• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

140 Rad not enough for 6990 ?

Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#1
Hi guys, i need second opinion here..

I have combine gaming and a folding rig, with HD 6990, it have been running for few years with reference cooling, it's hot, normal gaming load will reach Temp 85C, with folding load it reach 100C. So i already have EK 6990 water block for few month before i have time to install it last night, but i only have EK 140 Rad. the water cooling will only for the GPU. i use 1 Xigmatek 140 fan to pull out the air. no more room for push fan because small space in casing. from my previous experience building several custom watercooling PC the 140 Rad are quite good so at first i think it will be enough to cool 6990.

after preliminary load test the idle temp is low, only around 40C but 5 minutes full load it will reach over 90C and the screen goes blank, with reference cooler sometimes it reach 103C depending on room temp but never cause blank screen. do i need bigger radiator? or something i miss?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
after preliminary load test the idle temp is low, only around 40C but 5 minutes full load it will reach over 90C and the screen goes blank,
Those are the temps with the waterblock and 140 rad? If so, then it would seem you need more rad real estate and/or a better static pressure fan. What pump are you using for this loop?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#3
currently i use EK DCP 4.0 pump, i have MCP355 but i think it may be overkill for this setup. yes, that is the temp with the WB and 140 Rad.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
currently i use EK DCP 4.0 pump, i have MCP355 but i think it may be overkill for this setup. yes, that is the temp with the WB and 140 Rad.
Nothing is overkill when it comes to watercooling. I'd recommend a 240 rad at least for a dual GPU card, with 2 proper static pressure fans on a high FPI rad. That and try out the MCP on the loop as well. I'm assuming you have the inlet and outlet the right way around everywhere, and you've thermal pasted the block (it sounds silly, but I have to ask).
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,822
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#5
You really ought to have (as RCoon says) a 240. Best practice is a rad for each component. A 6990 is technically 2 gpu's so 2 rads (240 or 280) would be far better than a single 140. Still your temps sound way too high even for an ineffective water loop. In fact, if you only have one fan pulling air through - that's no good. You want a fan blowing external air through the rad, not pulling. If you can't arrange the case or loop in a proper fashion, I'd abandon water - it's not worth it for temps that high.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#6
Nothing is overkill when it comes to watercooling. I'd recommend a 240 rad at least for a dual GPU card, with 2 proper static pressure fans on a high FPI rad. That and try out the MCP on the loop as well. I'm assuming you have the inlet and outlet the right way around everywhere, and you've thermal pasted the block (it sounds silly, but I have to ask).
yeah..thermal paste are good, the rad body and fitting are all hot, it mean there's heat transfer between GPU, WB and the radiator, but it's far too hot than any normal watercooling setup i tried before.

thanks for the recommendation. i think i will try to adjust the fan pressure first by experimenting with various fan, in a few days i will try 240 rad, one of my friend broke his 240 rad by using wrong size bolt and i'm still waiting for that to return from local radiator repair shop.

You really ought to have (as RCoon says) a 240. Best practice is a rad for each component. A 6990 is technically 2 gpu's so 2 rads (240 or 280) would be far better than a single 140. Still your temps sound way too high even for an ineffective water loop. In fact, if you only have one fan pulling air through - that's no good. You want a fan blowing external air through the rad, not pulling. If you can't arrange the case or loop in a proper fashion, I'd abandon water - it's not worth it for temps that high.
i agree..it way too high, maybe change the cases to a bigger one for more fan setup flexibility.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
the rad body and fitting are all hot
Definitely sounds like the heat is being moved correctly, but it isn't being dissipated fast enough outside the case. More rad area, more fans.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,688 (2.78/day)
Likes
2,106
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
Well I would honestly assume a 140mm radiator would be enough for one HD 6990. I cooled two of those with a 360mm rad and a 140mm along with my overclocked processor and the temps stayed below 60. That being said I had some very thick rads so maybe depending on the thickness of your radiator it may not be enough. As stated above its probably better to move up to a bigger radiator (240mm+) and try again because if the radiator itself is getting very hot then the heat transfer is working fine your just not cooling it enough.

Though I still stand by saying its shocked me to hear thats not enough, but I never experimented with it like that so maybe for a full cover waterblock cooling that dual gpu card is not enough.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,960
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#9
moar rad
moar pump
moar water
les temps
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Poison Ivy
Processor 3770K @ 4.4GHz w/ 1.26V
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6
Cooling Rasa RS240 + Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite @ 1800MHz 8-9-8-24 w/ 1.5V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 770 2GB SC w/ ACX
Storage 256GB 840 Pro (OS) + 2TB Barracuda (Games)
Display(s) U2412M
Case Corsair White 600T
Audio Device(s) FiiO E7 DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Win 7 64-bit
#10
Well I would honestly assume a 140mm radiator would be enough for one HD 6990. I cooled two of those with a 360mm rad and a 140mm along with my overclocked processor and the temps stayed below 60. That being said I had some very thick rads so maybe depending on the thickness of your radiator it may not be enough. As stated above its probably better to move up to a bigger radiator (240mm+) and try again because if the radiator itself is getting very hot then the heat transfer is working fine your just not cooling it enough.

Though I still stand by saying its shocked me to hear thats not enough, but I never experimented with it like that so maybe for a full cover waterblock cooling that dual gpu card is not enough.
General rule of thumb is a rad (120mm/140mm) per component. You had the suggested minimum and then some.

OP, the 69XX series runs pretty warm. You're going to want another radiator in that loop for good temps on the 6990. Another 140mm should do the trick or even a 240mm/280mm and then you have room to add the CPU in later! ;)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#11
Idk.. Shutdown after five minutes doesn't seem to be related to the radiator... I mean it can definitely happen but it shouldn't be happening in five minutes. Double check that your block is properly seated and that you're getting decent flow out of your pump. Five minutes seems like what would happen without a pump.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Poison Ivy
Processor 3770K @ 4.4GHz w/ 1.26V
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6
Cooling Rasa RS240 + Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite @ 1800MHz 8-9-8-24 w/ 1.5V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 770 2GB SC w/ ACX
Storage 256GB 840 Pro (OS) + 2TB Barracuda (Games)
Display(s) U2412M
Case Corsair White 600T
Audio Device(s) FiiO E7 DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Win 7 64-bit
#12
Idk.. Shutdown after five minutes doesn't seem to be related to the radiator... I mean it can definitely happen but it shouldn't be happening in five minutes. Double check that your block is properly seated and that you're getting decent flow out of your pump. Five minutes seems like what would happen without a pump.
But if he's got 450W of power being dumped into a 140mm rad, isn't the system is going to heat up and reach its temperature equilibrium pretty quickly thus causing the shutdown? The rad can only dissipate so much heat from the system and I feel like at any given point the 6990 will be dumping a larger amount of heat into the system.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#13
Get one of those new BlackIce Nemesis 240 radiators. Or another 240 radiator but make sure its a thicker one (double thick) about 60mm. Also better fans would help, more static pressure, etc.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#14
But if he's got 450W of power being dumped into a 140mm rad, isn't the system is going to heat up and reach its temperature equilibrium pretty quickly thus causing the shutdown? The rad can only dissipate so much heat from the system and I feel like at any given point the 6990 will be dumping a larger amount of heat into the system.
He's not cooling the entire system. 5 minutes is still way too fast.. Either way, a better radiator is in order, but flow and mounting need to be checked as well.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,960
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#15
at this stage I am wondering if the card is just plain cooked from running at 100C sustained
I would be checking the thermal pads and ensuring that the VRM's are in contact with the block
else its possible that due to a combination of high load and thermal stress that the card is warped and not making proper contact with the block
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Poison Ivy
Processor 3770K @ 4.4GHz w/ 1.26V
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6
Cooling Rasa RS240 + Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite @ 1800MHz 8-9-8-24 w/ 1.5V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 770 2GB SC w/ ACX
Storage 256GB 840 Pro (OS) + 2TB Barracuda (Games)
Display(s) U2412M
Case Corsair White 600T
Audio Device(s) FiiO E7 DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Win 7 64-bit
#16
He's not cooling the entire system. 5 minutes is still way too fast.. Either way, a better radiator is in order, but flow and mounting need to be checked as well.
He's cooling the 6990 though, which is a 450W TDP card. At idle, the 140mm rad can handle the 0% load, but at 100% load it wouldn't surprise me if the loop heated up that quick.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#17
He's cooling the 6990 though, which is a 450W TDP card. At idle, the 140mm rad can handle the 0% load, but at 100% load it wouldn't surprise me if the loop heated up that quick.
It would definitely surprise me. Unless the flow was poor or the block not mounted correctly. 6990 will eat up about 340W at most.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Poison Ivy
Processor 3770K @ 4.4GHz w/ 1.26V
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6
Cooling Rasa RS240 + Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite @ 1800MHz 8-9-8-24 w/ 1.5V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 770 2GB SC w/ ACX
Storage 256GB 840 Pro (OS) + 2TB Barracuda (Games)
Display(s) U2412M
Case Corsair White 600T
Audio Device(s) FiiO E7 DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Win 7 64-bit
#18
It would definitely surprise me. Unless the flow was poor or the block not mounted correctly. 6990 will eat up about 340W at most.
Well that would depend on which BIOS he has that little dip switch thing set to. If it's the default one, then you're right, it's the low clocks and only 350W being pumped into the loop. OP, I would definitely check the flow of your loop and even re-set the block. Then you should add an extra rad.

OP, if you have the dip switch set to the extreme performance BIOS then I would disable it until you get another radiator for your loop. That BIOS adds 100W to the cards TDP which puts a lot more heat into your loop. Definitely still look into re-seating the block as well.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#19
Ok..Thanks for the discussion guys, i have re check and re install the watercooling including new thermal paste and pads for the memory, nothing change, with normal gaming load it will reach 85C and with folding/crunching/burn it will reach 90- 100C within 5-10 minutes and few minutes later the monitor goes blank and need rebooting. I change the fan with faster Corsair 140 Fan it and it can stay under 90C for about 20 minutes then it will reach over 90C and then the same, adding another Corsair fan in push-pull config will make it last a little over 30 minutes, it seem run normally (under 90C temp) if i lower the the clock but it will mean lower performance. will test it with 240 Rad this weekend.

Maybe this 6990 is hotter then other but it always like that since i bought it BNIB and run full load without problem for 24/7.
240 Rad test will be needed for comparison, or maybe the 6990 are just degrading to a point where it produce more heat output for same performance, is it possible?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#20
You know, something other than the GPU itself could be overheating. Is there TIM on the DRAM and VRM modules? If there isn't any compound on them the memory or VRMs could be be overheating. I would make sure the block is getting mounted properly and is in contact with all components that need to be cooled as well as making sure that you didn't use too much compound on the GPU.

How warm is the rad getting when the GPU is loaded? warm or hot? If it's only kind of warm, water probably isn't flowing fast enough through the loop for one reason or another. Also if you keep the GPU loaded near 100*C, that is hot enough to boil water, if there isn't enough flow the water in the loop could begin to vaporize and over time those pockets of air in the loop can reduce water flow even more.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
216 (0.05/day)
Likes
119
Location
Mataram-NTB, Indonesia
System Name Folding System
Processor Intel 4770K Haswell
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper
Cooling EK Clean CSQ WB + EK CoolStream RAD XTX 480 + EK GTX780Ti Full WB + Swiftech D5 Pump
Memory 4 x 4 GB DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws F3 17000 GBZL | 4 x 4GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2 x Inno3D GTX 780Ti 3GB SLI
Storage 2x Patriot Pyro 240GB Raid 0 | 2x WD Green 3TB Raid 0 | 4x Seagate 4TB Raid 0
Display(s) Viewsonic LED VA1938wa 19" / 2 x Dell U2312HM 23" IPS Panel
Case Corsair 900D + 1 Aerocool 14cm Fan, 3 CM Fan 12cm, 4 Scythe Slim Fan 12cm, 4 Aerocool Shark 12cm
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Phoebus + Hippo cri head amp + Sennheiser HD 598 + Razer Megalodon
Power Supply Seasonic P1000 Platinum
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T 5
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Mech Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#21
You know, something other than the GPU itself could be overheating. Is there TIM on the DRAM and VRM modules? If there isn't any compound on them the memory or VRMs could be be overheating. I would make sure the block is getting mounted properly and is in contact with all components that need to be cooled as well as making sure that you didn't use too much compound on the GPU.

How warm is the rad getting when the GPU is loaded? warm or hot? If it's only kind of warm, water probably isn't flowing fast enough through the loop for one reason or another. Also if you keep the GPU loaded near 100*C, that is hot enough to boil water, if there isn't enough flow the water in the loop could begin to vaporize and over time those pockets of air in the loop can reduce water flow even more.
I think the VRM may contribute to the overall heat, because the area around it also hot when it touch by hand, With EK 6990 GPU Block we have to install the thermal pads on the VRM and DRAM before we mounted the block. after second installation attempt i can be sure that the block are mounted properly.

When loaded the rad is not warm, it's quite hot, hot enough to cause water vapor to accumulate in the upper part of reservoir when i fill it 2/3 or near full.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
960 (0.69/day)
Likes
998
Location
Alabama, USA
System Name The cruncher/gamer
Processor i5 4670k@4.3Ghz at too many volts honestly
Motherboard MSI Z87-G41 PCmate
Cooling NZXT Respire T40
Memory G.SKILL 2x8GB 1866Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage SanDisk Ultra 2 480GB SSD |-| Horrible OEM 7200RPM 1.5TB
Display(s) ASUS VS228 1080p |-| Samsung 940BF 1280x1024
Case NZXT Source 210 White
Power Supply Corsair CXm 750w
Mouse Corsair SABRE RGB
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RGB
Software GAMES
Benchmark Scores eh
#22
Shouldn't it be near as full as possible? Also, that rad should be able to dissipate that card to keep it under 90c. The 295x2 does only have the GPU's under water, but keeps them under 70c-ish even then. I suspect either the fan not being enough or super high ambients. (Or a clogged rad. Is it dusty?) A 140 rad should cool that.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#23
I think the VRM may contribute to the overall heat, because the area around it also hot when it touch by hand, With EK 6990 GPU Block we have to install the thermal pads on the VRM and DRAM before we mounted the block. after second installation attempt i can be sure that the block are mounted properly.

When loaded the rad is not warm, it's quite hot, hot enough to cause water vapor to accumulate in the upper part of reservoir when i fill it 2/3 or near full.
The rad is hot? The fan you're using might not be powerful enough to move air through the rad if heat seems to be getting to the rad just fine. Moar airflow! Gotta dump that heat faster.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,960
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#24
what are your ambient room temps ?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#25
Get bigger fans...
Delta or Nidec
 
Last edited: