• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3rd party bios has reset to factory default Help!

Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
11 (0.58/day)
System Name JustApc
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asus Rog X570 Gaming-E
Cooling Silverstone PF 360
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600 DDR4
Video Card(s) Colorful IGame RTX 2080 TI Kudan limited edition
Storage 2x Samsung 970 pro 512GB M.2 SSD, 2x 2TB Seagate HD
Display(s) 35 inch 144 Hz Kogan Monitor
Case Cooler Master H500P (Modified)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic GX 1000 Focus Gold
Mouse Logitech gaming mouse
Keyboard Cheap as gaming keyboard
Software Win 10 pro
I have a weird problem. My Vendor bios for my RTX 2080 TI was set at 1815 boost, and had 130 on the power slider in Afterburner. I powered off the PC to install a new m.2 ssd, and when I powered it up, the gpu had reset to normal Nvidia settings. IE: slider only went up to 112, and boost returned to factory defaults. I was hoping that one of the many experts on this site could help me solve this

Below is attached what it was.

Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,065 (3.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'm pretty sure Afterburner doesn't make permanent changes to your GPU, it only allows changes while running.
Save your settings as a profile and apply them whenever you want them.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,927 (0.36/day)
MSI Afterburner doesn't make permanent changes. Best thing is to overclock manually.

Use Unigine Heaven to test GPU stability and Final Fantasy XV Benchmark for video memory.

When you find the maximum clocks, write it down somewhere, or backup the profile (X:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\Profiles).
 
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
11 (0.58/day)
System Name JustApc
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asus Rog X570 Gaming-E
Cooling Silverstone PF 360
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600 DDR4
Video Card(s) Colorful IGame RTX 2080 TI Kudan limited edition
Storage 2x Samsung 970 pro 512GB M.2 SSD, 2x 2TB Seagate HD
Display(s) 35 inch 144 Hz Kogan Monitor
Case Cooler Master H500P (Modified)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic GX 1000 Focus Gold
Mouse Logitech gaming mouse
Keyboard Cheap as gaming keyboard
Software Win 10 pro
Thanks for the reply guys, but as you can see from the jpg in my original post , afterburner power slider went up to 130. now it only goes up to 112'

see attached file
 

Attachments

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,927 (0.36/day)
You accidentally hit the BIOS switch. Power off, and look for a small switch on top of the card.

Clipboard01.jpg


Change its position and it should restore the power limit.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,065 (3.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Thanks for the reply guys, but as you can see from the jpg in my original post , afterburner power slider went up to 130. now it only goes up to 112'

see attached file
Once again, that is a setting in MSI Afterburner.
Go into advanced settings to alter that.
 
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
11 (0.58/day)
System Name JustApc
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asus Rog X570 Gaming-E
Cooling Silverstone PF 360
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600 DDR4
Video Card(s) Colorful IGame RTX 2080 TI Kudan limited edition
Storage 2x Samsung 970 pro 512GB M.2 SSD, 2x 2TB Seagate HD
Display(s) 35 inch 144 Hz Kogan Monitor
Case Cooler Master H500P (Modified)
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic GX 1000 Focus Gold
Mouse Logitech gaming mouse
Keyboard Cheap as gaming keyboard
Software Win 10 pro
Thanks Caring 1 and Regeneration. I did go into advanced settings, and all relevant boxes were ticked. I have just powered down, unplugged all 3 eight pin connectors, had a cup of coffee, reattached the connectors, and now it is back to normal. I did that 3 times last night, but did not work, but now it does! Cars and PC's always giving problems.
And now back to the 415 watt power allowed by the bios.
 

Attachments

Top