1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Installation Problem

Discussion in 'General Software' started by TheMailMan78, May 8, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,831
    Every time I try and do a clean install I get this message after I format the drive.

    "Setup was unable to create a new system partition or locate an existing system partition."

    The only way I can get Windows7 to install is if I first install Vista and once it reboots to "install features" I pop the windows7 disk in. Start bios and delete the HD as a start up device. Is this release client lacking bootmrg or something?

    I looked online and have yet to have any luck with a clear answer.
     
  2. iandh Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    195 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Unplug any HDD's, thumb drives, card readers (including your printer if it has one) other than the drive you are installing Win7 on... I got this same error with Vista as well and unplugging my backup 160Gb (sata) and my USB printer with card reader fixed it. I've also had Vista install error when a thumb drive was plugged in. Same with Win7 it appears, I wish they had fixed it.

    Unplugged all that stuff and it installed no probs.
     
  3. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,220 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    944
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Did you load driver for you HD if your running RAID? Make sure the disk is in the whole time or else it won't let you install. I kept getting an error that wouldn't let me install Win 7 but I just need the CD in to have it format.
     
  4. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I created a new partion on Windows Vista with Disk Management (NTFS), insert the Windows 7 DVD, and run the setup inside Windows Vista.

    I'm running RAID 0 with 3 hdds, and I did NOT need to install any kind of drivers (vga, chipset, raids, ect...).

    I think you should use your Windows XP cd or Vista to create a partition first.
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,855 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    If you have any SATA burners I'd recommend disconnecting it til your O/S Install is complete. I don't know why but with build 7068 and 7100 I always had the issue you are experiencing or a mysterious 100MB partition showing up. Once I disconnect the SATA burner then install works without issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I installed my Windows 7 RC with my SATA dvd burner drive....
     
  7. iandh Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    195 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Some sata devices can cause this error. In my case it is a hard drive, but I also used to own a SATA Lite-on DVD that would cause the same exact error, unless I unhooked it and installed with a spare IDE burner.

    In my most recent case, it is my 160Gb WD backup drive, which is also sata.

    TBH though, having almost any type of storage device besides your primary OS drive connected can cause this error. I've gotten it too many times to count on multiple systems. I build about 8-10 PC's a month.
     
  8. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Do you have IDE and Sata drives mixed in same system?
     
  9. iandh Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    195 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Not usually. The IDE I keep as a backup drive because I've gotten more than one sata DVD burner that wouldn't install windows.

    It's a somewhat known issue... some sata DVD's won't install windows at all, while they work completely fine otherwise once the OS is installed. You can probably find a few ref's to it seraching around the net.

    I've even tried the same drive that won't install windows on different mobos/chipsets and it still wouldn't work. Quite strange, and definitely irritating.


    edit: I must say though, this is why I only buy samsung DVD drives now, one of the drives I had a problem with was Lite-on (no big surprise I suppose) and the other was an LG.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page