1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX HD 4830....Overclocking, Temps and 3DMark, etc

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TheScavenger, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I use RivaTuner to overclock and adjust the fan settings. I haven't tried gaming at 800/1075. I have been running all my games at 750/1050.
     
  2. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Great OC :toast:
    800CORE :eek:
     
  4. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I broke 12k in 3DMark06!
     
  5. inf3rno

    inf3rno

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Congrats on breaking 12k barrier. at 750 or 802.
     
  6. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    802

    I must admit that I am a little proud of my cheapy setup :rockout:
     
  7. inf3rno

    inf3rno

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Pakistan
    You should be feeling proud. If I am not wrong you are getting the performance nearly 4870....:toast:
     
  8. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I am getting there...but if only I had that GDDR5 memory bandwidth :cry:
     
  9. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    To put things in perspective...

    My Q9450 @ 2.66GHz combined with a stock MSI 4830 @ 575/900 scored a 11,517 in 3DMark06. Passed that up with my AMD dual core!
     
  10. Flash

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I can tell you what doesn't overclock well. My HIS 4870. Stock is 750/900 and I can't run Crysis at 800/1000. It will freeze in the first 5-10 minutes, in any point of intensive combat, and also give few micro shutters until then. It stays frozen for about 2-3 seconds then VPU kicks in, and the game either CTD or sometimes keeps going.
     
  11. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice to see some 4830 appriciations, truely an amazing card and it seems no one even puts it on the radar, such a good deal!
     
  12. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I honestly think I am the first and only person to talk about it so far. If you google "XFX HD 4830" the first page of results contains 5 of the threads I have started at various message forums :laugh:

    WHY AREN'T PEOPLE SNATCHING THESE UP?
     
  13. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    You can't compare it to the HD4870 in regards to overclocking because the core has two SIMDs disabled (160 shaders and 8 texture units less).

    I would expect the HD4830 to overclock quite well as it has lower heat output and power requirements...
     
  14. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Im getting two for crossfire!!!!! :D
     
  15. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Why first of all people are more confident buying 4850 and second ATI let manufacturers build with own PCB design and all are building those shitty short versions that don`t overclock well.
    In my country I was looking for reference or close to reference 4830 and all I could find was those short versions and I ordered one and it died after 3 min of gaming. And I was tired of switching VGAs and went with ASUS 4850 it is not remarcable sample as yours but it does 750+ and 1075 mem witch is fine. Little dissapointed in mem OC but 1075 it is no to bad I guess.
     
  16. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Theres one person :rockout:
     
    crtecha says thanks.
  17. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Hey could you perfhaps post some furmark and maybe lightsmark scores?
     
  18. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I bet that 4830 at 750 would beat 4850 short PCB version bios locked 680MHz core. Those extra MHz on core are enough to compensate for less shaders. I`m talking about Sapphire versions and there are others that cant break 700 core both 4830 and 4850.
     
  19. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I'll jump on it.

    I wanted to get some GPGPU going but for some reason Sandra SP1 isn't working with Windows 7.
     
  20. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    LightsMark-

    368.4 FPS @ 575/900

    432.4 FPS @ 802/1074
     
    crtecha says thanks.
  21. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan

    Hey thanks!!

    I cant wait to get mine although I need to upgrade my cpu also.
     
  22. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I can't wait to get my 940BE either!
     
  23. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    so these cards clock higher than the 4850's
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Make that 2. ;)
     
  25. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    The reason a 4830 clocks well is because AMD factory underclocks it from the 4850 speeds (but less shaders) . LOL, that's why u can easily achieve speeds like 800MHZ
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page