1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Hey peet, lets hold a breath holding contest to see who's macho and who's sissy:laugh:
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That looks awesome tski, really wish you could WC those :eek:
     
    t_ski says thanks.
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Check the sexy hardware closeup pic clubhouse for hints at what's in store.
     
    Lionheart, mlee49, random and 2 others say thanks.
  4. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,280 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,046
    Get 'er done!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Very impressive :D How do you find the 6970's?? :) What size screens are you running to use them on?

    I know that feeling, I need about £300 for my water blocks for my cards, but I have got ZERO chance of that happening any time soon!! :(

    Very nice PSU too :) I have two myself :D I might have to have one taken out though and upgraded to a bigger model cos when I was doing my Linx testing @ 4.5Ghz, I was drawing 620w with just a single 8800GT in there, so I'm a little worried I wont have enough spare juice!!
     
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Get rid of one or two of those drive cages to let the front fan breathe! You'd be amazed how much room there is hehe, I've removed both of mine and am ready to support future meter long cards :roll:.

    Graphites just keep getting sexier & is that a GTX 580 DCU II? :p ...


    My sister asked me to build a beastly gaming desktop for her, I will post up pics of that soon hehe..
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,280 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,046
    I like them very well. This is my first time using Tri-Fire, but I have had dual 5970's, 4870's, 3870's, 2900's, etc. I have been using them with two 24" and one 26" 1920 x 1200 res screens, and had really good framerates in NFS Shift and Dirt 2. One card can easily handle a couple of thes screens, and three cards is probablyoverkill, but I like it :D

    As for the PSU, you should take a look at the Extreme Power Supply Calculator:

    http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

    They have a Pro version that helps calculate amps, to.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Excuse picture quality, light is really odd in my room so I have to use high iso XD

    New speakers!

    [​IMG]

    (That's 22" monitor by the way for size reference)
     
  10. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Overkill is always good :D Having more is great as you can take things away, if you dont have it you cant add it in!! :)

    Well thats not good!!
    I tried the wattage calculator and it reckons I'll need a 1210w PSU with just two 580's in... How on earth can I run 4 in one system??!! :lol:

    I used to have 2 5970's and across 8064 x 1600, one card would run ok with Dirt 2, Left for Dead 2 etc, but when I used two, it would slow it down?! I dont know how that works but I think the drivers were a bit immature to be honest...
     
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,280 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,046
    Probably limited by the ram
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Not as clean or classy as some but still fun to game on. My boys think so too :D



    [​IMG]
     
    Igorius, [H]@RD5TUFF and phill say thanks.
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,059 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,647
    [​IMG]
    Challenge accepted!
     
  14. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Oh it was :( Medium settings in Dirt 2 and it was hitting about 50 to 60FPS which was just enough :) Bloody brillaint though across all 3 screens :D

    What game is that?? I cant quite make it out!!
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  15. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Dirt 3
     
    phill says thanks.
  16. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    That's next to buy on my hit list :D Can't seem to find it anywhere though but Steam at the moment??
     
  17. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Try ebay
     
  18. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I could but I would wonder if I could get a brand new copy... I'll have a looksie :)
     
  19. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah brand new sealed and cheap
     
  20. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I've noticed there's a few there selling codes from Steam that they have bundled with ATI cards... Find that a bit cheeky really...

    I've found one for £16, but that came from India.. I'm half wondering if it's worth just waiting for something to turn up in retail shops :(
     
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,280 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,046
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Yes, sir it is :)
     
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeah....its going in there somehow :wtf:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
    grunt_408 and DanishDevil say thanks.
  25. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Just dont use a hammer to try and fit it in!! :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (3 members and 3 guests)

GreiverBlade, Devil-Walker, Toothless

Share This Page