1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

18 core xeon to a dual rig- 36 cores- 100% more performance- for what uses?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by er557, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    This is my current cpu, right on top of the chart

    https://cpugrade.com/a/i/articles/tpu-cpuz-180-mt.png

    I can add another such cpu and a dual socket board, for around 1000$,

    would you do it for a workstation for many years, gaming, multitasking, vm's, large file operations?

    what about power consumption?
     
    dylricho and AleksandarK say thanks.
  2. AleksandarK

    AleksandarK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hell yes, only if you have the money to do it.

    MORE POWA!!!
     
    er557 says thanks.
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,002 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,225
    Location:
    London,UK
    Use that beast to join the TPU folding/crunching team
     
    Bow, MIRTAZAPINE, stinger608 and 6 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I must add that those xeons will be modded/unlocked with the exploit to boost turbo for a 40% performance increase for both, which one of them already is, score of cinebench r15 went from 2000 in stock to 2600 after the special efi driver. So I am looking at about 5300 cinebench after the upgrade.
    Also, the rig will be running 2 x 1080 gtx superclocked SLI with a HB bridge. From what I can gather, the intended asus z10pe-d8 ws is a tweakable board and has plenty of pcie slots for the job.

    some reasons to pull the trigger: you only live once, E-peen, annihilate i9-7980xe and threadripper, MOAR is better, mining?
    some reasons against: idle power consumption, possible complications if cpus are not the exact same stepping, a lot larger case, heat in the room
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 23, 2017
    AleksandarK says thanks.
  5. AleksandarK

    AleksandarK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hmmm, thuf choice!!!
     
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,550 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,972
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    actually im thinking about the bill, for feeding that machine every month
     
    er557 says thanks.
  7. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Well, it depends how much of the time it will be under load, many times it is just idle and then the cpus and gpus are in c state pulling together about 100+ watt. haven't noticed odd power bills as of yet with current rig, and I have another pc under the desk which is on half the time, the 40" 4k monitor is also 24/7.
     
    AleksandarK says thanks.
  8. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Do it, do it, do it!
     
    er557 says thanks.
  9. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  10. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,852 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,586
    Location:
    Vinewood
    er557 and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    you can view in one of your other browsers without adblock, or just click the blocker icon and disable for that site only, though weird they insist on such nonsense....
     
  12. ikeke

    ikeke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Estonia
    I did this last year, has metric ton of problems in Windows (non-server versions c*ap themselves when <64threads available), scheduler was unable to assign tasks correctly - jumped between physical CPUs etc. This includes BOINC and similar.

    Was fun with Ubuntu, though. :)

    http://valid.x86.fr/86t9wz
    http://valid.x86.fr/uuhsyn
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017
    er557 says thanks.
  13. ikeke

    ikeke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Estonia
    Just adding that for VMs it's a beast. You can add GPUs (from say both AMD and Nvidia) and based on preference fire up either green or red gaming system, while at the same time running bunch of VMs on the same host.

    I sold it only since was made a good offer on it, got my investment back and was waiting for team AMD to bring something interesting to play with.

    IIRC 100% 72t CPU load (on previously mentioned 2S E5-2686v3 system) using Seasonic 660 Platinum PSU it was ~340W from the wall.
     
    er557 says thanks.
  14. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Location:
    Finland
    Watching cat videos?
     
    er557 says thanks.
  15. ikeke

    ikeke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Estonia
    BOINC @WCG, Win10Pro x64
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,002 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,225
    Location:
    London,UK
    [​IMG]
     
    er557 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  18. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    UPDATE on topic:

    after browsing thru the z10pe-d8 ws owner's thread somewhere, it was full of incompatibilities, no POST, GPU brands issues, hardware errors in event logs, finicky stability, slow performance, though some users seem to get it right; although a recent bios is available, this is a bit scary plunge to take only to find tons of crazy server bios settings and a possible issue with boot or stability. My current rig is rock stable, no hardware events or otherwise. It seems like a dangerous adventure just for POWWAH;
    The windows issues are also un-called for. The flip-side being that windows and device drivers are much more mature now.
    Seems like a lot of hit or miss with this board. I'm not sure if to replace a trusty HONDA with a sketchy FERRARI
     
  19. mistme

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    33 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Then look at other dual 2011-3 boards, Supermicro has the most options, ATX/E-ATX with some custom rack form factors mixed in, Asrock/Gigabyte/Intel also have options similar to Asus.
    z10pe-d8 ws was among the first wave of 2011-3 boards released, I'm not surprised feedback that you found sounds similar to the feedback on the first Asus X99-A/Deluxe boards,
    though with less consumer oriented boards there may be less consumer feedback to find. Also, don't know if you need any board cooperation for cpu modding or running modded cpus.
    Anyway, I hope you can find a board and make this monster work.
     
  20. ikeke

    ikeke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Estonia
    I can vouch for Supermicro, X10DAL-i with Coolermaster 412S coolers on E5v3's was bulletproof. Build and forget. And it's petite - considering the amount of cores in it.

    [​IMG]

    ASUS, well, would suggest to steer away from. I've debugged a Z10PE-D16 WS build with dual E5-2687W v3 and TitanX'es that was all sorts of "fun".
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017
    stinger608 and jaggerwild say thanks.
  21. jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    No picture's all words, Smmh!
     
  22. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Apparently, Asrock rack's ep2c612 ws board will do just fine, is stable, easy to configure, has same features as z10pe-d8 and easily modded bios with ubu tool to remove microcode. I will be headed in that direction and probably will use Silverstone's SST-TJ07B-W temjin case:

    http://www.asrockrack.com/general/productdetail.asp?Model=EP2C612 WS#Specifications
    https://www.wellcom.co.il/ssttj07bw?manufacturer_id=10051
    ebay will provide the second e5-2686 v3 QS

    One question I have, is will the vrm coolers suffice, will the arctic freezers i30 co fit there both, and most importantly will my gskill udimm ddr4 kits work fine(48gb) or do I need to splurge for ECC rdimms; the cpus do support regular ddr4, as I understand this should be the question
     
  23. ikeke

    ikeke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Estonia
    E5v3/v4's take any ram you can throw at them, Intel gimps memory controllers on everything else but Xeons get to keep everything. I ran mine on 8x8gb Kingston kit.

    You do need to fill all memory slots though, the CPUs will starve badly if all 4ch per socket aren't filled.

    I did think of this Asrockrack board, but decided for Supermicro due to ATX formfactor.
     
    er557 says thanks.
  24. er557

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    94 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    ALMOST completed build, typing from it now, specs updated :) , efi bios driver injected, turbo unlocked.
     
  25. yotano211

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    910 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    Can we get pictures
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)