• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

285gtx not working with my Crosshair II.

Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#1
crosshair II formula bios 17.02,phenom II 940 cpu,corsair 1066 8500 4gigs two 2gig sticks memory,esata card pcie 1x ,evga 285 gtx vid card,creative x-fi platinuim fatality champion sound card,hatachi 1tb hard drive and a seagate 1.5tb harddrive,ultra 1000 watt psu,2 lite on dvd burners,ultra chiltech cpu cooler all in a coolermaster stacker case

I did some investigating with N-vidia System Monitor and found my PCI-e frequency set to 2500Mhz. I don't know what this frequency is except maybe the speed between the the NB and the card. A friend of mine thinks that all busses need to fall inside the CPU>NB>HT(max)>PCI-e>SB frequencies. The Max HT for the MOBO is 2600 (3000MHz for the CPU). This means you would be lucky to find a HT freq of 2400MHz let alone 2600 MHz from a HT ref Clock of 200. More likely it will be less that 2400MHz. This means that the PCI-e frequency should be less than 2400MHz. You can set the HT freq to something less than your PCI-e, like twice your memory bus, but you want to keep the voltages at what you needed them to be at with HT Freq (Max).

I am curious if anyone has stability tested a configuration like mine with a saturation of the CPU and the GPU. I am having trouble when I boot and the card is failing to initialize and when it does the PCI-e ref Clock has dropped from 100Mhz to 33Mhz. Could be a voltage problem in the board, but I am betting it is some kind of glitch setting the PCI-e multiplier to this almost crazy speed just under what is theoretically possible but drunkedly above how close reality gets to theoretically perfect.

My friend wants to adjust the PCI-e frequency to 2200MHz, but we can't find a place to change it. The other culprit could be the voltage, but we do not know what voltage setting even affect PCI-e bus speed. If anyone has stability tested a MOBO with my configuration and you know your PCI-e Bus speed was 2500MHz, I'd at least know if I was right or not. My Friend and I thank you for your help resolving our argument. He won't let me use his memory to see if it is the problem 'til someone can prove the problem is not with the timing of the PCI-e Bus. Timing problems are intermittent without start up problems or load. Voltage problems show up at startup or under load. My friend said real overclokers use MSI, ASUS is becoming nothing more than glamour boards.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
PCI-E frequency is supposed to be at 100mhz. :confused: What does any of this have to do with a GTX 285?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#3
The PCI-e ref clock is 100MHz, but the PCI-e to Northbridge bus speed is a multiple of the PCI-e ref clock. I the problem 285 GTX above the PCI-e to Northbridge bus is set to 2500Mhz, but this needs to be set below the real time max of Northbridge to CPU HT to avoid timing conflicts. I don't know what the real time Northbridge to CPU HT. The reason this has something to do with the 285 GTX is already described. The 285 GTX and the MOBO are conspiring to set the PCI-e bus multiplier to 2500 is you set it to 2300, the poor post should be settled, but I can't find a way to change it. Just a case where the BIOS is letting the 285 GTX call the shots, when in this case it is the CPU and the handicap of a 200MHz HT ref clock. I think the 285 GTX is hoping for a dual core that has a better chance of reaching a full 2600MHz. Only inside the Northbridge can the frequncies go above HT (max). So do you know how to cnage the PCI-e multiplier. Mobo BIOS or GPU Bios. These are rules of thumb from AMD overclokers, but it is also possible to set the PCI-e to below the NB to CPU, but that is not the case on this MOBO.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#4
this was my friend that rote all of this not me i don't know if i agree with him but if i play a game like everquest 2 the system will just shut off after a few minutes he thinks its a glitch in the video card and cpu and motherboard combo i don't think it is i think there is a problem with the motherboard the video card is OK because i tested it in another computer and it works fine
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,141 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#5
well skellattarr... I have never heard of what you just said - a videocard changing the HT frequency of the board? now im no AMD expert, but something about that sounds wrong - that would be like my GTX 260's changing my FSB and that just doesn't happen (maybe someone can correct me)

But I have experienced computer shutting off (not crashing) but just shutting off. And it was caused by a failing 700W power supply. Now i know that you have a 1000W PSU, but frankly that doesn't mean sh*t if its failing. Another possibility is that your motherboard needs a bios update - so do that, and if it still shuts off, then start eyeballing that PSU. The multiplier thing would BSOD, or fail to boot altogether, or just run really slow (if it actually existed, which it doesnt). When something just shuts off without any crash, just a *plooop* and its off, then its most likely a power problem.

BTW PCI-e is supposed to be at 2500MHz, this will not cause timing conflicts if your bus is below that, i have never heard of that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#6
phanbuey i agree with you i didn't rite that stuff my friend did and we have a disagreement so I'm glad you set things strait I'm going to look into replacing the power supply send it in its got a lifetime warranty i hope that will fix it and my bios is the latest one
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#7
well skellattarr... I have never heard of what you just said - a videocard changing the HT frequency of the board? now im no AMD expert, but something about that sounds wrong - that would be like my GTX 260's changing my FSB and that just doesn't happen (maybe someone can correct me)

But I have experienced computer shutting off (not crashing) but just shutting off. And it was caused by a failing 700W power supply. Now i know that you have a 1000W PSU, but frankly that doesn't mean sh*t if its failing. Another possibility is that your motherboard needs a bios update - so do that, and if it still shuts off, then start eyeballing that PSU. The multiplier thing would BSOD, or fail to boot altogether, or just run really slow (if it actually existed, which it doesnt). When something just shuts off without any crash, just a *plooop* and its off, then its most likely a power problem.

BTW PCI-e is supposed to be at 2500MHz, this will not cause timing conflicts if your bus is below that, i have never heard of that.
Certain nVidia chipsets would raise the PCIe clock, up to 125Mhz in some cases, in the presence of certain nVidia cards. But I think they got away from that.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#8
i got my replacement psu today and everything is working good now so it was the psu