• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2080Ti stuck on 300Mhz Core Clock under load

zeohi

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
12 (0.03/day)
I'm having issues with what I think to be my videocard. Ever since a few days ago, I'm getting incredibly low FPS in all games across the board. Some games went from 200 to 70 and some went from 100 to ~30. It's been unplayable.

The card is a 2080TI ROG STRIX, OC Edition

I fully reseated all my components. I reformatted my PC. I ran DDU and installed the latest drivers. I tried all sorts of temperature monitoring and usage checking and everything looks normal. It honestly just seems like my GPU decided to just stop trying hard.

Here is my userbench score: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/28991698
Here is my NVIDIA Inspector information:
You can see the core clock is just chilling at 300MHz which after some research is fine while idling, however it refuses to ever activate even running benchmarks, playing games, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, please.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,582 (0.45/day)
In the Nvidia control panel, set power management to prefer maximum performance. Also try a older driver.
 

zeohi

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
12 (0.03/day)
In the Nvidia control panel, set power management to prefer maximum performance.

Also try an older driver.

I tried the power management thing already to no avail. I'll try some old drivers now
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,582 (0.45/day)
See if you can borrow a power supply from anyone just to try.

Failure to engage 3D clocks sounds like power issue or dying card that needs to be RMAed.
 

zeohi

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
12 (0.03/day)
See if you can borrow a power supply from anyone just to try.

Failure to engage 3D clocks sounds like power issue or dying card that needs to be RMAed.

Unfortunately drivers didn't seem to work either. I do not have any friends with decent power supplies, nor are a lot of PC hardware stores open in my area unfortunately. That really sucks. The card is out of manufacturer warranty; it's been about 1year3months at this point.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,582 (0.45/day)
Find a way to borrow a power supply, or another PC to try the card in. Meanwhile, try to perform some "maintenance".

Uninstall all display drivers and then perform a cleanup with Display Driver Uninstaller (DDU) from safe mode.

Take the PC outside, open the case, and remove all the dust with air blower or hair dryer with a cold setting.

Remove the graphics card and blow some air in the x16 PCI express slot.

Carefully remove the heatsink from the graphics card and clean the fans with a toothbrush.

Clean the graphic cards with isopropyl alcohol and cotton swabs. Especially the GPU area and PCIe pins.

When you're done, reapply thermal paste on the GPU, remount the heatsink, plug it back in.

Download and install the latest drivers from Nvidia's website.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,229 (0.64/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Showing NV Inspector in unsupported version for Turing doesn't help much...
Download GPU-z and check Board Power/GPU Chip Power values under Sensors tab both when Idle and under Load.

(sidenote : 1000-th message :D)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,455 (0.71/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 10750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2070 super
Storage Seagate 2tb Firecuba 510 m.2, XPG SPECTRIX S40G 4tb m.2, Samsung 870 8tb ssd
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 230w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Unfortunately drivers didn't seem to work either. I do not have any friends with decent power supplies, nor are a lot of PC hardware stores open in my area unfortunately. That really sucks. The card is out of manufacturer warranty; it's been about 1year3months at this point.
I would think that most 2080ti's would have at least 2-3 years of warranty
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,582 (0.45/day)
As far as I know, Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC Edition comes with 3 year warranty.

Did you mess with the VBIOS or something?
 

zeohi

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
12 (0.03/day)
As far as I know, Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC Edition comes with 3 year warranty.

Did you mess with the VBIOS or something?

I was just mistaken about the warranty. It's still under warranty, yeah, it would just have been nice if I could have found a solution other than that since waiting weeks isn't ideal
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
1,084 (0.30/day)
Location
Walkabout Creek
System Name Halley's Comet
Processor 10900KF
Motherboard Z490 Vision D
Cooling EK CPU Hardline
Memory 2x8GB Gskill Royal
Video Card(s) 6800 XT Merc
Storage M.2 980 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Gigabyte G34WQC 34
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Asus Gladius
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
Benchmark Scores It Chops : )
Download MSI afterburner and see if you can manually change the clocks.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,229 (0.64/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Pretty sure your card's Shunt resisitor(s) or power measuring ciruitry, are out of wack.

Q1 : Could it be flashed with a special LN2 OC vBIOS (600W power is NOT normal under idle) ?
Q2 : Did anyone (to Your knowledge), ever shunt moded it ?
Depending on true answer to second question (regardless of what you think was done), your RMA may not be viewed positively.
 

zeohi

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
12 (0.03/day)
Pretty sure your card's Shunt resisitor(s) or power measuring ciruitry, are out of wack.

Q1 : Could it be flashed with a special LN2 OC vBIOS (600W power is NOT normal under idle) ?
Q2 : Did anyone (to Your knowledge), ever shunt moded it ?
Depending on true answer to second question (regardless of what you think was done), your RMA may not be viewed positively.

No, this card was always mine. I don't even know what terminology you're using to be quite honest, and it hasn't been tampered with / OCed / modified in any way since originally obtained
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,229 (0.64/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
If you can't RMA this card, you can only go to a repair shop.
But with those weird issues, they may not be able to help you (depending on how good they are and if they had experience with this).

It could be a bad solder joint under GPU, OR a damaged shunt resistor(s) or problem on PCB, etc.
Card simply throttles to safe value (300MHz), because something is wrong with it.
 

zeohi

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
12 (0.03/day)
If you can't RMA this card, you can only go to a repair shop.
But with those weird issues, they may not be able to help you (depending on how good they are and if they had experience with this).

It could be a bad solder joint under GPU, OR a damaged shunt resistor(s) or problem on PCB, etc.
Card simply throttles to safe value (300MHz), because something is wrong with it.

Do you think for sure it's the card? Could it be something to do with a faulty power supply or anything like that?
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,229 (0.64/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You can't make card draw 600W from anywhere on Idle by any normal means :

power.png

Card draws what it needs and monitors that value to make boost work, and Your card is clearly reading too much power being pulled. There are no PSU/MB issues (to my knowledge), that may be responsible.
I'm 99% sure it's a GPU fault.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,229 (0.64/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 4x G-Skill 2400MHz CL10 8GB (2133MHz CL9.11.11.31 CR2T @ 1,62V)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp Star Wars "Empire" edition
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
It's not likely, but can happen.
Like any electronics : It works, until it doesn't.

Defect in manufacturing, or random stuff that happends at handling (before it get's sold), contribute to this.
 

i RLY want to help

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
IT MUST BE THE POWER SUPPLY. I think 70% it could be fault in the powersupply, my previous GPU GTX 1660 6gb died, because of it ,(first half year it was rly good, crashing but still working) then it showed 300hz allways and whole PC was crashing, now i got new one GPU rx 580 4gb, for 2days its running fine, then the same thing. NOW my attention caught powersuply, i got my prebuilt PC (relativly cheap) and it has 280W output, on web its said that GPU needs 120W, on the official box it needs 500W so i need twice as many W :(, (and i have HP motherboard so i probobly need a new motherboard,) anyways i hope i gave u real reason why is it, and from expiriance if u keep running it like that(on lower powersuply) it might give out artifacts and then not starting at all.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,705 (0.39/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
did ya try DDU ?

i had this when i was messing with diff drivers and could solve it with this
 
Top