1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  2. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    That is beast phill!
    Nice phobya goodies don!
     
    (FIH) The Don and phill say thanks.
  3. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Thanks mate :D Its not really finished as I wanted to get the GPU's under water as there's a spare quad Thermochill PA rad on the other side of the case ready for it and I have a pump and rad sat here but I've never changed a GPU cooler for a water block and I didn't fancy borking 3 £450 cards!! :lol: :rolleyes:

    But that said, I'm considering selling one (maybe) and then getting three newer cards when I can afford it but I think I'll just use two for the moment and see how they get on over the 8064 x 1600 res :D I think three would make it look like childs play but I've yet to test it :D I might have to in a bit but I'd need to install a few games to try...

    Plus I think I need a new PSU as I'm running out of SATA connectors and whilst testing it peaked at nearly 1100w from the wall and I've still got 8 more hard drives to plug in and a pump but the 580's where at stock so I think if I even tried overclocking the power usage would be even higher!! Plus I think they got a little warm too for my liking so I'm having to consider water blocks anyways, I don't want fried cards!! :) With a baby coming I just haven't got enough spare cash for the PC!! :( (Baby and girl friend much more important anyways!! :D :rockout: :toast:)
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Freaking awesome setup Phill, where do you live? I'm coming around lol :)
     
    phill says thanks.
  5. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Thanks mate, I'm in Bridgwater :D

    I got two rigs :D Feel free to pop over :) Oh and 4 30" screens now :lol: :toast: :D Oh and I'll soon have a fridge in the room as well ready to go with beers a plenty in it :D Also got some of my retro consoles as well :D

    I'm just wondering what the heck to do about GPU power for the EVGA 759 rig if I choose to keep the 580's in the EVGA 762 rig.... Any thoughts????

    Erm I suppose I could do :) Not on for very long periods of time tho :( I use for fold for the world grid, I used to have a team of 20+ people but I gave it up when I only had access to laptops... :(
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2012
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i think the rad miiiiiiight be a tad too big for a wc'ed shuttle lulz, getting a dual rad instead.

    @Phill, any chance you could use them for some folding action?
     
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    .....Goes on googlemaps to see distance from Northamptonshire to Bridgewater :)

    I need to finally sort out folding on my rig, I'm moving soon so will get it started once we are settled in.
     
    phill says thanks.
  8. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I will be moving at some point I hope... I'll be living around the Stoke area as my girl friend is having our first baby in September and I hope I can find work up there!! I don't want to leave my job because of the pay and stupid amount of time off because I need to pay my mortgage and try and get another one for getting a house with my girl friend when we are ready to do so!!

    I'm sooooooo excited :D I just hope we can get a house networked cos its soooooo much nicer than having to use wireless imo!!
     
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,813 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,139
    Hey congrat's on the baby :toast: Can't wait to see the Danger Den crib you're gonna build for him/her :laugh:
     
    phill says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Many thanks Norton :D I'm scared stiff but so excited the excitement takes over!! I just hope the tests come back ok from her tests tomorrow :)

    I've already got her two boys (12 and 8) socket A rigs with upgrades lined out for SB rigs with possible 560Ti's or even a 7950 possibly!! :D With all the hardware laying about this baby's first words will be something like PSU or overclocking or water cooling!! :lol: :toast:
    I've also got her brother a AMD 64 rig that's got the same upgrade plans!! :D

    It'll be gaming online for everyone at this rate!! :D
     
    Norton says thanks.
  11. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    193 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Some new cables installed

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Both cpu and gpu will be watercooled in the next week. :)
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ^ Looks great. :toast:
     
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeeeeeaaaap :toast::toast:
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  14. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    482 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    i luv my raven!!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    You two both have the newer RV02 than me and they both look really good
    [​IMG]
     
    phill, Cold Storm, erocker and 3 others say thanks.
  16. AnomalouS

    AnomalouS

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    350 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
  17. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    They look like extensions to me if you look at the bottom of the PSU the cables are a different mesh all together
     
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So Jelly right now
     
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Matching his and hers:


    [​IMG]



    And updated the loop with a thick 140mm rad:


    [​IMG]

    Tried getting some high temps but just couldn't do it while installing 2 games and downloading another. :/

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i think the rad is perfect, the looks are not bad too;)
     
  21. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    193 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    How come you added another rad just for the cpu?, i'm pretty sure it wont make even 1 degree difference.. are you going to cool the gpu's as well?.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  22. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    If your talking to me Khemist, it actually made about 10ºC difference. Idle temps are now in the 20's where as before they were in the 30's.

    I have yet to stress test the load temps, but suffice it to say I'll bet a Bunsen burner they will be better.

    What say you now Al?
     
  23. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    193 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    I thought since the 360 isn't near being saturated by just cooling the cpu then adding extra would give next to zero performance increase.

    Did you check your load temps using burn test or similar before?.
     
  24. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Havn't tested load yet, but yes I test the same way every time. Prime95 blended stress.
     
  25. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,930 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page