1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will the Athlon XP "Thorton" work in my mobo?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by 3991vhtes, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I need to know, because I was offered a Thorton 2500+ for $30
    Asus A7V-VM (Mocha) w/ latest BIOS updates. (*I didn't update it*) Uncle sold me board (from his) PC shop

    Thanks for the help
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2007
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,416 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,493
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Don't you mean a Barton 2500+?

    Because that is all that was made for Socket A in the 2500+ flavor, and they made 2 different FSB ratings of it, the 266 is rare.

    If it's a 266fsb YES it will.
     
  3. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Nope.I was thinking of a barton but then I asked the new PC Shop (Clix Pc) about the processors, and he said he could get a Barton for $49, T-Bred for $40, and Thorton for $30. I stil think he's talking about the 2500+
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    id grab a barton...i could mad help you out..i swear im like the socket A guru that and dippy...were mad crazy at it and the barton is the best core...2.3 is the highest stable i could get mine 2.5 if i dealed w/ the temps and dippy did a 2.7 suicude run on water over volted it like 1 whole volt...it was nuts
     
  5. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    :eek:
    that's a maddddd OC

    I used to have a barton 2500+ but it died on me :cry:
    and my friend took back the Duron 1200 so that system is collecting dust ATM
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    ya my old socket A rig...could keep up with some of the best rigs bealive it or not...expecially the latency compititions i was keeping up w/ the A64 guys i had 1 gig 2x 512 running dual channel and my timings?...2.5-2-2-3

    even here at tpu go ahead look at some of the old threads..;Solaris17 #1 class SktA
     
  7. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    396 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    No, thorton was a "cut down" Barton. It should work fine.
     
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Yea I miss my socket A. Even now a good NF2 mobo I think can cut some power still, volt mod the board if needed, then try cranking 250FSB with 2x1GB sticks and a good XP-M.
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida

    you kno ket in all honesty i thought youd be the first to doubt me glad you dont....socket A was a damn good base.
     
  11. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Socket A for life! :)
     
  12. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Never ;) We all know 754 and 939 was never a significant improvement in performance like was made out, and in all honesty I think its only now with the event of matured dual core CPUs a genuine performance increase is being seen.
     
  13. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    I had my 2800+ XP-M Barton up to 250x10 24/7 (1.75v) back then. Reached 2772Mhz only able to bios screen, never gets to windows but that's 1.850v under air and I guess the mobo holding me back. But anyway, I'd recommend a barton. ;)
     
  14. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    thanks for the help guys! I know the barton is the best, but it's also the most expensive. I Just ordered a Thorton 2400+ for $30. There's a bonus too....if it's incompatible, I'll get a refund :)
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    go for it..well be here. ahhh im so ghlad theirs a user on socket A brings back memories.
     
  16. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    o mad mad sweet.....does your mobo have good oc options?
     
  18. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    no.
    it's an HP board
     
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    ewwww...you need to fix that.
     
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    why don't u just ask them at the computer shop if it will work or not?HP board.that sucks flash the BIOS with one that isn't locked so you can OC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    396 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I'm still on socket A as well! Only really started overclocking it reecently too. Found out my CPU was a good stepping, I just needed a deecent cooler and a tweaked bios to get it to overclock nicely. Currently running 2.37GHz @ 1.7V but there's potential to go further I just haven't tried yet. Before I got the bios it was unstable even at 2.3GHz. I quite fancy an XP-M or a 3300 sempron as they should overclock further than my chip plus have the extra cache, but as already discussed these chips still fetch a premium as they are top-of-the-line as far as these boards go.

    I agree about the performace too, the higher clock ones still get the job done. Mine has lasted twice as long as any system I've built preceeding it. (4 years old now) It's gone through a few video cards in that time but the board and chip are still as they were. It won't be long till I upgrade now though. Probably when I get HL2 EP2 and I find I can't run it maxed out. :eek:

    btw if youre looking for a good board the Asus A7N8x-E Deluxe is probably the best one to get. I've got the cut down single channel version but still overclocks well.
     
  22. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    They told me if it didn't work, I would get a refund.
     
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,445 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    ya i had the 2800+ Barton core then i eventually pin modded it to the mobile so i got the multi the thing screamed they aint 64bit but damn those chips got the job done..
     
  24. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    What was the FSB? 400?
     
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,029 (5.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,817
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Started my first overclocking adventures on a Socket A Barton 3000+........loved them also, got mine to 2.3Gig with some modded cooling and a very good NF2 board.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page