 says thanks.
  7. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Estoria is a model that Geil makes...also Transcend AxeRAM all the way!
    fraya713 says thanks.
  8. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    cool, sounds good, so Transcend AxeRam DDR2-1200 will work on my computer and everything? sounds like a good choice of ram

    also, if i overclock with this ram, i was wondering what the max i can overclock would be
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @mrw
    I know this but I singled them out on purpose.
  10. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I searched on newegg and people are saying they run hot, is there a fix to this, thats.. relatively cheap?
  11. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    They can push to 1300mhz+, but 1200 is pretty much fast enough! lol

    They use hand-picked micron D9GMH chips, so they overclock like no tomorow. Obviously there won't be a lot of headroom for overclocking on the 1200's, but you're guaranteed that they will run at that speed, which is perty impressive!
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I hit 1400MHz with my 1200MHz aXeRam on 2.34V.

    [​IMG]
  13. Duxx Guest

    Jeezzee-ussssss. Is there any significant gain by overclocking them that high? Or at least noticeable difference besides benchies?
  14. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I don't know where i read this, but is it true u can apply thermal paste onto ram? i thought it was a little weird myself, but where would u put it? and how much?

    also, i'm not sure about overclcoking memory, but with xp 32 bit, how far can i push the memory? i am figuring i can only get to 3.6 ghz overclocked with my system
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    No noticeable difference in daily use. I didn't run them that way but for a few minutes. No benching done. I saw no need, 1200 is fast enough. lol. Although I have benched them at 1290 when I had my Q6600, and that was worth a few points.
  16. Duxx Guest

    lol, i was about to say... but none the less, that is quite impressive :) ill have to see what my tracers can do when i get back to school, hit 1100 ez, but havent pushed em yet :)
  17. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  19. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    537 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    I really like my Ballistix, they arent the "best ram" but a good value. I've had my PC2-6400 set running at 1066MHz 4-4-4-12 2.2v Not bad for the 60 bucks I paid for them ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page