• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2.5gbe Network speeds all over the place ...

Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
424 (0.09/day)
System Name All the Cores ... (VMs)
Processor Ryzen9 5900x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master (Bios F36c)
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory TridentZ neo 4x 16gb 3600Mhz C16 (F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC)
Video Card(s) RTX 3070 Ti
Storage 2x Sn750 2TB
Display(s) OPTIX MPG341CQR & LG 32UD60-B
Case CASELABS M8
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA g5 750w
Mouse Corsair m65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10pro/64
Benchmark Scores N/A .. yet updating soon
So, Upgraded to 2.5gbe. for moving files from my PC to my server. (got A Netgear GS110EMX cheap on ebay)

PC hardware
Ryzen 5900x
Gigabyte Master x570
(realtek 2.5GbE onboard)
SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2tb
Win 10
RTX 3070 ti

Server hardware
i10 10900
ASUS Prime Z590M-PLUS
(realtek 2.5GbE PCIe 1x card)
WD SN750 2TB
Win10
P400

Network
Netgear GS110EMX
Cat 6a

So both Computer show the network
Link speed (Receive/Transmit): 2500/2500 (Mbps)
Switch shows the same. So all is set up right.
All Drivers & frimware are up to date.

The issues is when I copy A files the Speeds go up and down .. Ranges 280 MB/s - 70 MB/s .. However I would say and avg of 210 MB/s. So an improvement over my 1GbE. Before , when just using 1GbE my speeds were always capped at 111/MBs ... but it was solid the whole time no up/down ever. (this is for large 15gb - 50gb files)

So my thoughts are , One or Both of the NICs are thermal throttling or it A realtek issue.

Is this normal , is this yalls experience ? Will intel 2.5 nics do better ? How about USB 2.5gb Nic
(Sever dont have no room for a 10gbe card)
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,674 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
I mean an avg of 210mB/s IS 2.1Gb/s so you are well within overhead and transfer rate
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,587 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
424 (0.09/day)
System Name All the Cores ... (VMs)
Processor Ryzen9 5900x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master (Bios F36c)
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory TridentZ neo 4x 16gb 3600Mhz C16 (F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC)
Video Card(s) RTX 3070 Ti
Storage 2x Sn750 2TB
Display(s) OPTIX MPG341CQR & LG 32UD60-B
Case CASELABS M8
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA g5 750w
Mouse Corsair m65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10pro/64
Benchmark Scores N/A .. yet updating soon
So .. figured out what was going on. Had to do with Hyper V Virtual Nic. Was just bad timing when this all happen. My printers WIFI went out , had to run A Rj45 to it , but had to swap out A switch near my PC. When I did that , i changed My VM switch around , was also when I working with 2.5gbe NICs .. when I first ran them they were giving me 2.5 .. but some point I did VMnic Passthrew with them and that killed off Perfromance .. was EPIC confused.. Got another 2.5Nic and same thing kind of happen again. (Did not know making A VM nic, would cap host speed to 1gbe)... Was epic confused. Happen to grab 2x cheap 10gbe NICs on ebay. Was messing with them and noticed I would get better speeds DLing vs UPing from server. (also at this point had bought some cat 7 cables , just to for testing to skip what i put in the walls 8 years ago) ...

Anyhow .. removed VMnic .. and BAM getting the right speeds.
(BTW did not matter if VMs were on or off , just being in system not in used , capped host to 1gbe)

Moved my VMs to use Wifi passthrew for now. Need another 10gbe switch grrr
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2022
Messages
37 (0.05/day)
TLDR; Put Hyper-V virtual switch on a separate NIC from the OS.

I had the same issue with Hyper-V in Windows 2008 R2. Was using a 10gb NIC, but only got about 5gbps in one direction, 10gbps in the other. I thought my fiber transceiver was dying. I deleted the Hyper-V virtual switch, and transfer speeds went back to 10gbps both directions.

Another issue I had was VMs losing connectivity randomly. There was an issue with Broadcom NICs using older driver versions and the Hyper-V switch. I think it was drivers older than 17.xxx, before QLogic bought them out.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2022
Messages
46 (0.06/day)
Thanks for the tip about putting Hyper-V switch on another NIC from the OS. I sometimes experience dropouts on my 10GbE RJ45 NICs connected to an old 10G Netgear switch upstairs, but my SFP+ fibre NICs work fine on the new 10G Microtik switch downstairs. Of course it could be something else entirely (probably the Netgear firmware) but it's worth trying.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
13,146 (2.98/day)
Location
Concord, NH, USA
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
(Did not know making A VM nic, would cap host speed to 1gbe)
The network bridge is probably limited to 1Gbps not to mention the CPU overhead of handling that. If you want full speed from an ethernet adapter in a VM, I suggest using IOMMU/VT-d to pass thru the physical adapter to the VM. Mind you that the VM will have full control over the device when you do this and the host will not. This is usually the go-to solution to have on-metal performance in a VM.
 
Top