1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX HD 4830....Overclocking, Temps and 3DMark, etc

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TheScavenger, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wow, does that effect all (80% or greater) 4830's then?
     
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Most of the time.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  3. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Why am I not on XFX's payroll?
     
  4. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    If that were true then the majority of HD4850's would also reach 800MHz, which isn't true.

    ATI doesn't exactly underclock anything, but rather the chips used for HD4830s are just lower binned chips from HD4850/70s that don't operate at the necessary speeds or with all the core hardware enabled.

    As I said before, the HD4830 overclocks so well because the core is running with two SIMDs disabled. Less shaders and texture units to worry about means lower heat output and lower power requirements. Add to that, most current HD4830's use PCBs and power circuitry from HD4850 cards, which usually enhances the card's overclockability.

    Revised versions of HD4830s will come with more compact PCBs with reduced/less complex power circuitry, to save costs. This will also most likely decrease the overclocks you can achieve.

    Anyways......... No point in mincing words. The HD4830 is a great card for the price, and with it's current excellent overclockability makes it tough to beat.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,337 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    And when they sell so many 4830's that they have no more lower binned GPU's they need to use higher binned ones. A majority of 4830's seem to hit over 700mhz. Like 725mhz, which seems to be the same wall that 4850's that arent volt modded have.

    Match the volts of a 4870 on a 4830 and 4850 and they will clock higher, can't expect them to do it with less volts.

    A perfect example of this is remember the old 9800SE's that had pipeline locks on it, and it sold very well some people managed to get ones that could be unlocked into 9800pro's.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  6. dna1x

    dna1x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Guam
    I wonder what is underneath that black XFX cover... Is it a copper dual heatpipe similar to the IceQ4?
     
  7. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I can find out.

    I think it is just one massive aluminum heatsink.
     
  8. trust2112

    trust2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johnson City, TN USA
    I'm digging my Asus 4830. I dumped the Asus OEM drivers, and downloaded the new 9.2 CCC drivers and POW! I was posting insane numers. Went up almost 1000 points in 3DMark Vantage. I set a P7200+, but won't post because the 9.2 drivers aren't certified yet, what a bummer. but with gpu-z, it shows running at 700-1200 Mhz. Played hours of Crysis, then backed that up with a little Quake 4, then burned 4 movies. It's stable and holding under stress. Not one single complaint, seeing as it's running like a 4850 or better for 60 bucks cheaper.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2009
  9. chesirecat1701 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hmm.. I can't wait to get my xFire 4830's (;
     
  10. ownage

    ownage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I got a MSI HD4830 coming this way. Non-Reference PCB, beefy VRM with 4 phases :D
    Will be spanked using watercooling and lots of voltage. 1000mhz here i come?
     
  11. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I've had an MSI 4830, too. It kicked but too but wasn't as fast as the XFX.
     
  12. ownage

    ownage New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    You mean with max gpu clock? or memory?
     
  13. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I was able to get the MSI up to 710/1075 which is still pretty peppy.
     
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    My Asus was decent too, could have clocked it higher but the heatsink/fan wasn't that great. Absolutely no fan control sucked. :(

    Throw a pic of that EMachine tower Scavenger! I want to see some prebuilt goodness.
     
  15. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO

    HAHA I am moving my system into my new eMachines case tonight. If I get it done I'll take a quick photo. :laugh:
     
    mlee49 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page