• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

10mbps fiber optic dsl or 20mbps cable

Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#1
I just switched from 20mbps cable to 10 fiber optic, and i hear fiber optic is a lot faster, is this true?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
860 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#2
fiber maybe in the upload but thats about it
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#3
fiber maybe in the upload but thats about it
well I mainly download and play games is it good for that? they also tell me its more reliable, just wanting to see if I made the right choice to switch
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#4
Fiber has higher bandwidth possibilities but going from a 20meg line to a 10 fiber line is still a downgrade. Fiber in the metro areas about 30-40mins from where I live offer 50-100meg lines.

Latencies and whatnot for games is probably a wash, and if you download you just lost half your speed. Bad move in the short term, but if they start offering more speed later it might work out down the road.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#5
Fiber has higher bandwidth possibilities but going from a 20meg line to a 10 fiber line is still a downgrade. Fiber in the metro areas about 30-40mins from where I live offer 50-100meg lines.

Latencies and whatnot for games is probably a wash, and if you download you just lost half your speed. Bad move in the short term, but if they start offering more speed later it might work out down the road.
well its only me here so im the only one using the internet. now I feel like a retard....awesome


you sure it was actually a bad move? eh
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#6
Is the bill cheaper?

What I don't get is why there is some supposed hierarchy for internet tech. I mean a 20meg line is a 20meg line whether its DSL2, FIOS, or Cable- right? I know 3G, 4G (WIMAX), and Sat have latency issues and are considered bad, but when it comes down to wires running into your house bandwidth>*

Also, the way you describe the service is that it is Fiber to the area/neighborhood then they run DSL lines from the terminal to your house. If thats the case your speed might be limited by the distance to the terminal. Maybe someone more familiar with Fiber to the Node setups can clarify if that is a bottle neck for future speed upgrades.

A 10meg line is still fast if you ask me though :D
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#7
Is the bill cheaper?

What I don't get is why there is some supposed hierarchy for internet tech. I mean a 20meg line is a 20meg line whether its DSL2, FIOS, or Cable- right? I know 3G, 4G (WIMAX), and Sat have latency issues and are considered bad, but when it comes down to wires running into your house bandwidth>*

Also, the way you describe the service is that it is Fiber to the area/neighborhood then they run DSL lines from the terminal to your house. If thats the case your speed might be limited by the distance to the terminal. Maybe someone more familiar with Fiber to the Node setups can clarify if that is a bottle neck for future speed upgrades.

A 10meg line is still fast if you ask me though :D
yeah they told me it was probably going to be faster than my 20meg line and it was cheaper, so far I've been saving quite a lot
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#8
If you are saving a decent amount like that then I say you're a winner.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#9
If you are saving a decent amount like that then I say you're a winner.
I just want performance with it as well, even if Im saving money I still want it to be at least almost as fast as the 20mbps line...i know im greedy but what the hell
 

Nickzy

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Denmark
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Motherboard MSI 890GXM-G65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Kingston HyperX 4gb 1333Mhz CL7
Video Card(s) Saphire 6870
Storage Kingston V+ 64Gb SSD, Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 1TB, Samsung F1 7200RPM 750GB
Display(s) Samsung "23 P2370 1920x1080
Case Fractal Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
I just want performance with it as well, even if Im saving money I still want it to be at least almost as fast as the 20mbps line...i know im greedy but what the hell
Well, supposedly you have a 10/10 line now, as we're talking about fiber, right?

It should be better than youre 20 meg cable connection as you would now also be able to upload alot faster(BONUS!), not to forget the savings.

Its a fine upgrade if you ask me :D Wish i had fiber here, as i upload big files everyday, but were still on the shitty cobberlines :cry: so im gonna have to stay with my 30/3 for now.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#11
Not to be Mr. Negative but can you check your modem and see if its 10/10? If its Fiber->DSL then its likely it isn't but check and see.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#12
Not to be Mr. Negative but can you check your modem and see if its 10/10? If its Fiber->DSL then its likely it isn't but check and see.
how do I check for that?
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#13
go run speedtest.net
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#14
T

twilyth

Guest
#15
What I don't get is why there is some supposed hierarchy for internet tech. I mean a 20meg line is a 20meg line whether its DSL2, FIOS, or Cable- right? I know 3G, 4G (WIMAX), and Sat have latency issues and are considered bad, but when it comes down to wires running into your house bandwidth>*
Cable companies drop wires from a local hub/switch/whatever so the more people who are on the switch at any given time, the slower your dl speeds will be. My cable connection goes anywhere from 2mbs to the low teens depending on the time of day. They "guarantee" 15mbs, but I don't see that very often. Of course there is some degradation due to my LAN. I don't know why since I'm usually the only one online but I know I get better speeds if I'm hooked directly to the modem.

edit - you don't have the problem with DSL because you're going directly into the switching office on your own line. The thing about their fixing the problem sounds bogus though - especially if you've never seen the guaranteed 10mbs. I would bust their chops about that.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#16
^ I have heard about that slowdown before, esp when cable was an emerging broadband tech and the bandwidth it could supply was equal to DSL in many areas. Strangely enough when I had Comcast Cable back in 2005/2006 I was paying for a 7mb line and never got anything less, and even now at a relatives house Comcast's 12mb plan has yet to experience any slow down either.

I don't know if my experience is rare or if its just a matter of a ton more people sharing the bandwidth in Jersey then in California. I figure with upgrades and a move to DOCSIS 3.0 network congestion was no longer as big an issue as it was in the past. 2mb on a 15mb line sounds crappy :(
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#17
20mbs to 10mbs is obviously a downgrade if you were getting the supposed 20mbs. all so depends on what your upload speeds are\were too.

Like im on 16mbs \ 2mbs and with me being a gamer i would trade the 16mbs for 8mbs to have the upload speeds equal to the download speeds any day. Although if you plan to run dedi server or 2 you better check with your ISP. Like Comcast their agreement is that you will not run dedi a dedi server(s).

If you just watch movies online like hulu \ nexflix the higher download speeds will help out and of course when you download games of Steam or D2D or any other legal source.

Cable depends on area to and how many people are on it in your area.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,588 (1.04/day)
Likes
536
Location
California
#18
Fiber optic > Cables/DSL in term of latency.

So for gaming it's better.

Best fiber optic in the US is probably Fios. Their optic network is 100% optic while AT&T U-Verse is hybrid.

EDIT: FYI, I'm using U-Verse 12Mbps, and my download speed is always at max.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#19
If it's 10Mb/10Mb that's great, but unless you upload a lot, slower upload speeds are usually sufficient for most people. I'm on cable and get 30Mb/3Mb and although 3Mb up is a bit slow for uploading large HD video to YouTube, it's sufficient for everything else I do though I would trade it for something like 15/15. The only benefit of a slower speed is that it's usually cheaper.

I don't think you understand the speeds though, 10Mb is not as fast as 20Mb and never will be, they're outright lying to you saying that their 10Mb is faster than the other 20Mb. Unless for some reason the cable was always less than 10Mb, which I doubt.

Take what they say to you with a pinch of salt, of course they're going to say they're better. They're internet service providers, don't believe everything they say. My ISP are a bunch of scam artists and are always bragging about their excellent, better, cheaper services and I've had constant trouble with them from their poor services, terrible customer care and constant over charges on non-existent services.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,588 (1.04/day)
Likes
536
Location
California
#20
If it's 10Mb/10Mb that's great, but unless you upload a lot, slower upload speeds are usually sufficient for most people. I'm on cable and get 30Mb/3Mb and although 3Mb up is a bit slow for uploading large HD video to YouTube, it's sufficient for everything else I do though I would trade it for something like 15/15. The only benefit of a slower speed is that it's usually cheaper.

I don't think you understand the speeds though, 10Mb is not as fast as 20Mb and never will be, they're outright lying to you saying that their 10Mb is faster than the other 20Mb.

Take what they say to you with a pinch of salt, of course they're going to say they're better. My ISP are a bunch of scam artists and are always bragging about their excellent, better, cheaper services and I've had constant trouble with them from their poor services, terrible customer care and constant over charges on non-existent services.
Only services provide for business/schools have such high upload speed.

They don't want you to host a server at home, lol.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#21
Don't forget DOCSIS 3.0 I think in this case it depends on your cable provider
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#22
Only services provide for business/schools have such high upload speed.

They don't want you to host a server at home, lol.
Ok, 15Mb is pretty high for upload, but 10Mb would be nice. 3Mb is just tiny compared to the 30Mb I get down. It's been ok so far, but it's always nice to have that extra speed. I don't expect my upload to go anywhere anytime soon, they market their cable as fiber and are basically scam artists. There isn't really any competition for them so my choice is extremely limited.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#23
Fiber Optic has a higher theoretical speed and also it has more chance of giving you a better real speed. Companies always say UP TO SUCH AND SUCH A SPEED which is just the theoretical max you can receive. Cable is already better than normal phone lines i think.

In answer its probably not as good.
The only way it would be good is if for some reason cable only gave a lower real speed than you would get with the fibre optic; for example if your only getting 8meg with the 20meg cable then fibre optic gives you 8meg on a 10meg line its great you saved cash for the same thing.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
Fiber is capable of higher speeds than Cable. However, the fact that you only got a 10Mbps package is a huge tip off that your fiber will not be faster. Your cable might be 20Mbps download and only 3Mbps upload, and the fiber might be 10Mbps download and 10Mbps upload, but really the faster upload will not help your unless you are constantly uploading huge files. Overall, you will get slower downloads and slower page loads, which is probably what is important to you.

Only services provide for business/schools have such high upload speed.

They don't want you to host a server at home, lol.
A lot of home services provide that fast of an upload. They don't want you hosting a server, that is in the terms of use, but the fast uploads help with doing things such as sending emails with large attachments which I do a lot when I'm sending graphics to clients(after my graphic artist creates them).


:cool:

And that isn't even that fastest package offered to me.:toast:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#25
most cable companies no longer have the slow downs during peek time, they have fixed it a while back now. If your provider offers a business account then you can bet that they also no longer have the slow down issues..cable will however choke when they are having issues and they reroute bandwidth. Going from a 20MBit line to a 10 MBit line in my book would be an absolute down grade unless your Ping time is now absolutely phenomenal and your upload is equal to your download even then its questionable.
 
Last edited: