• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4890 - monitor is blank

Your problem is...

• Duh, its the PSU. Trust your gut.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Ack, your GPU might be faulty.

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • OH NO! You've fried your mobo!

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Your problem is you suck. Leave now!

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Nic_James

First of all, yes I'm a new user. Thank you for your time even though I'm just a newbie around here.

I'm building a new computer, and I am unable to get my Gigabyte Radeon 4890 to show anything on my monitor. When I power it on, everything starts up, but the monitor acts like it isn't getting a signal and it just says its going into power saving mode. I don't hear any beeps, and although I cannot leave out the possibility that I've got a faulty GPU or Motherboard, I am leaning toward thinking this is a PSU problem. Please help.

Here's my stuff:
ASUS P6T SE Motherboard
Intel i7 930 (no OC) Chip
Kingston tri-channel RAM 2gb x3
Samsung DVD RW
Seagate Baracuda 1.5TB 5900 x2
Antec 850w Quattro PSU
Gigabyte Radeon 4890 GPU

Here's how I got to this point:
1) I had not yet received my 4890 in the mail, so I installed an older PCIE MSI 512meg GPU. (can't recall its exact name right now) I plugged an older 15" ViewSonic VA520 flat panel monitor.
2) Power on, change to RAID in bios.
3) Reboot, change to RAID 1 mirroring.
4) Insert Windows 7 Ultimate disk. Reboot.
5) Install Windows.

From here, everything was fine. I left the comp on for a couple hours, and didn't really get around to doing anything further. I shut down. I never did plug in my LG 27" 1080p LCD monitor, I figured I'd wait till I got my 4890.

I received my 4890 in the mail yesterday.
1) I removed the MSI GPU, installed the 4890 GPU, and plugged in my 15" ViewSonic.
2) I plugged in the PCIE power plugs (this card takes 2 of them).