1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$48.99 Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 hitting 2133?!?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by LagunaX, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Yesterday I bought some of this Samsung ram and spendt about 2 hours or so wrestling with the Samsung 2x4GB low voltage 30nm kit. They really pissed me off. Not sure if I got a bad set of ram or my mb just doesn't like them. Tried as high as CAS 11@2133mhz with voltage ranging from 1.5v to 1.67v and no matter what voltage I set it at I couldn't boot into it. I was using the same settings that I run my set of G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL9Q-8GBZH.

    I have read so many incredible stories about the Samsung ram that I just had to try it.

    Part of my problem may be my MSI Z68 GD65 G3 BIOS. It has been known to be finicky. I'm kind of glad the Samsung didn't work out because I was already in the process of selling my G.Skill at a loss. I really thought the Samsung would scale better in over clocking and performance.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Did you see my review, and sub-timing suggestions? this page:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Samsung/MV-3V4G3/6.html
     
    SonDa5, Millennium and Random Murderer say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    i was having similar issues. believe it or not, tightening the timings actually helped(tRFC seemed to have the biggest effect on stability, aside from CAS). also, you shouldn't be running them higher than 1.6v, and even that's pushing it. remember, stock voltage is 1.35v, very low voltage. if you look a few pages back, i believe it was PaulieG or cadaveca that posted a listing of speeds with corresponding timings and voltages he was able to get them stable at.
    two hours is not really enough time to declare these bad. it took me at least five hours(not including stability testing) to get them where i wanted, and there's still a lot of headroom. the time you put into clocking this ram is completely worth it, though if you're unsatisfied i'm sure there are plenty of people here at tpu who would love to get their hands on that kit.

    EDIT: i see it was cadaveca, lol.
     
  4. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I will mess with the timings mentioned when I have time.

    I think 2 hours is enough time to figure out that my Gskill sticks are better for my system. I had preset speeds and timings with the Gskills. I expexted the Samsung to be stable at the same speeds with lower voltage. I went as low a 1.45v and as high as 1.67v. With an overclocked i5-2500k and over clocked ram speeds. Stepped up voltage in minor increments and the ram wouldn't boot.

    Stuck the Gskill back in and booted and smooth as butter.

    That is enough time and testing to see that the Samsung couldn't hang with my Gskill.

    My Gskill 8GB kit costs me about $90. Quite a bit more money but they perform better so far.

    I may be able to tweak my Gskill even further with the help of the secondary timing settings mentioned.

    Right now it's looking like I'm going to keep the Gskill unless the Samsung can beat them.


    I've read so much positive stuff about these sticks that I really expected them to perform well. I was amazed at the techpowerup up review of them.
     
  5. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, you have to realize that different IC's require different timings/sub timings. You can't expect a "one size fits all", especially with a kit like this, which was not designed to be performance ram out of the box. These sticks simply have unexpected potential, if you are willing to take the required steps to make them high performance.

    You really should spend some time reviewing this thread, along with Cadaveca's review. If you do, you'll see just how outstanding these sticks are. If that's not something you want to do, then yes...you are better off with out of the box performance kits.
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    That's really all it is. When you buy "pre-overclocked" ram, part of what you pay for is having things like subtimings chosen, and DIMMs binned for a specific speed. That's why "high-performance" ram costs more, as these companies have to spend the time testing each module, chosing the timings and subtimings, and the overclocked speed.


    At the same time, it's more than possible Sonda5 did get a bad kit.nearly everbody's 2500k clocks reasonably well...Crazyeyereaper gets 4.4 GHz max. :laugh: Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I've spent some time and I will continue to investigate this thread and others and try to figure out how to get them to go as fast or faster than my Gskill RAM.

    I have over clocked and tweaked my Gskill ram for performance as well.

    One big factor to consider is that the tests done on the Techpower up review were done on a S2011 system. I'm running S1155 and that might be the reason I'm not getting the results that the stronger memory IMC S2011 CPU is capable of.

    My Gskill sticks are also designed for S2011 cpus but I run them with my S1155 system and they perform great. I can run the Gskill at 1.6v 2133mhz 1T-9-11-10-27 with my 2500k at 5.3GHZ. That is better than out of box performance. I have tweaked my Gskill ram a little and I really was expecting the Samsung to at least match its performance but at lower voltage. So far the Samsung isn't working out at all. Like I posted earlier when I get some time I will mess with the other settings mentioned in the review.

    Also I'm a little confused on the different set of sticks. In the reveiw there was mention of a 1.5v and 1.35v model of the ram. The photos of the review only show the smaller low profile 1.35v models.

    I bought the lower profile models but on the back of the package there was information about the ram running at 1.5v as well.

    So is there 2 different models of ram? Does this ram have a xmp profile at a higher voltage that I need to enable?

    I will be checking the ram xmp settings later on.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Yes, it seems the non-low profile sticks are the 1.5v sticks, going by what i found on Samsung's site, and at various retailers.
     
    Heatbag says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Heatbag New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    So the low profile sticks will be 1.35v? Is tigerdirect.ca the only place to get in canada?
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,438 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,919
    Location:
    US
  11. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    So are the ones in the review the low profile 1.35v models? Or are they the high profile 1.5v models?

    I haven't seen the 1.5v high profile sticks any where for sale.

    Which ones scale the best for over clocking?
     
  12. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    The ones in the review are the 1.35v low profile kit. From everything I've seen, the low profile sticks are superior.
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,438 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,919
    Location:
    US
    Look at the picture.. look carefully were the notches normally are and look at most other ram modules and you'll see these are the low profile ones.

    You only can see 1 & 1/2 notch on the sides of the sticks.

    The D ( MV-3V4G3D ) is important to as it means they are double sided.
     
  14. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    I can see that. Got confused because of the review mentioning the different voltage maximums on each different model and then on the presentation of the over clocking results the voltage was just under 1.6v.

    Well I definitely got the low profile sticks and they are double sided. I am going to be tweaking them in about an hour. Hope the secondary cas settings help open up their potential.

    :rockout:
     
  15. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Sammy low voltage 30nm 2x4GB sticks part II.


    Now I'm feeling these sticks! :rockout:
    I figured out the steps posted in the review on getting the Sammys to come alive. :toast:

    1.5v on the ram.

    [​IMG]


    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2296934


    I'm going to try 2133mhz next with 1T-9-11-10-27 with 1.5v.
     
  16. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Why are your gflops so low at 5GHz? Nice memory speeds though :)

    EDIT - Can I get this RAM in the UK, it's amazing?
     
  17. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    LifeOnMars see post 299 but it's not the LP stuff so might not be quite as good. Apparently the same chips though.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    The Sammys don't seem to be performing as well right now. :(

    Here is my 8GB set of GSkill RAM info: G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR...


    1.6v@ 1T-9-11-10-27 @2133mhz
    [​IMG]


    When I put the Sammys in I couldn't use my old CPU tweak settings so i had to start over on over clocking the system. My cpu settings need to be tweaked a little more right now to see how the Sammy's compare.

    Right now i am having no luck with the Sammy's stability at 2133mhz with my cpu at 5GHZ. :ohwell:




    What I am seeing is that the SAMMYS may not work that well at higher over clocked CPU speeds. I am also seeing that the Sammys are smooth at lower speeds and voltages but lack the big punch in performance that my Gskills have.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    No, the "D" refers to a dual-channel kit.;)

    Single stick, no "D",

    http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/memory-storage/MV-3V4G3/US


    Singlesided dual-channel kit, with a "D"(MV-3V2G3D/US):

    http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/memory-storage/MV-3V2G3D/US


    Sorry about that confusion. The IC itself supports two ovltage modes, but hte LP sticks are intended to run 1.35 V, and the regualr DIMMs 1.5 V, according to the information I received form Samsung.

    I actually tested muc hhigher than 1.55 V, and on X79, it didn't get me much. A big part of why I rated them so high wasn't the maximum frequency(which for me was good), but also because they can hit 9-9-9-27 @ 1866 on stock votlage. The G.skill 16 GB kit I tested...not so much.

    ALso, you have 4x 2GB G.Skill kit, so running 2GB sticks is much easier than 4GB sticks. I didn't really have much problems at all, except for TRFC, and tCWL, everything else uses pretty standard timings.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012
    Random Murderer, SonDa5 and LifeOnMars say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    8GB of RAM is all i need. Do you think I will get better over clocking results if I order 2 kits of the 2x2GB LP kits?

    Also I didn't see about the TRFC adjustments made. I will read the review again to see about TRFC adjustments made.
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    I just bumped up to 147 from the default 128...normally a 4GB stick would be set to 183/200/208 for 2133 MHz. I have a screenshot in the review of MemTweakit showing the primary and secondary timings I used to get all the way to 2400 MHz. They should be fine for 2133, and my sticks do work @ 2133 on Z68 with 1.4V but I am also happy using 10-10-10-31 timings, considering there are many 11-11-11-31 2133 MHz 1.6 V kits....and the sammy's do that 10-10-10 with 1.35-1.4V for me.


    I have literally hundreds of screenshots from when I was clocknig these DIMMs(I ran well over 200 benchmarks while testing), so please feel free to ask any direct questions, and I'll do my best to answer them quickly. I do ahve teh smae board as you, but I don't really have time to get it set up to test with right now...I got 2 other memory reivews and a board review to finish by the end of the first week of April!


    And no, i do not think 4x 2GB is better. Perhaps on X79, wth bank/rank interleaving.


    What VCCIO voltage are you running for 2133 MHz?
     
    LifeOnMars and SonDa5 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    My MB doesn't have VCCIO voltage options? Another name for the same voltage setting?


    Thanks alot Dave. Your interest and enthusiasm for quality RAM is very much appreciated.:pimp:
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    VCCIO, or VTT, or hrm...why don't i look at the BIOS screenshot from my reivew of that board, eh? :laugh:

    So, after looknig at the screenshot, in that BIOS it's listed as CPU I/O Voltage


    Which is the same as (VCCIO).


    [​IMG]

    I've ALWAYS been into tweaking memory(like 10 years now), but LGA 1155 doesn't meet my needs for that. X79 on the other hand....I am FULLY enjoying.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Thanks Dave I was just doing the Google search trying to figure it out myself.

    My VCCIO is set to 1.25v. with i5-2500k @ 5ghz 1.48v.
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,770 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,572
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    woah, dude, over 1.2 V might be dangerous!!!

    try 1.125 V perhaps? Too much can cause instability.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)