1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which Vista is best?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by hat, May 20, 2008.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    64x ultimate with 4 gb of ram will run like a wonder

    i like the grpahical features of vista and the small things that make it an easier experience

    64x lets you use 64x apps aswell thats a plus and running some games in 64x is better

    64x has a lot of drivers so there usually isnt a problem still you can use old 32 bit apps
    hat says thanks.
  2. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    question: how do the ATI 64bit drivers stack up to their 32bit counterparts [vista only]?
  3. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    I've been wanting to try Windows Vista x64 for a while to be honest. I haven't had a chance to download it from work yet. I'll see if I can download it from the MVLS website tomorrow.
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    the ATi Vista 64x drivers i dunno because i have an Nvidia card, generaly tho id go with some of the modded drivers like the omega drivers although old or the more p to date tweakforce xg drivers.

    The nvidia drivers on 64x are better sometimes but generally its hit and miss for each system so its good to try a few drivers.
  5. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    If you've never used ATi drivers on Vista x64 then how can you say that nVIDIA drivers are better sometimes? :p

    ATi's drivers in general have been solid for years for Windows. I cannot say the same for Linux. :D
  6. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Go for the x64! Ultimate vs. Premium you won't see much of a difference, get whatever's cheapest. If you can, go for the 2x2GB! I wish I did...
    hat says thanks.
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,512
    Location:
    Florida
    no you dont you can run 1T mad easy im on stock voltages.

    [​IMG]
    hat says thanks.
  8. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    As everyone else has said, I would get 64 bit. It requires drivers to be signed, so no shifty unsigned drivers can be installed. (Well they can be, but a lot of hastle each time you boot up).

    Also Home Premium or Ultimate are great. I have Vista Ultimate x64, and I havent had a problem with it since its been released. :)
    hat says thanks.
  9. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    premium has some sutff for multimedia or something? i know business is lacking that stuff, but it has the encryption and some other cool things along those lines, honestly i think i prefer business to premium
  10. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    If you are going to do multimedia get non-Microsoft applications. I tried Vista Ultimate out and it's Windows Media Center is quite pathetic.
    mrhuggles says thanks.
  11. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Update, I finally got Windows Vista Business x64 from the MVLS at work. Putting it on my file server now.

    Edit- Cannot believe how great it is! My server runs an Opteron 165 with 2GB DDR400. It seems to be somewhat quicker? Maybe I'm just wanting it to be. I am glad though as being a file server (with UAC and Avast 4.8) it will really help to be safer from viruses now.

    The only thing that didn't work was a Chaintech AV-512 sound card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829120102

    Uses a C-Media CMI8738 chipset and was used to replace onboard audio on my wife's computer before I got her a laptop. I stuck it in the server just to keep it in use. Worked in 32-bit Vista but there are no 64-bit drivers anywhere, even at C-Media's website. Oh well, didn't need it anyway.

    Now I'm going to put it on my main rig and bump up to 8GB RAM too. I run lots of VMs and need as much physical memory as I can get.

    Edit2- Installed on my main rig as well. Both systems using Windows Vista Business x64 SP1. Feels good to be 64-bit protected. Only 4GB RAM though. Time to make an upgrade. :p

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 24, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page