• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2 cards?

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#1
A place where I bought a card from might have messed up and I may be getting two 6850 cards..I was wondering if I do can I run two graphics cards? I only have one monitor...what would it do? How would it help? Is it even worth it? And do I just plug it in and go with it? Noticiable difference? Anyways this is a long shot so I'm just wondering ...my mobo is gigabyte x58 1366
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.70/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#2
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,470 (0.73/day)
Likes
613
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#3
A place where I bought a card from might have messed up and I may be getting two 6850 cards..I was wondering if I do can I run two graphics cards? I only have one monitor...what would it do? How would it help? Is it even worth it? And do I just plug it in and go with it? Noticiable difference? Anyways this is a long shot so I'm just wondering ...my mobo is gigabyte x58 1366
Yes, you can Crossfire two HD6850 on a X58 motherboard for increased performance. You plug both cards in, connect a Crossfire bridge between them, and enable Crossfire in the Catalyst Control Center.

It can be quite worth it, especially at higher resolutions. If you're running a single 1280x1024 monitor, though, the second card will be pretty much wasted.
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.70/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#4
Helloooo are we forgetting about PSUs? :p

newguy24 could be having a 400W, you never know. :p So until he fills in his system specs, we can't be 100% certain that he can run two HD6850s.
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#5
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
1,190 (0.44/day)
Likes
312
System Name Titan
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.6ghz
Motherboard AsRock 990FX Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7970 3gb
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 64mb Cache/ Western Digital 500gb
Display(s) iMac Display 2560 x 1440
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#6

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#7
If possible, get 3 monitors for an eyefinity set up. Those 2 cards would scale very well w/ 3 monitors.
Probably only getting one monitor that's why I'm seeing if its worth it.
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#8
Your full system specs would be helpful.
The real question if you are going with one monitor is what size (resolution). If it is a 30" that is running at 2560x1600 that is one thing, but if it is a 23" running at 1920x1080 that is another.
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.70/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#9
It's a HD6850 so even if it was just one 1080p monitor, the two cards will be worth it.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#10
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135528&page=3

My psu is 850 Watt n ram is 12gb ...so Idk much about crossfire ...and you said the 2nd card would be useless if I had one monitor :(

Cross fire a card? Or just an option??
not really, when you crossfire or SLI you make the performance get double and it helps especially when you use high resolution, anti alias etc
both 1st and 2nd card will run together but theres only output to the monitor, so theres no idle card

crossfire or not, i guess depends on you. crossfire needs higher wattage, needs better airflow. if you just use your rig for gaming sometimes, the most is do multimedia thing its kinda better you put single card on it, but if you gaming much, need high resolution, anti alias and so you could put crossfire or single high end card
:ohwell:
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#11

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#12
not really, when you crossfire or SLI you make the performance get double and it helps especially when you use high resolution, anti alias etc
both 1st and 2nd card will run together but theres only output to the monitor, so theres no idle card

crossfire or not, i guess depends on you. crossfire needs higher wattage, needs better airflow. if you just use your rig for gaming sometimes, the most is do multimedia thing its kinda better you put single card on it, but if you gaming much, need high resolution, anti alias and so you could put crossfire or single high end card
:ohwell:
Ok so no lol wouldn't really help thanks bud... probably wont be so lucky to get two. Thanks bud...I would be watching movies and some gaming one card should be good for that
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#13
Ok so no lol wouldn't really help thanks bud... probably wont be so lucky to get two. Thanks bud...I would be watching movies and some gaming one card should be good for that
I disagree. Well kind of ... it depends if you're paying for the card and your personal preferences. You will notice a difference with the second card - with one HD6850 you'll be able to play any game, but many of them you wont be able to push to max graphical settings. With two you should be able to destroy pretty much any game (crossfire profile scaling notwithstanding) at max settings and max res. You'll have a system that will kick ass for many years to come.
But that will come down to your personal preferences - whether you want to pay for the second card and the diminishing returns, and whether you are happy playing with reduced settings is some games. One card will do you fine, as you say, but two will kick serious ass.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#14
Ok so no lol wouldn't really help thanks bud... probably wont be so lucky to get two.
i mean, its up to your purpose :rolleyes:
if you gaming much and you use high resolution with all the effect (AA,AF etc) crossfire would help you so much to gain better gaming experience coz you know most of game today require power both - the rig and the graphic card
if you use it mainly for multimedia, i guess having crossfire wouldnt give you much difference coz single graphic card could handle it :roll: :roll:
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#15
Wow I thought having this card alone would be kick azz ...last time I spend 250$ on a card :( anyways I guess if I'm lucky and get a second card ill run it (long shot) also what is crossfire? Just a setting or is it hardware??
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#16
Wow I thought having this card alone would be kick azz ...last time I spend 250$ on a card :( anyways I guess if I'm lucky and get a second card ill run it (long shot) also what is crossfire? Just a setting or is it hardware??
Crossfire is what AMD/ATI calls it when you have two of their cards in a PC (Nvidia call it 'SLI'). Using two AMD cards will require that they are linked with a small Crossfire connector (there should be one in the box with your graphics card). This connector allows the GPUs to communicate and share the graphics load.

 

Cruc1al

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Edinburgh
Processor i7 920 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P6TSE X58
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2
Memory 3x2Gb OCZ Obsidian PC-12800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4870X2 2Gb
Storage WD Caviar Green 1tb
Display(s) Samsung 2233rz 22" 1680x1050 @ 120hz
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX (w/ Sennheiser PC350 headset)
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 850W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#17
Wow I thought having this card alone would be kick azz ...last time I spend 250$ on a card :( anyways I guess if I'm lucky and get a second card ill run it (long shot) also what is crossfire? Just a setting or is it hardware??
Don't spend $250 on 6850 .. .you can get it for $200.
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#18
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,564 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,700
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#19
what we are talking about in system specs is going to the USER CP tab at the top of the forums and hit the system spec link on the left side. This way u don't need to link a forum thread for ur specs. It makes it way easier for us to read it, instead of having to scroll thru a thread.:toast:
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#20
what we are talking about in system specs is going to the USER CP tab at the top of the forums and hit the system spec link on the left side. This way u don't need to link a forum thread for ur specs. It makes it way easier for us to read it, instead of having to scroll thru a thread.:toast:
ok thanks ill be sure to do that, once i build the system. right now i technology dont have a system yet.in process of being shipped
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#21
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#22
A place where I bought a card from might have messed up and I may be getting two 6850 cards..I was wondering if I do can I run two graphics cards? I only have one monitor...what would it do? How would it help? Is it even worth it? And do I just plug it in and go with it? Noticiable difference? Anyways this is a long shot so I'm just wondering ...my mobo is gigabyte x58 1366
They messed up? Are they sending you two cards and are you paying for both of them? If you're not, I would send one back, for honesty's sake.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
1,106 (0.31/day)
Likes
178
Location
london
System Name Staggered
Processor Intel i5 6600k (XSPC Rasa)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming K3
Cooling RX360 (3*Scythe GT1850) + RX240 (2*Scythe GT1850) + Laing D5 Vario (with EK X-Top V2)
Memory 2*8gb Team Group Dark @3000Mhz 16-16-16-36 1.25v
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1070 HerculeZ
Storage 256gb Samsung 830 + 2*1tB Samsung F3 + 2*2tB Samsung F4EG
Display(s) Flatron W3000H 2560*1600
Case Cooler Master ATCS 840 + 1*120 GT1850 (exhaust) + 1*230 Spectre Pro + Lamptron FC2 (fan controller)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#23
As a rule of thumb sli/crossfire scales by a factor of 1.7-1.8ish for two mid-end cards @1920x1200.
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#24
XFX HD-687A-ZNFC Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit DDR5 P...


so this card by its self wont be able to play games on the "best" resolution ????then why is this an expensive card? whats so good about it , if its not able to do it???will my 850 psu be enough to run two? Or shall I run one...overclock it and use 240$ for sad and blueray burner?? Lmfao

Also razaron sry but ya lost me lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#25
so this card by its self wont be able to play games on the "best" resolution ????then why is this an expensive card? whats so good about it , if its not able to do it???will my 850 psu be enough to run two? Or shall I run one...overclock it and use 240$ for sad and blueray burner?? Lmfao

Also razaron sry but ya lost me lol
This card by itself will be able to play every game out there at any resolution. It's just the 'extra-fancy' graphics effects that it wont be able to handle in a few games. Games like Crysis and Metro 2033 you wont get playable frame rates with everything cranked to the max. But don't worry, even playing those games on slightly reduced settings (and I mean slightly - it usually only takes dropping the quality on a couple of settings), the games still look gorgeous.

The card is expensive, but not that expensive. From an enthusiast point of view it is a mid to upper-mid range card, and is priced accordingly. For me it struck the balance of being able to play every game with great settings, without being really expensive. To get a graphics card that can play all games on the best settings you have to pay a lot more, for very little actual gain. Just look at W1zzard's reviews and look at the bang-for-buck graphs. The best bang-for-buck comes from the cheapest cards - but you can't play many games with those, you have to find a balance that is right for you.

What razaron was talking about with scaling, is that if Card-A can play Game-A at 100FPS, adding a second card in SLI/Crossfire will not add another 100FPS. It will most likely add another 65-85FPS - i.e. it doesn't scale perfectly.