• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5700 XFX DD ULTRA to 5700XT help please

sargetun

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
14 (0.54/day)
I have never flashed a card before but wanted to try getting my XFX DD Ultra to a ultra II/III xt bios if possible, the only issue is any bios I have tried is 19901 where as my current is 19902, I'll post screenshots of gpu-z and amd flash

The screenshot of amdflash shows an example of the newest thic III bios, I've looked through everyone individually and its the same number as well so not sure if it's safe to flash (I'm well aware of the obvious risks, I just don't want to do something that's obviously not going to work is all)

Any help is appreciated, or if anyone knows the proper bios download I should use that would also be very appreciated. Also if anyone knows how to backup my gpu just incase, I would like to do that as well
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get white sticker picture from card back too
 

sargetun

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
14 (0.54/day)
so one weird thing happened, my gpuz has changed randomly, new one attached and ill get the sticker pic in about 10 mins when i get my phone charged
1580333607632.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Do you have a spare gpu?

Also
In order to back up you must open gpu-z, hit the arrow next to the uefi checkbox and just proceed with directions, save file to desktop.

I will tell you how to flash
 

sargetun

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
14 (0.54/day)
I don't have a spare but I can easily get a cheap spare if i ever need it, just wanted to try to get full performance out of the card as im upgrading once new gpus come out

here pic of white sticker
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get a cheap spare first as a disaster recovery method

I don't have a spare but I can easily get a cheap spare if i ever need it, just wanted to try to get full performance out of the card as im upgrading once new gpus come out

here pic of white sticker
As 1 last request click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox in gpu-z and attempt to upload the bios to the VGA Bios Collection through the program itself. You should be prompted that the file is already in the database with a link to it, copy that link and paste it here please
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

sargetun

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
14 (0.54/day)

sorry i was eating, if i can flash it now i would be willing too, as long as i am able to get a proper bios for it
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

sorry i was eating, if i can flash it now i would be willing too, as long as i am able to get a proper bios for it
This is why im asking questions lol

Interesting yours is a W82 SKU with 1750 Core boost and W81 has 1960 core boosrlt, let me look at the xt files

Here is the File I suggest Flashing. It gives you a 195W TDP vs a 170W TDP, 210 is the ultra thick 2/3 cards and i want you to try this one out see how you feel, bear in mind higher tdp can mean higher fan speeds.



You need to follow directions carefully though

Get this tool https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

Download the file i just gave you too then follow this top procedure specifically.

Since the Subsystem ID will be changing slightly you will need to do a force flash in an administrator privileged command prompt. (Find cmd in start menu right click and open as administrator)

If that is not performed you may receive the stupid 0FL error.

Then follow this command

Enter this command first

Amdvbflash.exe -unlockrom 0


Then enter this command

amdvbflash -f -p 0 XXXX .rom

Note: XXXX is the name of the VBIOS file you downloaded. You can also change the downloaded file name to a simple name.


Otherwise you do it this way:

Create a new text file in your ATIFlash directory, name it FLASH.bat, and place this code into it:

@Echo off
cls

echo Flashing card 0 with BIOS.rom...
echo.
amdvbflash -p 0 -f BIOS.rom
echo.

pause
Assuming the new BIOS you want to flash onto your card is named BIOS.rom, this is the BIOS it will use for flashing.

Save your changes, then run the batch file by double-clicking on it.

Once you've received a success message, reboot your computer for the new BIOS to come into effect. If you can boot into Windows successfully, then that's good! (Note: your screen may flicker for a bit, because you basically have a new card, and Windows is trying to recognize it. If you want to be thorough, go ahead and do a clean re-install of your graphics drivers.)
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,572 (1.74/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Love it when a plan comes together.
 

sargetun

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
14 (0.54/day)
Downloaded new drivers, played squad getting bit more fps at 2k and able to max it fully out, so im happy :p thanks again so much for the help
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Downloaded new drivers, played squad getting bit more fps at 2k and able to max it fully out, so im happy :p thanks again so much for the help
Thank you for paying close attention to the instructions.
 

sargetun

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2020
Messages
14 (0.54/day)
Thank you for paying close attention to the instructions.
thank you for the instructions :p so far worked well, one other off topic question i have you may know the answer too, besides the general amd driver issues ive had that have been fixed as drivers have updated, alt tabing any fullscreen game seems to have a lot of issues, sometimes it even causes game crashes and full system crashes, this wont happen if im not alt tabbing at all, but anytime im alt tabing it may happen, other times it may allow me to play the game for a few seconds than it freezes like a screen shot and has to alt tab back to said game again to make it work, but it keeps repeating until you restart the game entirely. It's been a rather annoying bug, it has persisted through drivers and even with the new xt bios, i know amd is still roughing a lot out but is there any easy fix to this?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,606 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
thank you for the instructions :p so far worked well, one other off topic question i have you may know the answer too, besides the general amd driver issues ive had that have been fixed as drivers have updated, alt tabing any fullscreen game seems to have a lot of issues, sometimes it even causes game crashes and full system crashes, this wont happen if im not alt tabbing at all, but anytime im alt tabing it may happen, other times it may allow me to play the game for a few seconds than it freezes like a screen shot and has to alt tab back to said game again to make it work, but it keeps repeating until you restart the game entirely. It's been a rather annoying bug, it has persisted through drivers and even with the new xt bios, i know amd is still roughing a lot out but is there any easy fix to this?
Report it through the driver.

Get in reach with @FordGT90Concept @INSTG8R @AlienIsGOD they will know more about drivers than I.
 
Top