• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4k monitor scaling for gaming

Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
285 (0.06/day)
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 500GB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v1809
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
So, just got a 4k monitor (LG 27UL550-W), pretty nice, although a bit big for the desk, kinda have to move my head around to side to side. (Previous monitor is 2560x1440 23.8")

So I was hoping to run games at 1080p to keep the fps up but still good decently sharp, but it's not. Is this due to the scalar? Will AMD virtual super resolution work for this or not? Is there any other work-arounds for this?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,227 (2.14/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
If that monitor is 10 bit you should be able to run 1440P with a 1.4 cable and get decent FPS, I assume you have a good GPU as you already have a 1440P screen. AMD Radeon Boost would be better if you play FPS. Some games I do set to 1440P (Division) and run them at 60% scaling if possible.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,117 (4.56/day)
Any non crt monitor not running at its native resolution is going to be a bit blurry... you can try lowering in-game resolution scale, but not sure if that will work.

I always run at my native res... I always bought an appropriate resolution/hz monitor for the card I have. In my case, a 2080ti for 144/165hz gaming. It's good at 60hz 4k too. :)

Try lowering AA or disabling it and other in-game options to get your fps up instead of lowering your res... as was suggested earlier, you should have a decent gpu as you were already at 2560x1440 (maybe fill out system specs so we know what you have, exactly. That said, amd doesnt really have a 4k 60 fps capable card.

If that monitor is 10 bit you should be able to run 1440P with a 1.4 cable
What does color depth have to do with running a certain res?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
559 (0.11/day)
Any non crt monitor not running at its native resolution is going to be a bit blurry...
Is this true if even if you running at half the resolution, like the OP does?

I mean, running 1440 on a 2160 display will obviously make it blurry, but with 1080 on a 2160 I always thought it would get sharper due to having exactly 2 x 2 pixels in the display for each pixel coming from the game. Never tried tho.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
2,227 (2.14/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
What does color depth have to do with running a certain res?
[/QUOTE]

I have found that with my setup if my panel is set to 8 bit 1440P is exactly that on screen (it does not scale) but when the monitor to 10 bit 1440P scales perfectly on the display. It is just something that I have noticed.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,117 (4.56/day)
Is this true if even if you running at half the resolution, like the OP does?

I mean, running 1440 on a 2160 display will obviously make it blurry, but with 1080 on a 2160 I always thought it would get sharper due to having exactly 2 x 2 pixels in the display for each pixel coming from the game. Never tried tho.
AFAIK, yes. Running at 1080p on a 4k monitor is using 4x of the same pixels/color/size so the fidelity isnt going to be there as compared to running it at the native res.

I have found that with my setup if my panel is set to 8 bit 1440P is exactly that on screen (it does not scale) but when the monitor to 10 bit 1440P scales perfectly on the display. It is just something that I have noticed.
Dude, get your quoting straight already... are you really that big of a greenhorn (~1.8K posts in) or just messing with me? Sweet jeebus, man...

I still dont understand what color depth has to do with it... do you? It doesnt make sense to me.... it's like fixing the brakes when AC doesnt work...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
559 (0.11/day)
Seems like Windows scaling can make games blurry..

AFAIK, yes. Running at 1080p on a 4k monitor is using 4x of the same pixels/color/size so the fidelity isnt going to be there as compared to running it at the native res.
Yeah, I understand that, but I meant it should look quite a bit better than 1080 on 1440, because of the lack of interpolation (dunno the correct word here).
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,117 (4.56/day)
Seems like Windows scaling can make games blurry..


Yeah, I understand that, but I meant it should look quite a bit better than 1080 on 1440, because of the lack of interpolation (dunno the correct word here).
Maybe? I just know its blurry compared to native. :)
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
559 (0.11/day)
I just read this about scaling, it's on W8.1 tho, but I don't think it'll make much difference.

 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,117 (4.56/day)
I just read this about scaling, it's on W8.1 tho, but I don't think it'll make much difference.

Well, I only have a 4K monitor on my test rig, but I will have to try that and see!
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
285 (0.06/day)
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 500GB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v1809
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Thanks for the replies.

So on Win10 x64 pro 1809, other monitor BenQ BL2420PT, and ran default res 2560x1440, card RX480 8GB.

Mainly older games, like BL2, BL GOTY Enhanced, and one newer one, Witcher 3 GOTY.

Not too big of a deal being a bit blurry, but got spoiled at 2560x1440, was pretty sharp. I was hoping there was a good scaler and it would be 2:1 and be pretty good. I only tried 1080p, so maybe I will give 1440p a shot, and see if 2160p makes the card howl lol

I will check the color option in the monitor OSD, I think it''s 8bit+FRC though.

Edit
So no 10-bit option on monitor
Findings
1080p in game settings - blurry
1440p in game settings - pretty good, not perfect though
2160p in game settings - probably the worse, FoV was smaller, like looking through a scope, see below, probably why.

Now, went and checked windows scaling and it's at 150%
So 1.5x1440 = 2160 and that's when the game looked the best.

So looks like windows scaling is being applied in game as well.

Also the vid card ran BL GOTY EE at 60fps at 4k in game, but the fans ramped up.

Other thoughts, think I will try setting windows to 200% and running 1080p just to see how it looks and how FoV is.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,569 (8.40/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, wooo)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
Curious, i'll have to poke scaling options and test this myself later

I found that non native res was crap on 4k as well on various screens, but cant recall if i tested the scaler
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
559 (0.11/day)
Other thoughts, think I will try setting windows to 200% and running 1080p just to see how it looks and how FoV is.
Try 100 % while you're at it, just to see what happens. I don't expect you to stay there tho. :D
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
7,314 (4.10/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Seems like Windows scaling can make games blurry..


Yeah, I understand that, but I meant it should look quite a bit better than 1080 on 1440, because of the lack of interpolation (dunno the correct word here).
The problem is, everything interpolates. Only the newest hardware has 1:1 scaling, otherwise even FHD on a 4k monitor will get blurred.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,677 (1.19/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Hmm. This is quite weird. On my screen (LG 27UD69 UHD ) I didn't have problems with 1080p. Although I'm not using this res much. I've had problem with one game but it is old and scaling sometimes gets funny here.
Try setting your desktop to lower than 4k when going 1080p with some games and see if it will scale better with 1080p then. :) For me only one game had a problem but it wasn't blurry I just couldn't get it to run :)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (5.06/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
So, just got a 4k monitor (LG 27UL550-W), pretty nice, although a bit big for the desk, kinda have to move my head around to side to side. (Previous monitor is 2560x1440 23.8")

So I was hoping to run games at 1080p to keep the fps up but still good decently sharp, but it's not. Is this due to the scalar? Will AMD virtual super resolution work for this or not? Is there any other work-arounds for this?

Thanks
What exactly is the issue? Blurry image or its too pixelated (jagged object edges).

It will make sense the second as 1080p on 2160p monitor, as others said, groups 4 pixels (2x2) into one.
In large (and close to viewer) monitors, the picture's pixel density is in half and visible...
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
285 (0.06/day)
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 500GB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v1809
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Yes I forgot to mention, my windows monitor setting is default at 2160p.

Never had a chance to put windows scaling to 200% and try 1080p gaming res to see how it looks.

Interesting findings/results none the less.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
220 (1.12/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
4k exactly scales to 1080p but on a 4k monitor if you set 1080p each pixel is 4 pixels so it looks kinda blurry compared with a native 1080p monitor.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,251 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
If that monitor is 10 bit you should be able to run 1440P with a 1.4 cable and get decent FPS, I assume you have a good GPU as you already have a 1440P screen. AMD Radeon Boost would be better if you play FPS. Some games I do set to 1440P (Division) and run them at 60% scaling if possible.
I try and run 4k all the time , even on a 1060 6Gb using scaling, it's very doable.
My main rig runs 4k fine with few tweaks in most games but I game mostly on a 2600k with a 1060 on a 4k 55" telly just fine at 4k on the latest Cod, apex and GtaV ,payday2 and a few others using various normal to medium settings and scaling.

Im about 6-7 feet away with a pad (yes I am crap enough at game's that I don't need keyboard and mouse) and it looks better than 1080p if a little blury i can't tell as much at distance.
Sorry just agreeing and adding to kapone32
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,048 (0.35/day)
Location
Romania
System Name "No name"
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk MAX
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Ti
Storage Adata 512GB SSD, WD30PURX
Display(s) AOC CQ32G1
Case Segotep Halo 5
Audio Device(s) ALC Codec + Maudio AV32 and Fiio E10k + Audiotehnica TAD 400
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Nvidia and i think AMD now have sharpness filters build in to the drivers, it can get interpolated images a bit sharper and better looking.
PS: if you need to move your head to see on a 27", you are probably too close to it, i don't need to do that on a 32".
 
Last edited:

miked408

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I just read this about scaling, it's on W8.1 tho, but I don't think it'll make much difference.

4k-monitor/
4k exactly scales to 1080p but on a 4k monitor if you set 1080p each pixel is 4 pixels so it looks kinda blurry compared with a native 1080p monitor.

Ahhh, thanks for this. I was getting a blurry image and this was my problem.[/QUOTE]
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,843 (6.16/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
You'll want Virtual Super Resolution off. What that does, for example, is make the card render at whatever you tell the game to render at and it samples it down to whatever the display resolution is. For example, if you have a 1080p monitor, Virtual Super Resolution can allow games to render at 1440p.

This is under Gear icon -> Display. So you'll want to disable Virtual Super Resolution unless you want games to be spammed with a lot of resolution options beyond what your monitor supports.

Also in the same place, you'll find "GPU Scaling." That's what you want to enable. It will make the GPU scale the pixels and output at native resolution (e.g. 1080p -> 4K) rather than trusting the display scaler to do the job. If this is disabled and you run a game at 1080p on a monitor with a 4K native resolution, the display's scaler will be used instead of the GPU's. The GPU should always do a better job at scaling than the monitor.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,714 (2.75/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" 1440p LG 32GK850F Freesync 2 Monitor based on an AU Optronics true 8-bit AMVA Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
You want gpu scaling and it has to be integer scaling IIRC.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,843 (6.16/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Integer scaling is directly under GPU scaling. I don't know that integer scaling is better in most circumstances...generally only games with a pixelated look by design.
Radeon_Scaling.png

GPU Scaling ON, Integer Scaling OFF, and Radeon Image Sharpening ON might look better.
 
Last edited:
Top